We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed - I knew they were sold out - didn't they?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Dania Beach at Fort Lauderdale Airport
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Dania Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked a one night reward for the night before a cruise out of Fort Lauderdale. stayed in November but knew in MARCH that the hotel was sold out so expected a crowd. When we arrived 3 hours late due to a mechanical delay - we called for the airport shuttle. 3 of us as well as another couple waited over 45 minutes - and 3 calls later - for the shuttle to bring us to the hotel. When we arrived, check in was surprisingly fast at SPG gold line. We went to our room to relax for a few minutes and then headed downstairs for a bite to eat. Despite less than 1/3 of the Fire Island Grilles tables being filled, there was over a 20 minute wait. I questioned this and appears that there was not enough staff to wait the tables - one table told me they were frustrated as waited over 20 minutes for drink orders to be taken. We found a table in the crowded Lobby Lounge and had a most lovely waitress. Poor thing was being run ragged due to the pre-cruise malt shop crowds that had a pre cruise function there. Not the cruisers fault mind you, there was just a very apparent shortage of staff. Ordered chicken fingers for my son, a burger and wings - over 1 hour to get the food! Wings were cold as were the chicken fingers but since it was after 9pm at this point, ate and went to bed. Rooms fine and typical SPG quality. The next morning resulted in over a 40 minute wait for a shuttle, the hotel staff being unable to accommodate us and tried calling a taxi for over 20 minutes to no avail. They finally gave us a 'private' shuttle that had been waiting around - he was a great guy from Peru and saved our day - we were off to the ship!
I am not one to complain but I don't understand how a hotel does not adequately staff their hotel when they KNOW that there are large crowds coming in. The staff there was working their tails off and felt bad complaining as we knew it was not her fault. It was a three ring circus for the one night we needed to stay there...I would not do it again even if it was another free stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our time at this hotel was very short but it was very clean and the staff was wonderful! The shuttle driver from the airport was great. And the lady at the front desk was very sweet. Great prices for this hotel are out there if you look around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here overnight prior to a cruise. Lobby was very impressive, as was the free shuttle that took us to a restaurant and picked us up. Airport shuttle was free, but they charged $10 pp for the shuttle to the cruise port. We later found that a cab is about $15, so, there being 3 of us, the cab would have been half price. We were disappointed in the room, in that there was no microwave or refrigerator. Also, the only shelf space in the bathroom was an 18" x 18" wooden shelf that looked to be 40 years old. Beds were okay. They have a captive audience for breakfast. No where else to go within walking distance and the buffet was $14.95; far less expensive than if you order ala carte, but this is to be expected at a hotel of this caliber. We would possibly stay here again, but would look at newer properties with more amenities. Overall, our stay was okay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very convenient hotel to the airport and a great place to overnight.

Pros:
Great atmosphere
Love the little bar area
Platinums can choose free parking as their amenity
Used a suite night upgrade to get into one of the massive suites
Overall, beautiful hotel that is close to the airport and not far from the beach
Breakfast amenity is decent

Cons:
Food is pricey
Parking is expensive if you have to pay
Hotel is a popular spot for cruisers and events - so it will probably be pretty busy during your stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the 4 bi-level suites. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chadmzimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel overall is a great hotel for staying over if you are flying in and out of the airport. The food is good but very expensive. The rooms for the disabled are very disappointing. They are small for a wheelchair and are not designed vary well for the disabled. The furniture in the rooms is old worn and dated. Walt the bell hop and shuttle driver was excellent at his job. All of the staff are very helpful and professional,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfromoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I picked this place because it was close to the port and the hotel offered a shuttle service to the port. I'm sure other hotels offer this service so my fault for not checking. During check in, the front desk staff was very professional and offered valuable hotel information. No free wifi but I was told that internet access was offered in the lobby. About eight computers to choose from; I tried three before I got one to work. Also, there is nothing special about the room either. I almost forgot, I asked the front desk person if I could cash a $100 USPS Money Order and was told NO!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Globe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My business partner and I were in the Fort Lauderdale area for the CruiseWorld 2013 conference for travel agents. We decided to stay in various Starwood Properties in the Gold Coast area (Fort Lauderdale and south to Miami) in order to better serve our clients who cruise out of this major port area for vacation cruising.

This hotel particularly interested us because of its location next to the Fort Lauderdale airport, proximity to the cruise port (Port Everglades), and its boasting of a free shuttle. Because we had a rental car, we did not employ the free shuttle; however, we were told it runs every half hour.

We were warmly received by hotel staff. At check-in were offered a menu of 4 options from which to choose as a member of SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest). We opted for the free-parking option, which would have been $15 if we had not. Other options ranged from a free cocktail, or free wi-fi.

This is your standard Sheraton hotel, in my opinion--clean and comfortable. Good service. Nothing spectacular. This is a great hotel for those who are business travelers or those just looking to make a connection to the cruise port. It has a nice pool with many chairs, as well as an in-hotel restaurant and bar, which had decent/so-so food at reasonable prices.

Even though there are many hotels in the area, I would stay at this hotel again as it met my satisfaction and suited my trip requirements.

Room Tip: One side of hotel faces the airport, and the other side faces the pool and a business complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelAgentBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dania Beach at Fort Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dania Beach at Fort Lauderdale Airport

Address: 1825 Griffin Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33004-2213 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range: £49 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Meridien Dania Beach at Fort Lauderdale Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Dania Beach at Fort Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port
Sheraton Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sheraton
Dania Sheraton
Sheraton Ft Lauderdale Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing