We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wireless internet service was horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wireless internet service was horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you use/rely on the internet, this is not a place to stay. Trying to connect or stay connected was a constant source of frustration. Shuttle service is unreliable. Make sure you allow at least an hour if you have to be somewhere on time. Two of the people on our shuttle were SW Airline employees and they were late for their flight due to the shuttle service.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view. Try to get a room opposite the highway as the highway noise is bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONDAROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Hondarocks:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We have addressed the WIFI issues, additionally we recently doubled the bandwidth of our internet service. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 954 272 9796.

Sincerely,

Luis Arellano
Area General Manager
Hyatt Place and Hyatt House Dania Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    271
    86
    39
    11
See reviews for
324
239
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having stayed at 2 four star hotels in Fort Lauderdale this last month, we decided to try the Hyatt Place even though it was only listed as a 3 star. We were more than pleasantly surprised. The Hyatt Place was every bit equal to the more expensive four star hotels with three exceptions... 1- The Hyatt Place has FREE parking (whereas we paid $25 to $30 a night at the four star hotels), 2- The Hyatt Place has FREE breakfast, and 3- the Hyatt Place has a FREE airport shuttle. With years of hotel experiences behind us, I can confidently state the Hyatt Place was our most pleasant surprise and we recommend it unreservedly.
The location is "Dania" however it is just south of the FLL airport. We had our Alamo rental car so we didn't need the transportation. Adjacent to the Interstate, the rooms on the side of the Interstate can pick up some minimal traffic noise.
Transportation: In addition to the free airport shuttle, they have a free shuttle to nearby shopping and dining. They offer a cruise port shuttle for $10 per person (If you have more 3 or more people a taxi would be the either the same price or cheaper though).
They have one of the better Hot and Cold Breakfast Buffets and 24 hour coffee bar that serves Starbucks.
The pool is not as huge as the four star resort hotels. However, it is warm, and offers some fun for the kids. There is a limited but clean and very usable exercise room.
Please indicate if this review is helpful for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank drmark920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our family stayed here for one night prior to our cruise out of Port Everglades Ft Lauderdale.
We are frequent cruisers and have stayed at many cruise port hotels. In comparison this hotel was not good. I very rarely write a negative review as we are easy going travelers. However this experience was not good! We were traveling with two small children. As soon as we got our luggage i called them to send over the shuttle service to take us to the hotel. It was already close to 11pm and we were traveling with small children. They told us where to meet and that the shuttle would be there shortly. After waiting outside for over 30min we called again. We were told the shuttle will be right there. After another 20 min we called back. We were then told it would be about 10 more mintutes which would be around midnight! Eventually the shuttle arrived. We were not impressed with the horribly long wait so late at night, after traveling all day with small kids!!! Now on to the second issue. I knew that our flight would be arriving very late into fort Lauderdale. I called the hotel before our arrival explaining that we would be traveling with small children and arriving very late. I asked them to have the pull out couch open and prepared with blankets and pillows. Because I need to get my tired kids to bed immediately. They assured me they made a note on our reservation and that it would be ready. When we walked into the room it was not! We were not
happy! Overall, this hotel is very close to the airport and cruise terminal. Which makes it an excellent choice for cruisers flying in the day before. The rooms are clean and modern. The free breakfast is nice. Unfortunately the shuttle service really soured our experience at the hotel. While waiting for our shuttle we seen the Holiday Inn and Hilton shuttles coming every few minutes. One of those hotels may be a better choice for people needing free shuttle
service from airport to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VargaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear VargaTravels;

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, it will help in our staff training and ensure that other guests are not inconvenienced as you and your family was.

We apologize for the delay in picking you from the airport, as you were able to experience traffic in the area is quite congested, making it a bit more challenging to be timely. Our team strives to deliver the best lodging option in the Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port and exceed guest’s expectations.

We truly hope we can gain back your confidence and look forward to your next visit. Once again, we apologize for the incident.

Should you like to speak with us, please feel free to contact us at any time at 954 272 9796.


We look forward hearing from you.

Luis Arellano
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hyatt Place is the same where ever you go. Clean Comfy rooms and food available 24/7. Room was clean. There are NO rooms with a good view. So what ever view you get is just the same as everyone else. Morning front desk clerk was extremely busy doing paperwork and it seemed like I was bothering her to check out and get a printed receipt. However the check in clerks the night before was completely the opposite. Very friendly and nice and above board helpful.

Room Tip: Do not worry about getting a good view. This is a nice clean hotel for a short layover in Fort Laude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deweymikels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear eweymikels;


Thank you for sharing your experience about your last stay at our Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port.

We are so excited to hear that your stay was a perfect one. Our Team always strives to deliver excellent service and exceed guest’s expectations.

We look forward welcoming you and your family back during your next visit to the Fort Lauderdale area.

Please feel free to contact us at any time at 954 272 9796.

Our Best!

Luis Arellano
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights late Feb...prior to a cruise..great location. Walking distance to restaurants and Kmart. Hotel is new staff are great.. Pool area is noisy as your view is a highway on ramp..however service and price make the difference.. If you want more Florida feel because of highway noise stay at Hyatt House which is behind the Hyatt place

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank davejardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We really enjoy staying at the Hyatt and Hyatt Place brands. The Hyatt Place rooms are a nice size. On this visit before a cruise, we thought we had booked the other Hyatt Place that is closer to the port, but it's title was a bit misleading. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, although seemed a bit overwhelmed due to the crowds checking in and checking out. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cb628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that we were bumped from our flight, so we were comped this room and didn't pay out of pocket.

The room:
Very clean, well maintained, and laid out nicely. We had a king sized bed and a sitting area with a couch and desk. The shower was very clean, as were all surfaces in the room. The only complaint was that the air conditioner was a bit disruptive while we were sleeping as it was directly next to the bed and blowing on the person sleeping closest to it. Also, we didn't see any lotion in the room, which would've been nice on our touristy sunburned skin. Overall, it was very large, the TV was a nice flat screen HD tv on a swivel, the coffee machine was stocked, and the bed was nice.

The location:
Near the airport and a short cab ride to some good restaurants. We went to the Rustic Inn Crabhouse, which was about an $8 cab ride. The hotel also provides a shuttle schedule to different points of interest. We did not elect to go on the shuttle, but there was a schedule for going to the beach, shopping, or to the casino. That's a nice touch.

The Hotel:
The front desk doubles as a food counter and bar. The plus being that you can enjoy an adult beverage or 2 and then get a lava cake, but the downside being that the front desk personnel need to double as bartenders and lava-cake-warmers. This just means you might have to be patient and understanding that they have a lot to do, which apparently can be hard for rude people.

Pro-traveler-tip: don't be rude to people who are doing their jobs.

We did a fly-by of the pool, but didn't go in. The area looked nice. Same for fitness center. Looked nice, but nothing stood out.

The Staff:
In a word: SoNiceItHurts. Seriously, they were very nice, accommodating and helpful (because we had no luggage). They answered all our questions, called us a cab, warmed us a lava cake (lava cake is a running theme in this review) etc. Special shout-out to Robert, who was extra amazing.

Food:
The continental breakfast was surprisingly good and I don't typically like hotel breakfasts. Bacon was crispy, waffles had a nice vanilla type flavor, and the coffee was starbucks. We ate ours outside and it was lovely.

Overall:
I didn't pay for the hotel or choose it myself, but I can say that it was clean, had nice amenities, and a really great staff. The shuttle trips are a nice touch as well and breakfast was actually pretty good for a hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
0.0 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/South Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Address: 91 SW 18th Ave, Dania Beach, FL 33004-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dania Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport-South is located south of the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port and the Broward County Convention Center, each just an I-95 exit away. The hotel features spacious guestrooms with Hyatt Grand Bed™ and 42" flat panel HDTV. Additional amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi throughout hotel, complimentary breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, 24/7 Guest Kitchen serves snacks/entrees, Intimate Bakery Café, business center, complimentary parking and complimentary airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale Airport South Hotel Dania Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing