We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem :)”
Review of Lima 51 Ceviche Bar - CLOSED

Lima 51 Ceviche Bar
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Latin, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A hidden gem :)”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After trying several Peruvian restaurants in the area, we decided to give Lima 51 a try. I was left speechless with the high quality of food being served. Everything was amazing, from the Tiradito Tricolor, to the Risotto with Lomo Saltado (highly recommended). Everyone should give this restaurant a try, and maybe like us will fall in love with it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ALERT: A new amazing Peruvian ceviche establishment that is simply fantastic is now in Coral Springs.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

ALERT: A new amazing Peruvian ceviche establishment that is simply fantastic is now in Coral Springs.

We were seated promptly and brought a small dish of "Cancha" - it's toasted Maize Chulpe Corn that is lightly salted that was bursting with flavor. They are slightly puffy when toasted, just like corn nuts, and it has a starchy crunchy taste that is quite addictive and usually served with a ceviche .

The starter was:
~ "Pulpito A la Parrilla" ~ It was one of the best dishes that I have had. it was an octopus marinated in special Peruvian spices and grilled to perfection. It was incredibly tender, and seasoned perfectly ... i had it a tad spicy and i can describe it as savory, and complex.

The Entrée:
~ "The Trilogy" ~ a variety of three different ceviche's each served in a martini glass ~ a "Traditional" lime based, "Aji Amarillo" Peruvian Yellow Pepper), and "Ceviche de Rocoto", which is slightly creamy and pink. We selected to have it all in fresh fish, which I found very refreshing. On the bottom of the presentation plate there was a a variety of deep fried fish, mussels, squid and octopus.

A house made dessert:
~ "Tramisu du Lucuma" ~ made from a subtropical fruit native to the Andean valleys of Peru that was excellent.

Lima 51 Ceviche Bar is a definite "bookmark" on your Yelp! list of establishments to visit.

Cheers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miami4me2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb ceviche in an unlikely setting”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Coral Springs, the epitome of West Broward. Mile after mile of strip centers, bleached pastel-colored paint, blistering asphalt parking lots out front, a few palms that give no shade and little visual relief. And what more typical than the seemingly endless desolation of Sample Road? Even the cross streets are bewildering, Coral Hills, Coral Springs, Coral Ridge, Coral This, Coral That? It's easy to feel like you are on a treadmill.

But do not despair, a fine meal is at hand if you persevere. Situated in one more nondescript strip center, without so much as a sign (at the time of this writing the staff tells me that some bureaucrat is holding up permission to install one, a piece of genuine South American atmospherics when you think about it), your GPS will guide you to Lima51. Enter and be transformed.

You are in a clean, neat and unassuming dining room. Very modest, but not the usual Latin Lunch Counter environment. Trendy but restrained. Your waitress brings you the menu. One is rendered speechless by the astonishing variety of ceviches. Who knew they came in so many traditional (not to mention fusion) variations. You order a Cuzquena beer, it is served in an icy-cold tall glass just like the one they gave me at Todaro's in Venice. But here it only costs $4.50, not $20.00 and the beer is just as fine.

I ordered a "yellow" ceviche thinking I'd get the usual modest appetizer. Heck no, a bowl shows up with enough ceviche to make a solid meal out of. The fish is super-good and the yellow sauce keeps calling me back. Corn kernels of some exotic type added elan. The others in our party ordered a number of menu items, all excellent. A stewed chicken dish (sounds boring) was worth the drive, another ordered a steak and instead of the usual tough mystery meat we got a marinated and grilled set of sirloin bits that would warrant a reply. A Jalea, the Peruvian national dish, is a mountain of fried seafood and plantain. This is pretty over-the-top in most places and Lima51 is no exception: do not order this unless you have someone to share it with. The shellfish items were fried in the shell! Did not seem to be the usual frozen, bagged variety either.

Service was a bit chaotic, but everyone was very nice and we were so bliss-ed out by the exceptional cuisine that it didn't seem to matter. I find it hard to believe this place is located in such a modest surrounding. Grab a meal there while you can, it will either become impossible to get in, given the small size of the room, or the location will not be able to sustain so exalted a cuisine in so Philistine a surrounding. I'd have expected to find this joint in South Beach, not on Sample Road. Prices were very modest given the very ample portions and the superb quality of the food. I'd call it a bargain. A large meal for 4 with various beer, sangria and to much food ran us $150.00 including the tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank buybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best ceviche!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The ceviche (trifasico) was the best, the service is excellent! But i would not recommend other thing but te ceviche. I think they are not that good in the other categories of food. They need some improvement. I try the anticucho, seco de cabrito, arroz chaufa but none of them was good but the ceviche was the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lima 51 stands above the other Ceviche & Peruvian Restaurants”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Friendly service by staff & Chef. The Peruvian ceviches were all wonderful not to be outdone by the other dishes served or the pisco sours. The atmosphere is welcoming to hip couples, friends gathering, and families alike. Overall the combination of good food, well made drinks, friendly staff, and a welcoming atmosphere made this Jewel tucked away into a little strip mall in coral springs. Have now been several times and prefer Lima 51 over other SE florida restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lima 51 Ceviche Bar also viewed

Coral Springs, Broward County
Coral Springs, Broward County
 
Coral Springs, Broward County
Coral Springs, Broward County
 
Coral Springs, Broward County
Coral Springs, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing