We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RULES”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venture Out Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cudjoe Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Venture Out Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudjoe Key
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RULES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Venture Out for the first time in unit 387. First, let me say to be very careful on which unit you choose as many of the units are dated. Our unit was great. It was an elevated unit 2/2 with 1 king and 2 twins and a fold out Queen couch. We were a group of 3 adults and 3 kids. The unit itself was excellent and had a great water view. Many of the units are on the canals but the views are not great so be mindful when choosing and get a map of the properties off the realtors website. We rented our unit for a week and found it to be in good condition. We were close enough to walk to the pool and club house. Our unit did not have Wi-Fi but many of them do. There was wi-fi at the club house. Our unit also had a washer dryer which was great with all the kids. We had little contact with the reality company but all the guards at the gate were helpful and friendly. There are a lot of rules as other reviewers have said. It was not a big issue for us because it was our goal to have a quiet family vacation. But I do agree with another reviewer that the population of the community is older and the permanent residents don't "enjoy" the vacation renters next door. We did get a few "shushes" when the kids were outside on the deck so I made sure they were in by dark. This was a good place for the money for us but if you are wanting to kick back, drink, party on the deck, and let it all hang out (as many people do in the keys) this is NOT the place for you. Better to continue south about 20 more miles to Key West.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Psis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    36
    17
    9
    9
See reviews for
43
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in unit #144 . The unit was very clean and nice. Everything was provided to make out stay enjoyable. I liked the private back yard with our own personal grill. The community had a lot of rules and we were a little worried considering we were on vacation but everything worked out and the stay was very pleasant.

There is tons to do if you feel like taking a day and relaxing in the community .. Pool, hot tub, saltwater swimming area , games, courtyards, rec hall.

We spent most of out time in key west and we were kinda worried that we weren't close enough for key west but it was perfect!!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jablume87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family has been coming here for 15+ years. Every year there seems to be more rules as the locals get older. It's working on becoming a 75+ community who doesn't want young children. How does a place have a pool that doesn't allow jumping into it. I don't recommend venture out anymore.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cudjoe Key hotels

Lexington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week in this beautiful resort on the water. Very well maintained with 24 hour security guard at gate. Only complaint was realty company responsible for housekeeping. Did not provide enough wash cloths, trash bags, or toilet paper. Did not always respond when extras were requested.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiefliesYX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Venture Out is a great location for us because we wanted a quiet spot that wasn't in Key West but gave us access to it and other mid and lower keys attractions. The "key"-excuse the pun- to this resort is getting the right unit. There are some gorgeous homes here. There are also some very old, dumpy looking places. We were lucky because our unit (598) is large, clean and beautiful! It is, however, very far from the pool. The pool is probably my biggest problem with Venture Out. As a family with a young child we would typically be using the pool a lot! Unfortunately this one resembles more of a prison. Pros: big, warm. Cons: 10 ft chain link fence surrounding it with mesh on the sea side blocking (I assume) the wind but also the view. This mesh was not featured in the pics on their website. They also must have a big seagull problem because there are strings running all over across the top of it. The hot tub is similarly fenced in in a separate area so if you were hoping to enjoy it while keeping an eye on your kids, that won't work. Floats and fins are not allowed. There is a designated swimming area in the ocean, but you have to climb down the sea wall on a ladder to get to it and it is right alongside the boat launch! Yuck.

There is a nice little convenience store in the resort. We also appreciated having a guarded, gated entrance.

If the pool is not a big draw for you, and you read reviews carefully and get a good unit, then I would recommend Venture Out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katiefliesYX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We, and another couple, stayed in Unit 95 the last week of April.
The unit was very clean and the owner very on top of things. Very easy to work with!
The view was amazing, we spent many hours out on the covered deck with shade and lovely breezes!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mmbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My family rented through Waterfront Keys Reality house # 618 in Venture Out Resort.
The security woman was great and very helpful.
Had a wonderful time during our stay in the Florida Keys.
The house we rented was roomy and comfortable and close to Key West.
My children used the pool, and they had a good time.
My son wanted to go in the saltwater swimming area, but my SO saw a 4 foot shark (probably a nurse shark, but still) swimming in there, so we did not go in.
Fishing was fun, but we had 6 people and only 3 fishing poles, so we had to take turns.
Bicycle chains were off 2 of the bicycles.
One was fixed during our stay but the other was not.
Washer did not work so we had to pay to wash the towels we used as per company policy.
Their store doesn't stay open very late.
However, if you are looking for things (especially for fishing) the Walgreens on Roosevelt in Key West is 24 hours and has bait and tackle needs and water shoes.
Besides all that, the home itself was lovely and had enough room for 6 people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CBD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cudjoe Key
23.7 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
23.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
23.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venture Out Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venture Out Resort

Property: Venture Out Resort
Address: 701 Spanish Main Dr, Cudjoe Key, FL 33042-4333
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Cudjoe Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudjoe Key
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Venture Out Hotel Cudjoe Key
Venture Out Resort Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing