We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bitter sweet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“bitter sweet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed 6 nights in unit 304 of building C from 12/26 - 12/31. This was a bitter sweet experience. First the sweet.
1) The location is great, convenient to shopping and restaurants, and the oceanfront room has a splendid view of the ocean.
2) The front desk staff was very friendly.
3) listening to the ocean is so peaceful. This is exactly what we were hoping for.
4) we would have liked to have used the racket ball courts but our schedule wouldn't allow the time. The tennis courts are nice but it rained and they were usually wet with puddles.
5) watching the cruise ships sail by brought back pleasant memories of our cruise to the Bahamas the week before.
6) the unit was well equipped with dishes, pots, pans, etc.
7) there is plenty of hot water and the AC works fine.

Now for the bitter.
1) upon arrival the unit had clean linens but the kitchen counters were dirty with crumbs. So was the dining table. The placemats were dirty. The front desk sent someone right away to take care of this but it should have been cleaned before arrival.
2) the carpet hasn't been shampooed in what I would guess is many years. 20 minutes after getting out of the shower our feet were black from walking on the floors.
3) housekeeping is pathetic. They had to be asked to vacuum and change linens. They don't clean the sinks or shower/tub.
4) the people staying below us smoked and it drifted up from their unit and the sea breeze blew the smoke directly into our unit.
5) My daughter left her sunglasses on the shelf in the living room and they were gone when we returned that evening. A complaint was filed with the office. Too bad they have dishonest employees. We locked everything else up or took it with us.
6) The sofa sleeper is a torture trap. Our daughters woke up with back aches after the first night. We got extra blankets from housekeeping to see if we could pad the springs that poked them in the back. That didn't work, so we asked for a roll-away. One of them slept on the sofa cushions and the other the roll-away. That was much better. There was no charge for the roll-away. I would highly recommend a two bedroom.

In a nutshell, the negatives outweigh the positives and we will most likely not stay again, unless we could be assured that housekeeping has been totally reformed.

Room Tip: Stay in building C or D and make sure to lock up your valuables or take them with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R0n_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    128
    89
    48
    37
See reviews for
142
128
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in "C" bld on the second floor, the condo had been remodeled and was clean. The beach was very nice. The front desk staff where friendly and helpful. Not sure if it was the time of year or what (first full week in December) But it was very quiet so very relaxing.

.I would have no problem going here again. In fact may make a point TOO go here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the C and D buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

C & D Bldgs are the only way to go, and yes, only the upper floors have the view. Otherwise you might as well stay elsewhere. We stayed 12/14-12/21 in C505. It was clean, recently updated and totally comfy. Wish they'd invested in solid surface flooring instead of carpeting in the BR and LR. The view is spectacular and ever-changing to the point of mesmerizing.

Staff is friendly, Gregory's has good food and service and grounds are acceptable. WIFI is too frustrating to even bother with but we were told it's to be fixed soon. We'll be back.

One odd thing no one else seems to mind is there are only 2 chairs and a small table on the balcony. Even tho the one bedroom is advertised for 4 persons and includes a fold-out couch. We asked for add'l chairs and were told only 2 people allowed on the balcony. What's up with that?

Room Tip: Bldgs C & D only, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marythomas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our week at Ocean Landings was fine. We had comfortable quarters, 5th floor building C. (I would have preferred a firmer bed and sofa). The weather was warm and the ocean was delicious. The beach is huge, water is shallow with strong currents, don't be fooled by the quiet waves. During our Dec 7–14 week, it was very quiet. Since it was "between seasons" we never experienced slow traffic and didn't bother to make reservations for dinner at Florida Seafood (we dined there twice!). Having read some less favorable reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. And there is evidence of on-going restoration to the other buildings. Oh yes, the entire staff was cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: I had a wonderful massage by Linda who gave me a discount for the second one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My boyfriend and I are owners of 2 units in building D. We traveled there in September 2013 and were pleasantly surprised at the location and the ocean front views !! The unit was clean and updated !! The bathrooms were recently remodeled. The views every morning for sunrise and sunset were spectacular !! The only critique would have been that the grounds were not lush by any means, however, we didn't go to cocoa beach to look at the grounds.. We went for the weather and beach, which was magnificent !! And the cost was budget friendly for sure .. The unit was clean and well maintained ..We defiantly will return for a most relaxing vacation

Room Tip: Building c and d are the most updated .. Top floor has great views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed two weeks at D215, all the C and D units are ocean view. The A and B units are like motel rooms, but very reasonable. The rooms have been entirely upgraded over the past 3 years, and are very comfortable. This year, internet was upgraded as well and we get high speed in the kitchen, living room and balcony. The bedrooms are under a lot of concrete and steel infrastructure, I suppose, and the signal is very weak there. Two nice pools and a snack bar with good selection and reasonable prices (new operator) at the one nearest the ocean. It's a short walk down the deck to the sand and the beach itself is maybe 300 feet beyond. Beaches are clean and well maintained daily, apparently by the city. If you own a unit, there are free beach chairs to check out daily. Cocoa Beach is a fun town with lots of funky places to eat nearby at a variety of prices. We saw a beautiful rocket launch this week from the beach ! Launches are announced in the local paper and on the NASA website. If you are a nature person, Merrit Island National Wildlife Refuge is about 30 minutes north. We've seed over 80 different species of birds in one day, as well as several gators and twice a bobcat! Great place to own, and the annual ownership fee is about half what the other nearby timeshares are getting. Watch eBay and other websites for sales, the in-house sales office has prices more than 300% what you can get a unit for if you watch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the first time we exchanged our 'home' timeshare in 32 years and after reading reviews of Ocean Landings we were expecting a mixed bag but I have nothing negative to say. The staff was friendly and helpful and always available.

I can see why those who stay in 'A' and 'B' would be disappointed as they are like a motel which is what the resort used to be until they added on. We stayed in 'D' and the on site exchange lady Victoria was kind enough to put us on the top floor and we had a fantastic view from the balcony. That was like a vacation in itself! Very relaxing and spectacular sunrises and pelican 'fly by's every morning. We could see Cape Canaveral clearly and got to watch a Mars rocket go up . The beach was a short walk and just great. Furnishings were lovely and comfortable and plenty of closet space. Bed was fine and contrary to other reviews not a bug in sight. I can't say enough about the kitchen....first rate appliances and all the tools/gadgets needed and plenty of tableware. We ate 'in' frequently so I was very pleased. Having central air and dishwasher at this timeshare were treats. We are already planning to return.

Only minus was that the elevator was 'touchy' during our second week. Tended to get stuck but eventually got going again. Able to contact the front desk right away with the help button...whew. We enjoyed sharing 'elevator stories' with other guests and I am sure they have since taken care of the glitch.

If you are looking for a great location and really nice older renovatedresort this is just the ticket!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbenton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Cocoa Beach Suites
Cocoa Beach Suites
#17 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club

Property: Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club
Address: 900 N Atlantic Ave, Cocoa Beach, FL 32931-3111
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club offer guests unique accommodations ranging from off ocean cozy hotel rooms to spacious two bedroom oceanfront rooms. Relax and unwind in the unpretentious tropical atmosphere at Ocean Landings Resort. Accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens or compact refrigerator/microwave along with flat screen TVs with DVD players, and resort wide Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Landings Resort and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Landings Hotel Cocoa Beach
Ocean Landings Resort And Racquet Club Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing