We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dishonest housekeeping staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dishonest housekeeping staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

the wife and I stayed there the last weekend in june, ,at first seemed like a nice hotel , when we checked out, my wife left her 2 david yerman rings and a pair of earrings, when we realized it later , room was clean and rings were gone..they were left on the vanity in plain sight , she is heartbroken over this . I realize it was our fault for leaving them but we had hoped there might be some honest people working there but I guess not

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    837
    386
    158
    99
See reviews for
1,131
722
67
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great hotel and located next to the Cocoa Beach Pier, Port Caneveral, Kennedy Space Center and other sites in Brevard County. Also close to the attractions in Orlando and Volusia County. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PW, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Dont forget to confirm that you cancel from this hotel-the people cannot send an email to confirm your stay or that you cancel your reservation - sad-when they call after the fact - couldn't understand a word that was coming from that end

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you want direct access to the lovely Cocoa Beach this is a great hotel to stay in. It has separate buildings and we were lucky our building was just directly by the beach and also centrally located by a very nice pool. I requested the second floor and it was very quiet and provided a good night's sleep. The accomodations are simple and clean and is great for a couple of nights.The buffet breakfast in another building was included and convenient and provided everything you want in a light breakfast . They had a great pancake machine too and they were pretty good. This place is good for family, friends and solo people. We were greeted in the lobby by a very cool older guy named Stanley. He was super helpful! and answered all our questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent staff. The breakfast was the best I have had in hotel that includes the breakfast with the room. The location on the beach can't get any better. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable. Will definitely stay at this hotel again and definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Rick/christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narvon PA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking for convenience and just the basics, this is your place. Good value for the dollar. Location, pool and right on beach. Good service, clean rooms and breakfast to start your day. Best value on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Florida. We travelled around to a few places during our trip and this was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. Actually – ever stayed in! We didn’t think much of the area either. Boring with not much to do.
Our disappointment started as soon as we reached the entrance to this hotel. We had arrived by taxi and were carrying a very large suitcase each, plus a smaller suitcase each. The doors were not electric and therefore we had to struggle together trying to open the door and balance the cases, whilst helping each other by holding the door. The reception area was empty and there were two receptionists just stood watching us. I was actually quite shocked that they watched and did not offer any help. Every hotel we have ever been to with our luggage has either had electric doors and if not, we have always had help with our cases.
My girlfriend approached the male receptionist and said that she assumed it was too early for us to check in (11.30 a.m.), to which he confirmed "yes mam it is". So we asked if we could leave our cases somewhere whilst we took a look around cocoa beach. The luggage room was full and so we had to put them in "the office". The office had no lock and had other overflow luggage in there. I particularly noticed a woman's handbag on a chair - open with her tablet/iPad sat on top - It didn’t strike me as very secure! - Feeling uneasy we left the hotel and went off to explore. We were rather tired after travelling by taxi from Miami for the past 2 hours and therefore did not fancy being out in the midday heat at that time. However, we didn’t have much choice and as everything was in our suitcases, we had to just wander around to the beach. We quickly discovered there was not much to do at Cocoa Beach at all and as the receptionist failed to actually tell us there were two pools available where we could have sat and rested ( or anywhere else for that matter). After about 40 mins of wandering up the beach and onto the pier, we decided to head back and wait in the hotel until our room was available. As we approached reception we noticed a family leaving with their keys and so wondered why they were allowed an early check in and yet we were not. My girlfriend therefore asked again at reception if we could check in and the male receptionist from earlier, confirmed that we could. (we were very confused). So we obtained our key and were told us our room was on floor 5 but it would actually be floor 4 (as it missed out a floor?). So we picked up our cases from the unlocked office - unsupervised and headed for our room. Our room was in one of approx. four separate buildings of the Best Western. Again we had to struggle with all our luggage holding the door for each other, then lug it across a car park, then a road with no sidewalk and into the next building. When we got into the elevator we could not help but notice the musty old smell and the state of the floor in there. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for the past month or so. It was covered in general dirt and sand. It was not great first impressions. We reached floor 4 but soon realised our room was not on this floor after all and the receptionist had indicated this wrong. We were on the 5th floor after all. Our room was just as you come out of the elevator and as we entered our room, behind me with no warning or apologies whatsoever, the cleaner followed us in, pushing past us both whilst muttering she hadn’t put a bin liner in our bin. The cleaner then said something about the AC and then left. We were like, ”HUH” -it was so rude ! - The room stank of bleach that it made me feel physically sick. I know it should be a good sign that it was clean and although the room appeared to be very clean and tidy, we quickly discovered that basically the cleaner had gone in and thrown bleach around where necessary quickly and that was that. . There was toothpaste stains on the sink and on the tap and bright yellow stains of what we can only assume was body wash down the side of the bath. I was already dreading my stay here. These first impressions were not good.

We soon realised that we did not feel safe here as two alone females. We read the customer information folder in our room and that made us al little uneasy about the area. Also our door was so heavy (great in case of a fire) but it took ages to shut and when it did, it didn’t shut properly so we had to remember to wait and check it each time.
Our only experience with the breakfast was on our last day and when we entered the dining area, I dropped the key. Instead of being handed it back by the supervisor of this restaurant, she shouted across the entire room “HAVE ONE OF YOU LOST YOUR KEY”? We froze thinking we had done something awfully wrong, and when we turned around and the lady was pointing at the floor where I had in fact dropped my key. WOW… nice.

When we checked out, the hotel offered to look after our luggage as our taxi was not picking us up until 3 p.m. We had felt much happier that our luggage was placed this time in the locked up luggage room. Well that was until we collected it. There was a different receptionist (, female,) who , when we requested our luggage, handed us the key with no questions asked. We got them out of the room by ourselves. There were no checks that it was ours, no tags given to us beforehand to hand back to prove they were ours, and nobody accompanied us to the luggage room. We could have been anybody and we could have taken anything.

We didn’t enjoy our stay at all in Cocoa Beach. We didn’t leave the hotel in the evenings and so stayed in. The best place about this place is the Publix supermarket across the road ! – We wish we hadnt wasted a two day stay here when we could have stayed longer in the other places we had visited prior to this.

We would never ever stay here again and never with a Best Western. This has put us off for life! We don’t always stay in 4 star hotels and we tend to go for Travel Lodges or Holiday Inns unless (on the odd occasion when we can afford something more luxury). This hotel does not deserve to be compared to budget hotels like Holiday Inn or Travel Lodge and I would give this hotel a 2 star rating. It was like staying in a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I have read your review three times to make sure I understand why you were so dissatisfied. We work hard to please every guest. It is our culture here and we take it seriously. I believe we have a duty to provide the best we can and our hope is that our guest will be fair in their reviews. With that in mind I want to clarify some of your issues so that there is an accurate record of your stay.

Your biggest complaint seemed to be that you had to handle your luggage and move it around the hotel. As a Best Western we do not offer bellman services and that is pretty standard for a mid-scale family hotel with affordable rates. No we do not have an automatic door to the lobby but we do on the building you stayed in which you can park right in front of, and we offer carts in every building. If you would have asked for the extra assistance we would have dispatched someone to help. We do it on request without fail. But if I staffed bellmen my rates would be less accommodating. We are a great family hotel and that works for us.
At the core of your other concerns is the fact that check-in is at 4PM and you arrived almost 5 hours early. In fact check out is 11AM and when you arrive at 11:30 it is hardly enough to clean all of our rooms and have them ready. The office you called "unsecured" where we stored your luggage with others is in fact our sales office. Not only is it safe, but we staff three people in there. This is obviously secure because despite your concerns, your bags and all other bags and items were stored and safely returned to their owners with no loss or theft.
As for the guest who was allowed to check in ahead of you it was very possible that they were in a location or room type that had come clean before yours. As we clean the hotel each day the ladies work very hard and move room to room. Also they can only get in the rooms after guest leave and that can be in any pattern as we do not know when each room will decide to leave. So as rooms are vacated they are cleaned.
You also complain about the smell of bleach in the room. We use no bleach on the property. We have dark blue carpets and we do not allow it because the threat of splashing on the carpets would ruin it. There is no doubt that you were put into the room as it IMMEDIATELY became available which is evident by the fresh small of cleaners and the housekeeper still putting the bag in the wastebasket. I applaud the staff for hustling to get you in a room some three plus hours ahead of check-in time. The were obviously trying to please you. It is not hard to understand why the smell of the cleaners was so strong as usually there is at little time for this to settle.
I am also not sure why you would not feel safe? The building you occupied is controlled by electronic key access and only registered guests can enter the building. We have a VERY safe hotel and have never had any ladies or gentlemen attacked or threatened. This claim really puzzles me and it makes me wonder about this review.
In summary when I read this it seems you were quite put out about not being able to check in early and that just really put us in a position where we were not going to please you. It is sad for me as the leader of our team when you do not bring your concerns to management's attention. We could have explained things like check-in and check-out time, the availability of parking carts, the security of our hotel, etc. It makes it much harder to come on here and learn that you were not pleased. We want you to be happy. We will fall over ourselves to make you happy. We will do whatever we can to please you. Please next time ask for a manager and we will clear up these misconceptions and make sure you feel safe, secure and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 5600 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3920 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Cocoa Beach's premiere oceanfront hotel! We are the closest beachfront hotel to the Port and immediately next to the famous Cocoa Beach Pier Shops and Dining. We are minutes from exciting Florida attractions; a number one choice for vacationing families and couples! Welcome to the ultimate destination for the Space Coast with close proximity to Kennedy Space Center and all major highways to Orlando. You can truly unpack once and see it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites Florida
Cocoa Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing