We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in the middle of Coral Gables” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the middle of Coral Gables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is truly a hidden gem. As you walk in you feel you are back in time! the architecture, the furniture, everything is gorgeous. The rooms are comfortable and a nice size despite the age of the hotel when most of the rooms end up being tiny, this is not the case here. The bathrooms are nicely updated and the rooms are beautiful. The dining choices are excellent morning, day or night. The pool is amazing (even though it's heated it is FREEZING though) but a great pool to lie around and relax. Perfect spot to relax and enjoy yourself for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocean954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela V, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to know that you enjoyed the time you spent at the Biltmore Hotel.

We hope that you can come back for another great experience.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    419
    174
    82
    43
See reviews for
469
543
59
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

As you enter the hotel, you are taken back to the 1930's era when men wore jackets, ties, and straw hats and women donned long summer dresses. It's almost as if you're about to bump into yesterday's stars of the silver screen or sports hero's such as Babe Ruth and Ben Hogan. You can't help notice the beautifully decorated tall ceilings in the lobby as you make your way to the reception desk where the service is warm and friendly. In fact, the whole staff seems to have been well trained in this establishment. Not to be missed is the world renowned ginormous swimming pool. If a buffet breakfast is your thing, then do not miss the one served on Sunday. The Biltmore is pleasantly located in a residential area versus those in commercial or touristy areas. And it's only minutes from Miami's airport. The city never sleeps and this hotel offers old world charm like none other.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela V, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Randy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about the Biltmore Hotel! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you can return very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We constantly spend weekends in the Biltmore. I have travelled the world extensively staying in some of the best hotels, across Europe and America and I can honestly say there is only one biltmore! In my mind it's within the top ten hotels in the world. It's beauty is breathtaking. Originally built in 1926 for the high society of America when nothing existed within Coral gables or surrounding. This is a master class of architectural attention and absolute beauty. Views over a stunning golf course seen for miles around, with a canal running all the way to the ocean. a swimming pool that has been landscaped to perfection, ballrooms fit for kings, a lobby that can only be described as perfection.

To enjoy tea or Sunday buffet or a meal within the atrium makes you feel like you are experiencing something very special. The food can be exceptional. Nonetheless the service does not fit the perfection of the building. On the one hand you experience the bellman who are some of the finest in the world, friendly and knowledgeable concierge. The reception staff on the other hand are cold and inefficient. The food is Fontana goes from exceptional to unacceptable.

I think our disappointment is only due to the fact that you feel like you are somewhere so special that the whole experience should be faultless. In typical miami style it has many faults nonetheless the positives far out way the negatives. If you come to miami you will be missing one of the greatest gems and assets if you miss the biltmore. The history of the hotel is intertwined with the cities growth and status. This is one experience you will remember forever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biltmore H, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Biltmore Hotel. Please accept my sincere apology that we did not meet your service expectations. Our main goal is that guests have exceptional service all throughout the hotel with every moment. I am pleased however that you are passionate about this beautiful and historic property! Hope to see you back in the future.

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
518 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Amazing truly really sums this Hotel up. This is old real charm that is still iconic but also updated. The rooms are all beautiful as are all the amenities. There are top of the line restaurants, a super large pool and golf course. This is one of the nicest hotels around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biltmore H, at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you reviewing the Biltmore Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here in this beautiful and historical resort! Hope you can come back soon.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel has an old fashioned charm to it but it could use some updating. My room was nice and in generally good condition but showing wear in certain place such as the night stands that were a bit chipped up. The room had a "city" view which was pretty, but others in our group had a pool view which they liked as well. I was here for a conference so I didn't get a chance to use the pool which looked inviting and was one of the largest hotel pools I have ever seen. I did use the gym in the early morning which had plenty of cardio machines but other exercise machines were limited. Oddly, while the conference facilities were excessively air-conditioned, the gym was way too warm for a comfortable workout. I did eat at Fontana two nights and the food was excellent. The first night was a group dinner and often ordering fish at these types of events is iffy, but my fish was perfectly cooked and moist. The conference food was pretty good as well. The rooms are not set up for business travelers, there was no desk and no easy places to plug in electronics. The service was good most of the time, but sometimes it wasn't. The front desk wasn't adequately staffed for a hotel that doesn't offer online options for check in and I had to wait in a line to check in and also a line to check out. Another service glitch happened when I asked for unscented or lightly scented soap (the soap in the room is very very fragrant and was making my allergies go crazy), the woman at the front desk said she would check and then called back and said that they didn't have any other type of soap and that I should check in the gift shop. I was stunned that this was the response. I have only had problems with heavy fragranced products in a hotel twice before and both times the hotel brought me another type of soap no problem, I was very irritated by the response but had to run off to my meeting. Fortunately, someone had better sense and I was pleasantly surprised to find that they had left the unscented soap in my room when I returned. Overall, I would say it was a nice hotel but they need to make some improvements to make it worthy of the class of hotel it is supposed to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL31M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biltmore H, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Biltmore Hotel. I truly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry for the inconveniences that you had, but am glad that overall your stay was pleasant. I am noting your thoughts on improvement and hope that when you return our service is better and more improved.

Your truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

What I like: the free parking and self parking that is convenient. The good staff. The wonderful rooms. The great swimming pool. The lovely surrounding neighborhood.
What I did not like: kind of hard to find nearby conveniences, even finding a place to purchase gasoline is a bit of a chore. There are no nearby convenience stores, gas stations, etc. Also the drive to the hotel like other major cities, you have to drive through some places that are unattractive to reach the destination.
Service is top notch along with the amenities, and place is strikingly beautiful, including surrounding residential area.
This is my second stay here, I expect and hope it will not be my last.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biltmore H, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post, I appreciate your feedback! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I apologize for any inconvenience you may had while here. I hope your next visit to the Biltmore Hotel is soon!

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel looks lovely and the rooms are very nice however if you are traveling with young children or are a light sleeper sleeping under a bridge next to a major highway would be a better option. Paper thin walls resulted in my 18 month old not sleeping for three days straight. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biltmore H, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello Abodd,

I am truly sorry about your experience here at the Biltmore Hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience and for any noise that may have resulted in your lack of a good nights sleep. I do hope that you will return in the future!

Sincerely yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing