We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The only redeeming thing about this resort was the view. The general manager John fahnestock set a whole new standard in bad manners and poor management. He was indifferent to cleanliness issues and once the complaint was lodged, said "I don't believe you" The complaint was in regards to blood in the bathroom on arrival and in the master bath some kind of "lotion" all over the wall. The housekeeping staff congregated outside our bedroom window each morning around 7:30 AM and loudly discussed the days events. This was also apparently not a topic he wanted to hear about. This is not a resort to rest and relax at. If you don't mind being waked up each day at 7:30 and you don't mind blood and hair in your bathroom then you may in fact enjoy yoursel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    99
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
126
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2009

There were human "fluids" of some sort all over the master bathroom when we got there. There was a lot of human hair in the corners. Almost every surface was grimy. The hotel staff woke us up all but one day we were there - they would yell, shout, and sing in the early morning. Management told us they didn't want to hear about any of our complaints. The manager sarcastically showed us the exit door and said that's our complaint department.

The area nearby is nice... the pier has a lot to do an there are number of shops in the vicinity. I would stay somewhere else or plan on bringing a vacuum and some towel wipes with you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averageduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I purchased a Unit at DBR when they first opened over 20 years ago and have been every single year.
The only offer wireless internet in the lobby. It won't reach to the 4th floor. The jacuzzi has not worked properly in 4 years. We are always told the same thing, the jets are clogged with sand.
Maintanence fees have risen to $800 a year for our 1 bedroom. (You can rent for less than that during the time we stay) Hotel restaraunt is very pricey. Guess they had to have some way to pay for their Survivor props.
You can always hear maintenance planing doors or hammering or drilling just about every morning around 7:30 so if you are not an early riser, be prepared to be anyway.
We just sold ours after 20 years and are upgrading to a newer resort in the area. We will miss the times we had there and the memories with all our children growing up, but it is time for a newer place for less the cost.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swingernotnudist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We booked at Discovery Beach on a whim and I couldn't have been more satisfied! My Family stayed three nights and had a hard time leaving. The photos online don't do it justice. Room Great and Views are wonderfu! The staff was so warm and ready to help! I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bein1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is the fifth year I have stayed at this resort. Always come with family (usually grandchildren). Each condo faces the ocean with a balcony and just a couple yds away from nice beach. Adult, children and teen friendly. Good surfing area. Pool and hot tub clean and nice. Tennis and basketball courts. Staff helpful and friendly. Neat coastal habitat and turtle nesting. You can see the shuttle launches from your balcony if you happen to come during launch time. Shopping and lots of restaurants close by. Orlando about 45 minutes away. Cape Kennedy a few miles and the space museum. Casino cruises if you are interested.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

My wife and I spend a week here as my wife recovered from surgery. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. All the rooms have an ocean view. We plan on returning there next yr for a more relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retirement08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

This was our first stay at DB in Cocoa Beach. The condo was great, great location, great view. Only a few problems. The furniture was mostly old.; The king bed in the master bedroom sagged in the middle and you almost rolled into the middle automatically. The second bedroom had twin beds which were fine. The on-site restaurant was mostly closed during our week but there are ample restaurants in the neighborhood. Parking was fine (and free!). One problem - when we registeed during checkin, we were given an inventory list of items in the condo and we were required to validate the list. It took several hours to do this and if we did not do it, we would have been charged for anything missing. Seems a bit petty to me. Even had to count all the cutlery and the ice cube trays!

On the whole, we had an enjoyable time on the beach and in the pool/hottub. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toocold4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
925 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing