We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid 4 and a half”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Schenectady
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid 4 and a half”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Classy historical hotel, very enjoyable stay. Stayed three nights during graduation, so hotel was jam packed. Location is ok, but you won't be walking anywhere, they do however offer a free carpark. Stayed in a Jr suite that had more than enough room and was very comfortable. Bathroom was a little tight for two. Housekeeping was spot on! Our room was only accessible by stairs, so heads up for those with knee issues. Did not use the pool, which is hugh, but my sister rented a cabana and said it was fabulous. Golf was ok. Gym looked nice, did not use.
There is a $20/day facility fee - so for the very measly downside. No coffee in the room, but it is available in the lobby until 6:30 am lol. There is continental bfast in the Cellar Club with free refills if you keep your cup (did not hear about that until our drive back to the airport). Lemon/cucumber water in the lobby is sporadic.. I know it's Florida, but do not count on it all day. Daily paper was only delivered one out of three days. Room service menu was not picked up, however manager did rectify.
Absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Katalina,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Biltmore Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay, however I am sorry about the minor inconveniences you had! I do hope that you come back and have another positive experience.

Sincerely yours,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    434
    180
    86
    48
See reviews for
485
557
60
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were here graduation weekend. I do not recommend this weekend. The whole hotel was over booked and all the staff were pushed to the limits. Saturday night every possible room or alcove had a party in it. The pool decking was over crowed to the point of brawls over chairs and towels the the pool attendants clearly were catering to regulars who obliviously had tipped well in the past. Im not sure what the daily activity fee is for, but everyone wants a large tip for what you would expect any hotel to provide. One of the events on Saturday night had a band that had our room shaking (glasses in room were rattling) until 11pm. We had several rooms and a 2year old who could not sleep with that noise. You know, most guests have plans the next day and not everyone wants a band shaking their room until that party is over.
I did read another comment about noise in the walls. We had this as well. It was as if old pipes where being turned on and off all night. I know the hotel is "haunted" but I think it was the pipes.
The bed was comfortable.In One of our rooms the A/C never got below 75 and was uncomfortable for our guests. Mothers day brunch..... booking 6 months out. Any food you would like -to the point of excess, it was very nice -but the$ price$. No one can possibly eat as much food as they charge for, and again the large tip for pouring some drinks as you get buffet food- which was very good, but never again. It is not worth it. If you don't care about over spending- then this is your hotel.

Room Tip: coffee and light snacks in morning in the LL bar area if you don't want another big breakfast up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmsc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay while at the Biltmore Hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction you had. Please note that I will be looking into your comments further as the Biltmore prides itself on excellent customer service.

I do hope that one day you can come back to the Biltmore and give us another chance in giving you a positive and memorable experience.

Yours truly,
Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The Biltmore provides an experience in luxury at its finest.
Hotel and grounds on the property provide for a experience you will never forget. The staff goes above and beyond to cater to your needs, always friendly and attentive. I would recommend the Biltmore Hotel to anyone who is interested in spending a little more for an experience that will last you a lifetime

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ejacks60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time while staying at the Biltmore Hotel. I hope you can come back in the near future to have another great experience.

Truly yours,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Last week I went to The Afternoon Tea to celebrate a dear friend's birthday. Everything was excellent. Amparo made us feel very special and the ambience was magical with the music play by the harpist. I totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponce0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Biltmore Hotel for the afternoon tea. I hope that you can come back and enjoy yet another afternoon.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Convenient but overpriced. It was nice to walk to the village from the hotel for a restaurant in the evening but overall we felt the hotel,was overpriced for,what you receive. I did not like the housekeeper coming in twice a day either as I did not expect anyone later in the day to come in while we were not there....didn't like that at all. Hotel is ritzy looking but sort of in a fake way..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Biltmore Hotel, I appreciate your constructive criticism. I apologize for any inconvenience you had while staying here as well as the miscommunication with housekeeping.

I hope you will return to the Biltmore Hotel in the future!

Sincerely,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I decided to splurge on the Biltmore and introduce my daughter and another 16 year old to a classic hotel. We were only in Florida for four days and I thought this would be a special treat. We checked in to a nice room for $415 per night (reservations staff were helpful in telling us a room with more space for 3 people). It was room 259 at the end of the hall, several steps up (no elevator, but not a big problem for us). I provide the room# as I would not advise anyone to stay in that particular room. We went to bed about 10 p.m. and all through the night there were noises coming through the walls. It sounded like a FOG HORN! The at 2:30 am the fire alarm went off. The noises continued until at 6:30 am I called the desk and said "what on earth are these NOISES?". It turns out despite the fire alarm we were the only ones to complain. At 8 am they were still occuring. I did not sleep at all that night, and the front desk said they would tell the manager and see what they could do. I expected a call or message but nothing all day. The second night the noises started again about 11 p.m. I stuffed tissue in my ears and called the front desk again. He said he would tell the manager. Noises all through the night despite tissue in ears! I looked behind the exit door, and saw that the main fire system is directly in back of the bed through the wall. My theory is that it makes noise especially when the hotel water system gets quiet at night. I have honestly never slept so poorly in a hotel, especially for $400 per night! I was especially upset by the handling of the issue. I stopped by the front desk twice in person, and called four times. They kept saying a manager would address it, but no one did. When I checked out the front desk had me wait until they could reach the on duty manager - a young man who looked nervous and inexperienced. he said my experience was "totally unacceptable", but then did nothing to address it! The front desk was amazed and gave me half off the second night. By then I was so mad I just wanted to leave.

On the plus side, it is a beautiful place, the room was clean and large, and the pool is fabulous. I liked the fitness classes especially and took two yoga and one zumba class during the stay. I don't know if I would stay there again due to the service and handling of the problem. I have to imagine that not all rooms are like 259 or no one would ever stay there! Avoid that room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 259 at the end of the hall due to NOISES from fire system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreHotel, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Lizzy,

I am terribly sorry about the unfavorable experience you had while staying at the Biltmore Hotel. Please know that I am taking your feedback seriously and will be looking into your incident and the departments involved. I promise you that the issue is of concern to us, as the Biltmore prides itself on an exceptional service culture worthy of its luxury status.

I do hope that you can come back in future so we can regain your trust.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I recently had the utmost pleasure of having afternoon tea at The Biltmore. We arrived early and walked the grounds and took in the grandeur of this historic hotel. Inside, outside, we were not disappointed. Afternoon Tea was quite an experience that we will NEVER forget. Our main purpose of our outing was a pre-law school graduation celebration. I said as much on my reservation hoping to only garner a private table for two (mother and daughter) when go our surprise the lovely server, Amparo, brought us 2 lovely glasses of champagne. It was unexpected and a perfect way to start our afternoon. The different teas were delicious and I wish we could have sampled more but we were already too full from the tasty treats we had. The scones, deviled eggs, etc. were to die for. We could not have asked for a more perfect afternoon and The Biltmore delivered on everything and more we could have wished for. AWESOME harp player. Seemed to read our minds and played a lot of our favorite songs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundabout1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikaela V, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review for the Biltmore Hotel. I am so pleased that you had a great experience at our afternoon tea. I hope that you come back in the future and continue to enjoy the Biltmore Hotel.

Yours truly,

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing