We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Spot”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy L
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Spot”
Reviewed 21 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This is the PERFECT Family retreat! Each year, my husband and I take our 5 grown kids and their significant others to the Keys for a family vacation. We've tried multiple locations and dealt with multiple management teams-This was the best we've ever had! Our search is over, this is the place we'll be coming for the foreseeable future.

The house looks a bit dated in the pictures, but frankly, it couldn't be laid out better for a large group with plenty of gathering space, a great kitchen and the perfect location. The view from the balcony and the main bedrooms is awesome. See the sunrise and the sunset from the porch.

We went in mid December, only 3 months after the devastation of Hurricane Irma, and yes, the damage to the Keys, and that area is both sobering and heartbreaking. However, the house was in perfect shape and the Keys are recovering.

Shannon and Amy, who run Walk about Retreats are the best! You won't go wrong renting from them and staying at this fabulous place.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseS0007
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect house for large famiky”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house is designed perfectly for a mixed aged family group. Lots of separate areas for different activities and also a large area for the whole group to celebrate together. It was our playground. Quiet and still close enough to Key West and great beaches.
We opted to add paddle board rentals to the included kayaks and had a blast with them. The bay is mostly calm. We would even go out after dark to star gaze.
Kitchen well stocked. Two refrigerators was s blessing. Lots of towels.
This house will be hard to top for our next gathering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
562irisp
Point Harbor, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation EVER!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

12 of our family came down from NC & VA to celebrate a college graduation and fulfill some bucket list items. It was a classic road trip and the very best vacation imaginable. We have snorkeled, kayaked,fished,swam, tanned, grilled, danced, laughed, stayed up beyond a reasonable hour, slept in and made memories to last a lifetime. All of this without leaving the house. The location and amenities were perfect. Several "brave" souls ventured to key west a couple of nights for the Duvall pub crawl. A few played golf, some went parasailing. We all went to Ft. Jefferson. We're all looking for a reason to return and do it all over again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdmd84
Key Largo, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with a large family”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Went to see the property before signing the lease. Everything is as I remembered. Nice big screen porch facing the open water. Room for everyone on that porch. Big roomy kitchen. Kayaks were great for getting a good look at Cudjoe Bay. I knew that the manager was located in the downstairs area. I did not think that would bother me but it seemed less private than if they were across the street. The pool was a bit small for 8 kids but I knew that when we signed the lease. Location to Key West and Bahia Honda State Park was perfect. We had a great time with our family. 12 of us in all. I was unhappy with the lack of positive management response to termites in one of the bedrooms. Termites do swarm at certain times of the year in the Keys (I live here) but I have never seen them like they were in that bedroom. The girls were screaming. If you choose this as your vacation rental I would ask for certificate for pest control services. SO...we lost use of a bedroom for 2 of my teen granddaughters. We made do. It really was ideal for us. Large, clean and location was wonderful. If you do choose to stay here you have to eat at Mangrove Mama's. Great service. Great food. Nice people. Go to Bahia Honda State Park. it is hard to say if I would recommend this vacation rental to any of my friends. I guess I would say maybe yes maybe no.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the screen porch
Liked least: termites
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Family Retreat. I am sorry you had that experience. As the owner of Walkabout Retreats we take all issues seriously. I was out of town the week of your stay. My manager told me she had Orkin, who has the pest control service contract for the Family Retreat there the next day to access the situation. Orkin said they were not termites but bugs that were attracted by light. There are French doors in that room that open outside and they might have been opened and the bugs came in because of the light. Orkin assured us there was no pest problem with the home. It is the tropics and unexpected things that we can not control can happen. The pool sizes are listed on our web site for all of our rentals. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppertop...
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location Excellent View & Porch-Minor Bug Problem Though”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay. The dock is nice and we saw a barracuda, parrot fish, and a nurse shark. Loved Kayaks and snorkeling from beach. The best feature of this house is the porch. The kids enjoyed the pool, but it is very small. (smaller than it looks in the photos) The place was clean and had a well stocked kitchen for eating/cooking. There are some cosmetic issues but we didn't mind because the location is amazing. We lost access to one of the bedrooms because it became infested in the middle of the night with what we believe were termites. Contacted the manager and was told to close the bedroom up and make it dark, that it was all part of living in the tropics. I know a lot of people who live in the tropics and that is not true, but it is an old house. They did offer to come clean the room, but why bother when we can no longer use it? We had 2 teen girls staying in that bedroom that moved to couches in the living room:( This was the only thing we were not happy with about our stay. We felt like they could have at least offered something for the loss of the room. It is an older home and it may happen on occasion, but there are ways to avoid it or at least make it right.
We were not far from Key West or Bahia Honda and we enjoyed pizza and sandwiches from slice of paradise and dinner at mangrove mamas just over the bridge. I would recommend this for large families who care more about location and view than anything else.

BEWARE of young children around the faucets/bath because the water gets hot enough to scald very quickly! You have to take stairs to access this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: porch and location
Liked least: pool is small, bugs were a small problem
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Family Retreat. I am sorry you had that experience. As the owner of Walkabout Retreats we take all issues seriously. I was out of town the week of your stay. My manager told me she had Orkin, who has the pest control service contract for the Family Retreat there the next day to access the situation. Orkin said they were not termites but bugs that were attracted by light. There are French doors in that room that open outside and they might have been opened and the bugs came in because of the light. Orkin assured us there was no pest problem with the home. It is the tropics and unexpected things that we can not control can happen. The pool sizes are listed on our web site for all of our rentals. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apl602015
Cocoa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Held a family reunion with 12 of us staying at the house. We had a wonderful time. Dock worked well for the pontoon boat we rented. Enjoyed cooling off in the pool. Best of all we enjoyed the large screen porch area. Had plenty of tables and chairs for all of us to sit and enjoy the view. House was equipped with everything we needed. We were close enough to Key West to sight see. We would come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and porch
Liked least: Internet was weak at times. A few more TV's for bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smalley16
Southington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The house was perfect for 10-12 adults. The large.screened in porch is a great place to relax and enjoy the view of the pool and ocean. Close enough to Duval street for fun and shopping. The hot tub and pool area is a great place to spend our evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing