We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights after spending the prior week in Disneyworld - we needed some R&R. This is a short 45 minute drive from the Orlando airport and easily accessible.
The outside of the resort is "older" but my Husband, who lived in Florida before, says it's very local looking (teal green) and there a large shell on the front which is very suiting as the beach is covered in beautiful shells (and jelly fish).
The lobby needs a serious update, especially compared to their sister resort "Resort on cocoa beach" about 5 miles down the road. The staff were o.k, friendly and helpful if you needed something or had a question. But, I was having trouble with a luggage cart and instead of helping me or asking if he could assist with the luggage, he stood there (holding up the counter) and advised me how to "push" it properly.... Also, they don't really go through the fine print when you check-in ie. They will charge $5 per pool towel not in your room. If this is the case, someone should count the pool towels in my room with me so I know how many I am responsible for or how many they assume they left in the room for us. Also, that you must return the room cards upon check-out, we always leave them in our hotel room when staying away but I had to be brought back upstairs at 5 am, with a sleeping 3 year old, to ensure I returned the hotel key or I was charged $5 per card on the spot. Kind of silly but the evening counter man was nice about it.
The room was excellent. View was breathtaking (ask for a higher floor, we were on 6) they won't let you call ahead to get a higher room you have to ask upon check-in. Our room was newly renovated with new(er) cupboards in the kitchen, new fridge, microwave, dishwasher and TV's in the main room and master room. The bathrooms need new cupboards but nothing bad.
The room echoes a lot due to the tile floors and concrete hallways outside. We could hear every door slam and elevator and on the windy nights our balcony whistled extremely loud.
No TV channels for preschool aged kids, just Nickelodeon and Disney but it didn't play in the evenings so bring a small laptop and movies for the kids. There's a DVD player there too.
We drove to the Kennedy Space Centre one day (about 25 min away) and ate at the the Pier restaurant quiet a bit. AWESOME happy hours prices from 4-7 and it's right near the resort, a short beach walk. There's a grocery store 2 blocks up on the main strip along with a lot of restaurants, liquor stores etc.too.
The pool was under construction and they did notify us before arrival. It's been under construction for MONTHS and we had the pleasure of watching the "workers" for a few hours working on their tans, that's it. They're saying it's looking at Xmas for an opening and all the staff seemed frustrated about the slow process. It was unfortunate but we went to their sister resort for a pool day, no hot tub there though. Because, the pool was down we were able to use their beach toys and chairs, umbrellas, for free. I am glad because I would have been angry about paying to use old beach chairs and dollar store beach toys, they should be open to use by guests for free, all the time, but normally they charge $5 per item or $20/week.
We ate at the resort restaurant with a coupon due to the pool inconvenience and it was o.k. Old deli style with silk flowers on the table. Food was ok and service was good seen as how it was only one waitress, one cook.
All, in all, it was a great place. We would stay again especially for the price you cannot beat the view or the proximity to the beach and pier. Remember: this is not a full service hotel. No shampoo, conditioner or daily room cleaning. They come twice a week and ask if you need more towels or dish soap, toilet paper, paper towels. They provide one box of laundry soap so we bought some for the room. (there's a washer & dryer in the room and we used it a lot, even washed our sons bedding). The room is stocked with hair dryer, pots, pans, plates, wine glasses, coffee cups, blender, coffee machine, utensils, toaster etc. If you arrive late, bring some coffee in a Ziploc bag, for the morning, there is a Dunkin Donuts but it's a walk. (our room had coffee filters). We definitely could have lived here and we joked about staying forever a few times!

Room Tip: Upon arrival ask for a higher room. There are 8 floors but any view under the fourth would be block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissesHlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

My family stayed recently for three nights and generally had a good time. The appearance of the resort and the staff is below the level that I am used to seeing at similar resorts. The pool area was closed, and we were allowed to use the pool at the sister property down the beach. The TV in the living area didn't work for our first two days and we had numerous calls for service before the TV worked. I did speak to the management about this, and other issues we had with staff, and to their credit, they responded promptly and directly addressed our concerns. I believe that the staff has a real willingness to help, but there were a few communication breakdowns that lead to problems.

The location is great on Cocoa Beach. Definitely need a high floor room. We didn't visit the restaurant, bar or other available facilities.

I would recommend this facility to others, however do your homework and ask plenty of questions prior to making your reseervation, and you should have a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floor needed for clear view of ocean and cruise ship port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Went here for a last minute 1 week getaway looking for peace and relaxation. Hotel exceeded my expectations. I would have rated it a "five" except for the following - 1. smoking allowed on balconies - we "lived" on the balcony and about half the time someone was smoking below us - the smoke rising toward us was quite unpleasant. Can't the hotel provide a designated smoking area that will not impact other guests? 2. Bed was hard and sofa had some stains and sunk in too much - I have a very bad back so was in a lot of pain because of this. If you don't have back problems this probably would not be an issue for you. 3. Condo about 80% refurbished (they just didn't update some stuff) and the master bathroom was very awkward - unless you closed the door, the door in the master bathroom hit your but when you were using the sink. Also, the master bath toilet was tucked in too close to the sink / counter area.
Having said the negative let me tell you why we loved the place.
Very nice large 2 bedroom ocean front condo for a very reasonable price. Large outside balcony - great view of the ocean and the very frequent cruise ships that passed by - really fun to watch. Even the bedrooms had a pretty good view - Cocoa Beach Skyline and bay area.
Even though it seemed fairly occupied it was for the most part very quiet - only once in a while did you hear other quests or doors slamming - quite a pleasant surprise from most noisy vacation condos.
TV selection and reception very good. Kitchen utensils, toaster, coffeepot, etc. quite adequate.
Do request a high floor if you want a good view. Because there is a lot of vegetation the lower floors don't get as good of an ocean view. I stayed in, and preferred the North side of the property. On the South side you could potentially be overlooking A/C units from a nearby building (but you do get a better view of the pier)
Although there are a few negatives the positives far outweigh them. I'd come back here in a heartbeat and would recommend to all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank funtraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This resort is an older resort, and it shows. For one example: they can't change the fact that their pool is a rectangle that looks like a community pool and is out near the parking lot. Just the way it used to be done when it was built. I compare this to the new Ron Jon resort a few miles away with a lazy river, numerous pools, a slide, lifeguards on duty, a little eating area out by the pools and the full works and this one doesn't compare well. BUT - it is what it is. And it was still nice. It has a great location, the people were friendly, and I WOULD recommend it. the size of the rooms were nice, the views were good, and it was a great launching spot for each morning. So it still gets four stars, even knowing it had a few drawbacks. Oh, and the steak house right down the road? WONDERFUL. Amazing prime rib, and I eat it at many other places.

Room Tip: truly the higher up you are the better the views. The vegetation on the dune makes lower rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gomeljohn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This resort was nice, right on the beach, and clean. We rented a two bedroom with a balcony and it seemed pretty roomy for a family of 5. Everything you needed for meals was provided in the kitchen (except the food of course). It was close to Ron Jon Surf shop and other tourist attractions, but off of the main road, so you didn't hear traffic noise. The furnishings were a little out of date, but were clean and well kept, so that wasn't a big deal for us. There was a nice size swimming pool, but it closed pretty early. Still, it was nice for the heat of the day, if the beach isn't your thing. The kids were able to rent tennis rackets to play tennis, and there were also basketball hoops available. The beach in this area is not good for snorkeling but it is great for body boarding or surfing.

Overall we had a nice time here at this resort. It was quiet and family oriented. There are lots of great restaurants in the area, so check those out. However, the resort restaurant wasn't the best. It's better to either cook in the room, or explore Cocoa for some delicious other options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherripye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This resort is a wonderful place for a family to stay. Everyone was very friendly. Small town atmosphere with good places to eat close by. There were activities for both adults and children. Room was very clean and loved the ocean view from the balcony! We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor cannot view the beach because of sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This resort is too good to believe! Staff friendly and helpful - Lauren and Peggie at the front desk bent over backwards to make sure all was PERFECT - Ken with property security is amazing - beyond polite and helpful in what can only be described as total southern hospitality (Grandma must have raised him right) beautiful accommodations - spa-pool-game room-nice exercise room-sauna-Tiki bar-rooms with beach view balconies-full kitchen and very comfortable beds. Very clean and in good condition. Did I mention tennis courts- covered parking and full sized equiped kitchens with dishwashers and washer/dryers? Grocery stores 5 blks away. Nothing missing nothing lacking. Oh yeah - onsite rest with great food. Try the grilled or blackened catch or turkey club at lunch. Prices were great all around!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaFJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
939 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Cocoa Beach Cape Canaveral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Address: 300 Barlow Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3906
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range: £101 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing