We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and charming, but … "tired"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Michel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Michel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant and charming, but … "tired"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Place St. Michel for one night in January while on a day trip to the Miami area with some friends. We agree with the other reviewers that the hotel is charming in its own way -- decorated with "antiques", pleasant and obliging staff, a bit off the beaten track but within easy walking distance of all the action on the Miracle Mile; funky -- temperamental heating/air conditioning unit, old-fashioned bathroom fixtures, ancient operator-required elevator, small wardrobes instead of closets; and reasonably good value for the money -- nearby and reasonable parking, close to but not in most of the Coral Gables action. We had a problem with the heating system, which one of the staff tried valiantly to fix … but to no avail. It was an unusually cold night when we were there; some extra heat would have been nice as the bed linens were not designed to keep guests as cozy as we would have liked. Besides being a bit on the skimpy side the blankets (and, indeed, all the linens) were a bit tired. In fact, "tired" is a good way to describe the hotel at the time we were there. It is in need of a good freshening up. With some new linens, a fresh coat of paint, and a few tweaks to the heating/cooling system it could be the charming vintage establishment it aims to be.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a view to the street on one side, including from the bathroom, and to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Naramatians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    87
    40
    21
    17
See reviews for
24
96
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lots of antiques and very quiet. No room service. Rather funky but we liked the place and will return. Very attentive staff that appreciates you staying with them. Very clean. Dining room may open soon.

Room Tip: Small place. Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

i stayed here with 10 other friends on our way to do the Ragnar relay from Miami to Key West. The rooms were great, the ambiance was wonderful. Walking distance to places to eat, pretty sites around the hotel. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Covered garage parking. We were all pleased with our stay here! Loved the antiques in our rooms and the hallways.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My fiancée and I stayed a weekend here and loved it! If you're expecting high tech, modern amenities, then stay elsewhere. But if you want European charm (which is what Coral Gables is all about) in a great location in the Gables, this is it! Comfortable bed, and vintage room decor make this a great romantic getaway hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, which was a bit noisy at times, so if you need quiet, maybe request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a Friday night during the Christmas holidays.The price was excellent for the Season and it was very well located. Unfortunately, public works were repairing right in front of the entrance,so the water was cut and there was noise all through the night.Thank God for earplugs! Also,our reservation was for 2 beds and we got a king. The room was large and cozy but as my traveling companion and myself had been walking around Miami all day,we were looking forward to our own bed. They brought an extra portable bed but it was unfair to one of us. Other than that we were pleased with our stay and the friendliness of the staff. Seemed quite clean.

Room Tip: Try to be further away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi33403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Isle, Vermont
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a small hotel that is like stepping into the past--in a good sense. The elevator has an operator, furnishings are high quality and somewhat antique. Parking is directly across the street. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Baths are fine. Nice location--very close to the airport and dining choices in Coral Gables. Service is very friendly and helpful. This will be a top choice when we need a hotel near MIA airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in this charming, quaint hotel for one night. Our spacious room had two double beds with 4 pillows each. If you like beautiful old world ambience, you'll love this hotel. My favorite feature was the elevator, from the 1920's! The bathroom was very nice, tile and marble, had a great shower head and tub. Very large windows. Only down side was the lighting, a bit dim, but adequate. Service was very good. Quiet, serene, and made me feel I was in Paris!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfirstclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coral Gables hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Miami - Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michel

Property: Hotel St. Michel
Address: 162 Alcazar Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-4501 (Formerly Hotel Place St. Michel)
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#5 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Michel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is independently owned & operated capturing the essence of boutique hotel service and stay experience. Throughout the property our guests can experience the lure of this historic gem that sits in the heart of the World Famous city: Miami. Located in the vibrant community of Coral gables; Hotel St. Michel is located on a tree line street in the midst of tranquility. The hotel's central location allows it to be in close proximity to all the major attractions of the city of Miami. Hotel St. Michel ambiance allows our guests to feel at home which is ideal for catering to families while visiting Miami on their holiday. Our talented staff speaks several languages and is always available to assist in making reservations and other arrangements to ensure your vacation is fun filled, exciting and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place St Michel
Place St Michel Hotel
Hotel St. Michel Coral Gables, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing