We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and nicely decorated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was here one night before moving to a "nicer" hotel for a business conference. This Holiday Inn Express was better than the more expensive hotel I went to next! Very pleasant and helpful staff and a clean and cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We selected this hotel before it opened in Nov of 2013 for one night pre-cruise because of it's location from the airport and the port. Then we did a street view online. Yes, we should have done that before we booked it but I'm glad we didn't. We would have missed a high point of our trip (read on). The street view still had the previous motel (which was demolished for the new HIE). The neighborhood looked somewhat run down.

Once it opened opened we began reading reviews. For those who reviewed it unfavorably, we did not have the same experience. The neighborhood is older but we could see where the city was working to improve it.

After getting our bags at the airport we called the hotel. They told us where to go to meet the shuttle. It was the same place we've waited on previous trips for other hotels. What was nice was that there was a gentleman there assisting travelers waiting for their shuttles. When we asked which HIE shuttle to take he said he'd let us know when it arrived. We waited about 15 minutes and he alerted us that our shuttle was approaching.

Upon arrival to the property we checked in quickly and purchased their shuttle to the port in the morning ($8 per person). Great staff! We found the room clean and modern with a flat screen TV. There was a mini fridge, micro and coffee maker. A hair dryer was in the bathroom

We checked out the pool and fitness room (both were small) then decided to get something to eat. It was about 3:30 pm and felt safe to walk. There were many antique shops and galleries.

We'd read reviews about the Tuscany Caffe & decided to take a walk to it. This is the high point mentioned earlier. It is a very small restaurant with low key decor. Not too impressive but do not let that prevent you from staying! You must try the lobster ravioli. This is real Italian food that you should not miss. If you come later you may need a reservation.

Afterward we walked to Jaxson's for ice cream as that spot got rave reviews too. The line for window service was long and even longer to eat inside so we decided to walk back to the hotel.

The bedding was nice and we slept great. The shower had good pressure and they supplied the shampoo, conditioner & lotion. Breakfast was standard HIE fare and of course the warm cinnamon buns were irresistible. The shuttle was quick to the port.

All of the staff where pleasant & helpful. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOVERNITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The young lady who works the front desk was exceptionally nice and you could tell she was truly a good person. Her name is Priscilla B. I only hope all of my future stays have a person of this quality to provide service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triplecranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed one night because this hotel is VERY close to the airport (word of warning: lots of highway construction going on around airport right now, so your GPS may not take you in the right direction). Six floors, so higher rooms (we were on 6th) are very sunny. This is a newer hotel with typical hotel rooms, but the décor is very nice. Everything new including shower with sliding door (not one of those awful replacement showers with the bowed curtain and the high step up). Very clean, very quiet. Quiet for a reason, however -- there's not much going on in this neighborhood which is very old, full of antique (or junk -- your call) stores and true strip malls (half the storefronts are vacant). Finding a restaurant is not easy, but the hotel offers shuttle service to Kiki's Bar & Grill (in the Crowne Plaza, I believe) which we did not use so don't know how the back & forth works. We found a nice restaurant a few blocks from the hotel - easy walking distance, but we still drove because there seems to be a men's half way house (lots of younger men milling about and sitting on picnic tables, but they never leave the yard or front sidewalk) and that made us a little uncomfortable. There are no bars, no Starbucks, but there's a bakery (Grandpa's) down the main drag a few blocks if you want a better breakfast. And you may want a better breakfast as this is the typical, "free" hotel breakfast: scrambled "eggs", rounds of sausage (?), gray gravy, biscuits, pancake maker, juice, coffee, tea, apples, bananas, oranges, yogurts, and day old hardboiled eggs. Only slip up I noticed was that the woman handling breakfast appeared once in 30 minutes and when the hot water ran out, she was no where to be found. Staying here is a pleasure, but plan to drive for dining, beach, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoscoePound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks so much for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will share all your comments and suggestions with our entire staff. Please come back to visit when visiting Ft Lauderdale, or going on a cruise. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good and helpful staff. Genuinely helpful for getting around the place - cabs, ideas for sight seeing etc.
A big thank you to Ms.Katiana - she was wonderful and helpful.
Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is just hot and fine.

Most important in a place like Florida if you are coming for the first time, you need a good hotel - clean and new, good wifi connection for internet, good transport connectivity to the city and helpful hotel staff - this place has all of it.

Price is reasonable too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thanks so much for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will share all your comments and suggestions with our entire staff. Please come back to visit when visiting Ft Lauderdale, or going on a cruise. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed one night before our cruise and were surprised at how new the hotel was. Very clean and comfortable. Offered transfers from FLL and a hot breakfast. Area is a little run down and the train tracks next door can be noisy at times. This is a great place for a one night stay before a cruise as it is close to both the airport and cruise port.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conlontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

First, while new and clean this hotel is not located in a desirable location. The surrounding are is rundown, and the hotel is located right next to railroad tracks. Trains run regularly on these tracks and there is noise in the rooms from them. There are no restaurants in close walking distance.

My wife and I checked in on March 2nd, 2014 and were getting 3 free nights with our priority club points. Upon check-in there was no recognition as a platinum member, nor bottle of water,etc given as is customary. The following day we observed other couples receiving these standard gratuities for platinum members.

Once in our room my wife and I were unable to access the internet. I called the front desk twice for help and was repeatedly told I needed to agree to the 'terms of service". I advised them this was not the problem, the internet wasn't letting one get that far in the connection process. Finally I went to the lobby where a young man (staff) understood the problem and went into a back room to do something to the system. This worked immediately, but it was nonetheless frustrating having the first two staff (females) repeatedly tell me I was doing something wrong. Apparently telling customers they aren't agreeing to the "terms of service" is the hotel's go-to excuse for when their wi-fi is down. Nor were the staff particularly friendly.

The room itself was new, comfortable and clean. Sadly, that isn't enough when a hotel is in a poor location with subpar staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank master_angler_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your comments. Sorry that we fell below your expectations. We do strive to be the best in the area. We wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,143 reviews
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South

Address: 205 N Federal Hwy, Dania Beach, FL 33004-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Price Range: £99 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new hotel will be opening in July 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing