We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Hallsville, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Inexpensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three days mostly because I had points to use up and we were planning a lot of activities in the region. The facility manager was polite and brought us towels to use by the pool as we lounged there reading and returned our shoes we left there absentmindedly. When we were blocked in by an oaf who parked behind us and several other guests, the maintainence man pounded on his door and got him to repark in a correct way. While this is an older property, the staff did try to make our stay there pleasent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    50
    16
    28
See reviews for
32
55
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I and our dog stayed at the Econo Lodge, Crystal River for 7 nights. It is the only major hotel brand offering pet freindly rooms in the immediate Crystal River area. On the surface, the hotel does not present a very good image of what it has to offer for a week long pet freindly stay. The lobby and the rooms could stand a make over in order to look fresh and up to date. The continental breakfast area is very small. The breakfast selection is very limited . The TV in the room was not a flat screen one. There was no hair dryer in the room. We were in a room closer to the highway. The noise from early morning traffic could be a problem for a light sleeper. Enough about the negatives observed when we first arrived. As the days passed, we saw that the positives offered by the hotel made our seven day stay a very good overall experience. There was a fridge and micro in our room and these provided a great solution to the limited continental breakfast that was available as well as an easy solution to providing us lunch from the previous nights dinner leftovers. A quick trip to Publix (supermarket) for frozen waffles, syrup, apple juice, pop tarts, milk and orange juice and we had everything we needed for seven days of breakfast using the hotels toaster, fridge and micro and for a cost of slightly over a dollar a day. The TV worked fine and there was an excellent selection available from the cable system. The room was large and clean. There were 2 chairs and a table which served well as a breakfast area and computer work area. The free wifi worked well and was very easy to access.The bathroom was clean and the tub/shower facilities served us well during our 7 day stay. The beds were comfortable and we got a good nights sleep all 7 nights that we stayed at the Econo Lodge. The hotel staff both at check-in and check-out were freindly, courteous and helpful. The cleaning staff were also freindly and courteous. Our room was cleaned and towels/toiletries provided daily. The only real problem we had was that our room keys stopped working properly twice during our stay. They were quickly reprogrammed by the clerk at the desk and the problem was solved. This problem was not unique to us here at the Econo Lodge. My sister-in-law was staying at the Holidy Inn Express in Crystal River and her key stopped working also during her stay. All in all, our stay at the Econo Lodge Crystal River was a very good one. The room though dated served us well and additionally there were several areas around the hotel where we could walk our dog and exercise her every day. Once you get by your intial impression of the hotel, it really is not that bad a facility particularly if you are travelkling with a pet. That old addage "Don't judge a book by its cover" really is applicable here.

Room Tip: A room further away from road would eliminate most of the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

I can't really say I was surprised by the quality of this motel. I new going in that at $60 a night it wasn't going to be 4-star luxury but I found it to be pretty run down and dirty. There was a large half dead insect on the floor when we arrived. The sink was corroded and the TV was poor quality. The matress also sagged heavily. The best thing I can say is that they offer up a cheap price if you are going to take one of the manatee tours near by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanersD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crystal River hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I was actually quite frightened to stay here, but went because a large group of old friends were getting together for scallop season in Crystal River. It is definitely affordable and close to the ramp for boaters wanting to enjoy the beautiful waters of the area. I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't AS horrible as some of the reviews make it out. The room was basically clean, the A/C cold and the water hot. So if you just treat it for what it is (not the Hilton) you'll be fine. I believe our room was $58 for two double beds, and did have a small fridge. They also offer coffee and small pastries in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

To start, the rooms are extremely outdated. The phone in my room did not work- when I spoke to the owner he said it would be too costly to repair and that there was other rooms without working phones as well....really?! The bed was painfully hard! I felt like Fred Flintstone sleeping here! The tv was an archaic early 80's model tube tv with NO working remote. The linens were stained and old, although they did appear to be clean. Only plus was there was a small mini fridge and microwave. Overall, if your interested in a good nights sleep,look else where.

Justin Braneky
Braneky Pest Prevention, Inc.
Geneva,Fl

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranekyPestControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

First room the TV did not work properly.
Second room the TV did not work properly and the room was not cleaned.
Third room was OK but needs a good bug spraying. Looks like mold under the sink as well. (Left)

The manager of the place seemed a little concerned, not, and said their were a lot of things that I was not aware of with this place and she could not tell me about it. But she did say it was the owners fault. So, I would suggest giving the manager more responsibility and let her make things happen or fire her.

You may also want to tell housekeeping that if they are going to say something about the person staying their, they should wait till they are out of hearing distance.

I WOULD SUGGEST STAYING AT THE DAYS IN OR QUALITY INN IN CRYSTAL RIVER. I NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH EITHER OF THEM.

You will never see me at this motel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angeleye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived late and got a room. The place looks like it is a spot for hookers to use for their work. The heater did not work and the shower only had cold water. The bed was rock hard. The shower backed up bad, I was standing in a half foot of water. I went to return the key in the morning and the people in the office told me I had to leave a tip to get a cup of coffee. Dump city should be the name.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lone_knight_watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2575 NW US Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428-2970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal River, Florida
Crystal River Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing