We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Michel
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aloft Coral Gables(Coral Gables)
US$124
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Gables Inn(Coral Gables)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables(Coral Gables)(Great Value!)
US$130
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
74
99
41
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
99
41
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hoteloperated elevatorsewing machinemiracle milesmall hotelfew blocksfurnished with antiquesceiling fanoriginal elevatorelevator operatorperiod furniturebooks bookswindow shoppingfirst floortv standwithin walking distanceold style
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel St. Michel for 4 nights from October 5th-9th. The hotel is quite interesting in its design with each room being decorated individually with various antiques. We had a corner room with 2 large french doors and a King size bed. The bedding was really lush and had several decorator pillows. Each day the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job of cleaning our room and supplied it with fresh friut and ice.The hotel elevator which took us to our room on the third floor, is quite amazing. It is like stepping back in time with its own elevator operator. The halls of the hotel are filled with interesting paintings and antiques as well.
There is not a pool at the hotel, however you have privledges at the Coral Gables Country Club. The pool is nice and when we were there we were the only people at the pool! You also have access to the gym.
The Miracle Mile is only a few blocks away and there are plenty of restaurants and shops to visit. The stores and restaurants seem to stay open later on the weekend.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel especially for a nice, quiet romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Hotel St. Michel is not your typical hotel. The rooms are smaller, the hallways are filled with European type decor. The rooms are comforatable, making you feel like you're home and not at a hotel. The beds however can be brought up to date - smaller than avg. hotels. Perfect for a few days stay. Due note, the hotels charges for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freqtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Words cannot express how disappointed I am with the Hotel Place St. Michel. I was really looking forward to it as I had always heard incredible things about the elegant restaurant (and brunch) and imagined that the hotel would be the same. Well, lets just say that it reminded me of the hotel from the Twilight Zone ride at MGM... INCLUDING THE ELEVATOR! For the record, I love antiques and old world charm... but the inside of this hotel needs a good airing out and scrub down! The booking was originally for 5 nights... the room ended up being so inadequate (hot musty interior, worn musty upholstered furniture, worn bed linens, wonky lumpy mattress, small bathroom, scratched-destroyed parquet floors, air-conditioner panel duct taped to be kept together, dinghy interior that smelled funny) that we ended up checking out LITERALLY 15 minutes after we checked in! The room was just plain gross. The lady at the front desk had the audacity to want to charge us a full night with tax for just being up in the room for 15 minutes. After a civilized argument, we left without signing and called the credit card company to dispute the charge. The lady at the front desk had promised that she would forward the complaint and refund request to the manager and he would call back in the morning and resolve the issue. Manager was called in the morning... he never received word from the front desk clerk and never even knew what had gone on the night before. It appears that the lady at the front was too busy scamming people to really do her job correctly. We ran out of the hotel at about 1000 miles an hour and ended up at the Hyatt down the street... which is a REAL hotel with excellent service and complete luxury. All I can say is that if you are into cleanliness, good service and luxurious surroundings, Hotel Place St. Michel IS NOT the place for you! Do yourself a favor, spend the extra $50 a night and stay at the Hyatt on Alhambra Circle!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbaboytm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

We selected this hotel largely because it was close to the Miracle Mile (4 blocks) and supposedly quiet. It was actually pretty noisy. We're in our 20s and don't have much trouble sleeping, but the walls were so thin you could hear everyone in the hall and street noise was a problem. Staff were not very friendly; a point we were surprised by after the previous reviews. The breakfast is very limited. It's sit-down, served and breakfast service is very slow. You get a choice of croissant, english muffin, or toast plus a choice of OJ, coffee, or tea. The waiter demanded a specific amount for the tip on our check (which would amount to over 25% if we paid normally) after slow and fairly curt service. Dinner there was quite a different story; it was superb. The Sunday brunch smelled and looked good with lots of locals, but we didn't try it. Parking was cheap for Miami at $9 and the garage is right across the street. Overall, the Westin Collonade down the street (right on the Miracle Mile) looked much nicer.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank BRTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

We spent one night, which was rather pleasant. We did not eat in the hotel, but lots of choices just a few blocks away. The room as well equipped and clean, however the bathroom was rather small, but we loved the whole experience. Will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qazxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews