We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely average..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel seems to cater primarily to overnight travelers stopping before/after their cruise hence sadly, the management does not care enough about regular maintenance of the property. The main hotel building/lobby and common area facilities look great, however our room experience was something else. We spent 5 days at this property recently and it was just so so overall.
We initially ended up in a room with bugs in the kitchen (looked like little roaches). They were in the dishwasher, cabinets, wood floor etc. We even took pics to show the front desk staff! After having housekeeping check on it, we were told that they did not spot them so they could not fix the problem. After 2 nights, we were finally moved to another room for the next couple of days. That one was better and we did not find any pests/insects there. However, I was a little surprised at the staff reaction to simply move us into another room and I'm pretty sure they just rented the other room without further investigation.
The breakfast area was crowded and options were not many for a Hilton of this size.. They had the pre-made scrambled eggs and box pancakes every other day. No cut fruit and only one waffle maker and 1 jar of syrup for over 25 people; the breakfast breads were dry and plain. For almost 150/night, I think they can do better. Breakfast staff was not attentive and did not refill items and remove trash promptly to accommodate weekend crowd.
I gave them three stars only because they credited us one night after we complained about the initial experience and for the property location (convenient to FLL attractions/beaches with a rental car).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avidtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marife l, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to our attention and are glad we could provide you with a room switch. We are working with our pest control company to correct the situation. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Marife Lehrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Got in late after a terrible road trip before our cruise. Clerk gave me & my friends a break on the rate. Very pleasant staff & clean comfortable room & beds. Location was very convenient to cruise ship terminal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is our "go-to" hotel for our night before/after cruises either out of Ft. Lauderdale and Miami. This visit was a bit more disappointing. We arrived a bit later in the evening. The light in the bedroom was out, called to have it fixed. They changed the lightbulbs but figured out the switch was the problem. It was too late and we needed sleep so we told them to forget it. Didn't housekeeping realize it didn't work? We all get ready for bed, go to turn TV on, doesn't work. This is the same hotel we had the same problem with 3 years ago with the TV not working. Just disappointing since we felt in the last we have had great experiences here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at The Homewood Suites prior to a cruise. We arrived at the airport and as we were waiting for our luggage, I called the hotel to ask about the shuttle. They said it was en route. By the time we got our bags and walked outside- there he was, waiting for us! It was a big coach bus with a trailer. The driver dropped off at a few different hotels, but we were the first on his list.
Check in at the hotel went smoothly. Our room was 104, first floor. It was ok (not a fan of first floor rooms) except for the fact that there was an ice machine on the other side of the wall. It was pretty loud.
The room was very clean, smelled good and was comfortable. Check out went smoothly too. We purchased the transfer to the pier, aside from a little confusion, it went well.

As far as location goes- I am not sure what is in the area for restaurants. We met friends at the hotel who drove us around.

Breakfast was good. Waffles, premade omelett, cereal, bagles etc. We got to breakfast around 8am and shortly thereafter, it filled up. No place to sit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2IslandDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am giving this hotel a 1 rating even though the hotel itself was ok. It was clean and the room was huge.

However, I am livid over the customer service that is NOT provided at this hotel. We arrived by Tri-rail from the Palm Beach airport and I called the hotel to ask for the shuttle to come over across the street (it's a very busy road) and pick us up at Tri-rail. They have free shuttle to and from the airport, but the Tri-rail is much closer and across a very busy 4-lane highway. We were told they would not send a shuttle and to just walk across the street. So, we ended up risking our lives to cross this busy roadway with 4 pieces of luggage. (There were no taxis at Tri-rail).

They checked us in right away, which was around 2:00pm. This was great. We asked the front desk clerk about their shuttle to the local restaurants and to a grocery store nearby to grab some water & sodas. This is where is all goes to hell!

They use a shuttle service in Fort Lauderdale, this is NOT a hotel shuttle. We were advised to tell the driver to take us to Kmart after he picks us up from dinner. So, we did just that. We were told Kmart was close by & they would provide shuttle service to that store. The driver told us he had to drop us off at Marshalls, but it was in the same shopping center, so we could just walk down to Kmart. So, we said ok. Then, to walk back down to Marshalls when we call them to come pick us up again.

Well, when we arrived to the shopping area, I noticed Kmart across the street. The driver said he had to drop us off at Marshalls and we had to cross a very busy 4-lane highway (AGAIN!!), to get to Kmart. I asked him what how we were going to get back across to Marshalls with a case of water & three 12 packs of sodas. The idiot told us to steal a Kmart buggy and walk back across the street. WTH??? I told him he had to be kidding me! I also told him we would NOT be calling them back & that Hilton corporate would be getting a piece of my mind for them using such a crappy shuttle service. Their guests deserve much better service than that. Had we known that, we would have called a taxi--at least we would have been dropped off at Kmart. So, we had to risk our lives AGAIN to get over to Kmart and by now, we were beyond ticked off!!

So, once we were done, we called a taxi to come get us. Once we got back to the hotel, we spoke to the manager and a different front desk clerk. We told them everything and how ticked off we were about their terrible shuttle service. The manager did not care one bit & never even apologized, and yes, she was standing right there. The clerk said he was going to call the shuttle company and give us a call up to our room to find out what was going on. Needless to say, we never heard from him.

That's ok. We may be Hilton Honors members, but there are lots of other hotel chains out there and we will begin using them!!!

The breakfast was extremely lacking. Probably one of the worst of any Hilton hotels we've ever stayed in. There also was not enough tables and chairs to accommodate all of the hotel guests.

So, if you like terrible customer service, this hotel will be perfect for you. If not, I would recommend you choose another hotel in Fort Lauderdale. There are plenty of great ones there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marife l, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We're so sorry to hear about the shuttle service issues you experienced and appreciate that quickly brought them to our attention. We truly value all our guests and regret that we did not follow-up with you sooner. We'll be in contact with you shortly.

Kind regards,
Marife Lehrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The service for check was very long and after 3pm due lack of staff to clean rooms and help in serving guest. The internet in room did not work. My money was stolen from my purse in the Business office .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Over the last seven years I have stayed at many hotels in the Fort Lauderdale area and found Homewood suites on Griffin road to be my No.1 pick for the last four years. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable, the sheets and linen are always fresh and immaculately clean. The hotel management and staff are highly professional and go out of their way to meet your every need. Overall exceptional customer service you’d be hard pressed to find any fault here. A great find and a great stay...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.0 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 2061 Griffin Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33312-5912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range: £104 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport and Cruise Port with 124 studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites. All rooms have full kitchens with a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, dishwasher, microwave, toaste, 32" HDTV and channels. Offering complimentary transportation to/from Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, free high speed internet access, complimentary Suite Start Hot breakfast, Welcome Home Reception Monday-Thursday and 24 hour fitness center. We even have an outdoor heated swimming pool and putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing