We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, updated room with a very friendly front desk...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just stayed here overnight. We arrived late and left early. But, the little time we spent there was enjoyable.

Our room was clearly updated. The bathroom looked brand new. The furniture and carpet looked new. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Check-in was fast and very friendly.

The best part -- we got our room for significantly less than other local chain hotels.

If we're ever passing through Crystal River again, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Let me start by saying the reason I stayed here was to do the manatee tour, which was first class with Captain Ross Files. The Dive Shop was onsite. This made it easy to make my 6:15 am appointment to get suited up and out on the water. Cap't. Ross was fantastic! His knowledge, enthusiasm, and empathy toward the manatees is genuine. I highly recommend his tour. Actually, all staff members at that shop were very nice and showed an interest in wildlife, so I don't think you can go wrong there.

My room was appointed nicely with down pillows, a frig, and a nice deep tub. It was clean, and pretty. I have no complaints. In room wi-fi was FREE. They give you a code at the front desk. I chose the lowest priced room- upstairs, parking lot view and was pleased with quality and appearance.

The grounds are beautiful here. So much wildlife with osprey, dolphins, manatees. I like this place and recommend it!!!

Room Tip: I had the lowest priced room. Upstairs. No balcony. Easy to walk to the pool, the gazebo and enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank physiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My fiance and I recently stayed at Plantation and everything was absolutely phenomenal. Jessica at the Front Desk was extremely sweet and attentive 5 star service for sure. Travis at the restaurant also stood out. Amanda, in housekeeping was also very nice. Every time we were within several feet of her she greeted us and made sure everything was perfect. The staff at the dive shop was very informative about the local area and gave plenty of tips for our day out on the river.The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The only thing I would have liked was a more comfortable bed. The down pillows helped with the comfort. Entire property was very quite and overall relaxing, the ambiance was extremely tranquil at.
We will definitely be back especially for the service provided.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill_Marie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

On our arrival it was discovered the booking I made on Choice Hotels web site ( members rate was $101 for a standard king) was for a handicap room which we were not interested in, which curiously was on the 2nd level. I asked for another room to allow that room for someone who may need it. They had other rooms available, but they wanted more money or I could wait for another room to be cleaned. Housekeeping must have been behind since it was Sunday and I'm assuming they were busy from the weekend business. Now this was 4 in the afternoon and I wasn't interested in paying extra for a room that had little more to offer, but the desk manager was sorry the other room was not ready, we were told to wait. That didn't make much sense to me since it was Sunday and I'm sure they we're not going to be sold out. Poor customer service approach in taking care of a simple request.
We checked out the dive/marina shop & decided to book the sunset cruise. The cruise was worth the price & the captain shared a lot of interesting facts about the area & manatee's. Unfortunately since the temperature for the day hit 80 we did not see much activity from the manatees because evidently they are drawn to the warm springs when the weather is cool.
When the captain was asked, he gave some heads up on some restaurants in the area besides the restaurant at the hotel which from reading other reviews we were not interested in trying. The one suggestion, Peck's was an adventure since our Garmin had us taking a short cut through some back streets which included a 1/2 mile of dirt road in the middle of no where which did connect to road Peck's is located. This was 30 min + drive but was in beautiful coastal country. It was 7:15ish & they we packed. It was about 30 min. wait but was worth it since the meal was good.

Room Tip: No breakfast included. Check out Grannies down the street. Friendly folks, but be prepared to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgerberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Plantation only to be severly disappointed with our stay. We paid total over $180 for one night per room. Expecting a wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel we were completely wrong. This place is at best a three star hotel with 5 star prices. We paid extra for a "water view" to find out that there were people walking by our slinding door all day on a walkway along a small very small channel of water. Turns out it wasnt much of a view. We were told the resturant in the hotel was reservation only, and no room service. We ran out of cups in the room and when asked the front desk for a cup for coffee we were transferred to the resturant and then to an answering service. We called back and the clerk told us there is a charge for coffee although they advertise a supply of free coffee to the room. Overall we felt a little used and not respected as guests. Expect to hear the people above you and all around you while in your room as well. Terribly disappointed!

Room Tip: Hampton inn is probably nicer and less expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank spiritwind77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here and really wished we had allotted another few nights. Beautifully cared for. Our ground floor room, that had a parking lot few was amazingly quiet, and I am a light sleeper. The location is great for kayak rental and as others have mentioned, snorkeling with Manatees! The outfitter is on site, couldn't be easier and the prices are very competitive. We opted for a morning Manatee snorkel and it was an amazing experience. We had MANY manatee encounters and our guide was in the water with us, not standing back at the boat like many others. We were able to purchase a CD of pictures afterwards at a very reasonable cost ($30 I think). We were also able to arrange a late check out so that we could clean up afterwards, and greatly appreciated the accommodation. Staff were all very friendly and this was a great stay. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terishalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were very impressed as we arrived at the hotel in jeans and t shirts to be greeted by folks in tuxedo and lame dresses. Turned out there was a do at the golf club.None the less we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were kind and patient with us , despite lots of questions and misunderstanding from ourselves. The hotel is in a lovely setting and is very restful.We were lucky that the weather was hot and we could use the pool and go out on boats . We went originally to swim with the manatee but the thought of getting up at 7.30am after a long drive the previous day deterred us.We will come again and stay a bit longer as there seemed to be lots to do in the area.Other reviwers mentioned that some of the rooms were tired but the building is not young so it is to be exoected.Our only moan would be that the corridor carpets could do with a spring clean as they were a bit dull and grubby. All in all a great place to stay for a restful time.

Room Tip: Choose a water view room or you will look at the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
817 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
348 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River
Plantation On Crystal River Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing