We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Sweets!”
Review of Betty Cakes Cake Shop - CLOSED

Betty Cakes Cake Shop
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Service and Sweets!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stopped in here for some coffee to warm up and ended up staying to enjoy some of their baked goods. I didn't get to try everyone else's desserts, but my peanut butter cookie and cowboy cookie were EXCELLENT! The coffee was self serve and OK, but I wish they would have had real creamer instead of the gross International Delights artificially flavored sweetened "creamer."

The custom cakes look amazing and all of the other desserts looked delicious. The place is small, so they were rolling some fondant on one of the dining tables while we were there. It was interesting to watch them, but it did make me wonder how sanitary that was. I assume they cleaned the table really well first.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATXTriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cakes and soup!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had traveled to see the WildThings, visiting the White Tiger name Remington, however, it rained heavy, and we were too early, so we found this interesting cake and soup....what a delight! I have seen areas that had cake dessert, but this tops them all!!! What an interesting place to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea, and the choice of cake, it was just impossible to chose, no matter which flavor you wanted, they all look to say "pick me".

We have been there two more times since our first discover of this place in July. Thank you so much!
Lyn and Vic from Winter Haven

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyn33881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome cupcakes”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

They have a wonderful vanilla cake and great cookies. Try them out if you want a simple desert and coffee. She always supports our community with charity events and we are happy to support her.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisaknous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Their cake and cupcakes are great, their prices are a little high, but everything is made from scratch and a nice size serving so its worth the price. You can eat in also, go early to get a good choice because the sell out fast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank catcato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Desserts, but...”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our family has purchased many cakes/cupcakes from Betty Cakes and they are always excellent quality. Recently, I went there with friends for lunch. Several ordered the chicken salad on croissant which had received good TA reviews; we did not agree. The chicken salad was bland, on the sweet side and came with zero adornments. One friend ordered the quiche which was a small, flat slice of average taste also with no adornments. Average cost w/ drink was $8.00. We were all disappointed with the quality and presentation of the lunch items. We will definitely return for the desserts, but not the lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betty Cakes Cake Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing