We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King's Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Crystal River Resort(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Crystal River)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation on Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
160
72
19
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
72
19
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspring fed poolnatural poolold floridafull kitchencaptain waynewithin walking distancenatural springefficiency apartmentstocked kitchenettecrabsmall kitchenenjoyed our staycovered pavilioncentral locationpull out sofaliving arearental place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

No fancy hotel, just nice apartment-style rooms with efficiency kitchens and plenty of room. My two boys enjoyed the pool and we had a good two night stay. The pull out bed's mattress wasn't too great but overall, everything met our expectations. If you have a boat, they have a dock to use too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear Randy, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our "Old Florida" relaxation and your boys had fun. We offer free docking for our guests and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great place for couples, family with small kids or teens. Right on the river, outdoor covered picnic areas with BBQ grills available. Pool is fed by river water, so you swim with small little fish above a lush seagrass bottom. Close to Manatee tour operators and restaurants. Staff is friendly, place is simple, but clean. they have a dock and fish cleaning station.

Room Tip: ask to be close to the water
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BineQuilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you Sabine for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Old Florida pool is a favorite of our guests and our fish cleaning station was recently upgraded. I also appreciate your kind words for our staff.

Wow! Thanks for submitting such a great sunset picture. I hope it brings back happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We (2 adults and 2 young teens) stayed here 2 nights in April 2014 based on the reviews from others on tripadvisor. We will definitely stay here again should we come back to CR (and we plan too).
The room (an efficiency apartment) was spacious and clean. The bathroom had recently been remodeled and was very nice. The little kitchenette with full-sized fridge was great to have. Each unit is different and some may be much nicer than others, but after speaking with the manager, I understand that she has been pushing for the owners to update everything, so they all might be similar soon (if they are not already).
The location is great: right on the water at the north end of the bay. There is a boat dock with free slips for guests, and a covered dock for a little extra (I think it was $5 a day - super cheap). You can walk to plenty of good places to eat and/or take snorkeling manatee trips or whatever you are interested in.
The old Florida pool is very cool. It is spring fed and flows into the bay strong enough that water only goes one way even though the pool level is dependent on the tide. The water is crystal clear. At very high tide it looked to be about 4 or 5 feet to the tops of the hydrilla? plants on the bottom. It was more like 9+... almost unbelievable how clear it is. I think you could drink it right out of the pool.
My wife is a corporate traveler and stays at very nice places. As such I was concerned about staying at a mom-and-pop local style old motel. She loved it too. I give it 4 stars only because I reserve the 5th for only the very best POSH stuff. The rate is very reasonable and well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 16 (on the end of the south building) was a great room with a very clean and new bathroom. Plus it has the extra windows that face the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tb420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you TB for your awesome review. We are very glad you took the time to describe our lovely efficiency apartments.

We think our waterfront location is special too. Guests enjoy walking around our historic neighborhood to bars, restaurants, parks and shopping.

Our Old Florida pool is one of the last remaining spring fed pools in the state. We are glad you and other guests appreciate its unique nature.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The furniture etc. are not the newest but who goes to stay in the room? The spring fed pool is great when the water is up; sometimes it's low. The atmosphere is definitely laid back. It's a great place to bring the boat and go fishing; and bar hop by boat at night. After a long day in the sun fishing that cool water in the pool is just the ticket. I'll go back for the convenience of it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in a middle room and it was just fine.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you Wanda for your lovely review. Our guests appreciate our laid back atmosphere and vintage vibe. We are so glad you enjoyed relaxing in the pool and the local establishments in our neighborhood. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Absolutely perfect! Tracy is so welcoming. We had rooms 4 & 5 - more than adequate for our family of 4 + 2 kids. We fell in love with this place and the locals, so we just had to have an extra night. The eco pool is unique, and Cpt White's Tour & Swimming with Manatees is AWESOME!
the only down side is having to leave!!!!! If you are visiting Orlando and want a mid holiday break away from the madding crowds then this is it. Two hour drive from Magic Kingdom to bliss.......
********** W E W I L L R E T U R N **********

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cumonyooreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We are glad your stay was perfect.

We are happy you enjoyed the Nature Coast. Guests come from all over the world to interact with the manatees in Crystal River and Captain White provides an awesome experience for his guests.

We are glad your stay at Kings Bay Lodge was so special. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews