We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoundingly poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were amazed at the lack of attention to detail. After being checked in for the third time we finally got to a 'less than clean' room. We got into a room with no towels. Coffee maker with no cups. Broken furniture. And the worst things were the other complaints we heard while in the elevators, at the front desk and while eating dinner. It wasn't just us. The manager did comp us breakfast for two. ( opens at 0600). We told him we were leaving at 0500! After a few minutes he realized it, and took 30 bucks off the bill.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddio461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFA1825, General Manager at Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We are in receipt of your comments and would like to thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback. As a guest at the Sheraton we value your comments. We have taken note of your experience and the areas you have mentioned have been addressed the leaders of the hotel. Please know there is no excuse for shortfall in standards. Please accept my most sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations. Once again thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated!

Best Regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Took a drive from Atlanta to South Florida, via an overnight in Tampa and Fort Lauderdale.

We took a risk because this was a holiday weekend and I know as someone from South Florida that the cars and the hotels can get expensive. With our relatives having other relatives already staying with them, we wanted our own space. As we approached South Florida, my wife starting using the various apps on our phones from Tripadvisor to Hotels Tonight to hunt down hotels. There was availability, but the rates were ridiculous ($180 to $339 per night) for good locations in both Miami and Ft Lauderdale metro areas. One app revealed the Sheraton Ft Lauderdale Airport at around $100. The other apps had it much higher. We locked in the room reservation and got to the front desk before they even knew they had a reservation in their system for us. That was kind of funny! But they found the reservations.

The hotel is so close to FLL airport, that there is a smaller Griffin Road access road to the airport just down the street from the hotel. Yes, they have shuttle service to the airport.

It is about a block away from I-95 and about 30 minutes from downtown Miami (not including rush hour). The cruise port is about 10 minutes away and downtown Ft Lauderdale is about 15 minutes away. All measured by using a car, of course. There are no restaurants of value close by. However, across the expressway is a restaurant attached to the Bass Pro Shops called, "Islamorada". The seafood there is very good. A little bit further away is the Rustic Inn Crabhouse. That restaurant is always full. Oh yes, the hotel is 15 minutes from the beach.

Outside Appearance and Parking Lot:
It is basically a white building with a large parking lot, than can get quite full, because it also is used as a park and ride for the airport, it seems. There is a $15 per day in and out as much as you like charge, that will be added to your room at check-out. Don't like parking fees, but remembering hotels in downtown San Fran wanted to charge $60 a day (we stayed near the airport instead), I let this one go.

Lobby and Staff:
The lobby was not ornate, but it was upscale and it was definitely setup for business operation. The desk staff was courteous and they made you feel welcome.

They gave us a decent size room with a large comfortable looking queen bed. It was a earthen, light brown tone and there wasn't much artwork on the walls. However, the furnishings looked like they were very well maintained and the carpet was okay, although there was a small stain or two.

The Bathroom: Was a little small, but fine for two people and there were no maintenance issues that I could see.

The Wifi: Well, that was an issue for me. Because I hate to pay for wi-fi, so I was not able to use my iPad

The best part: Well, that bed that I said looked comfortable. Well, it was absolutely fantastic. Usually I am not warm enough, or I am too cold or I don't feel the bed cuddling me enough. I always have an issue getting used to strange beds, but this one just sucked you in surrounded you with comfort and floated me right off to dream paradise. In fact, it was so comfortable, that I left my wife in the hotel enjoying it while I ran around finishing the last few pieces of business that I had to do before heading back in Atlanta's direction.

I don't like paying more than $75 for any hotels and you get spoiled when some of the websites get you four-star hotels for about $60, so often. However, I do realize the economics of holiday rates in South Florida (well, except for $535 rental cars for just 3 days).

So based on that premise and with so many lesser hotels were running more than $200, I think this was a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stay here for 1 night just to meet the 50th night to maintain platinum status. It is 10 miles from my client. There are other hotels with one mile

Older hotel. Did not get upgraded except to the club floor. Room is small, for one nigh, it is fine. Parking is $15. A lot of guess are going to the cruise and there is shuffle that takes your there.

I get free breakfast at the club lounge. It was pretty good especially the scrambled eggs.
I only stay enough nights to maintain platinum so that I can get the upgrade and other benefits in Asia. Almost every hotels I stayed were excellent.

I get free wifi, otherwise you may have to pay. It was pretty slow.

An OK hotel for business traveler, don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed Christmas night prior to a cruise. The airport shuttle is disorganized. The signs tell you to line up outside of baggage claim. The operator at the hotel told us to go upstairs. We were finally picked up outside of baggage claim. The hotel itself is a bit dated. The room had a standard small bathroom. Everything was clean and the bed was fine with nice linens. The place is fine for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atstpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Cheerful, clean, welcoming rooms with friendly staff and reliable airport shuttle make this a good stopover point for air and cruise travel. I do not agree with the negative reviews about this hotel, and I am hard to please.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were greeted by an efficient, kind desk staff. We arrived early from our cruise ship, so our room was not available. We were directed to the breakfast room (14.95 buffet) or to the computer kiosk and were told they would have housekeeping ready our room ASAP. True to their word, we were checked in within the hour.

We had a delicious lunch in the lobby bar/restaurant (service was very friendly, but a little slow). We tried the pool and spa -tiny, threadbare towels, but a nice area with tables, chairs and lounge chairs. The jets in the spa weren't working, but it was otherwise fine.

Room service dinner was also good and reasonably priced. No fridge or microwave in room. Air conditioning was okay, but the window didn't open, so it was a little stuffy and despite the non-smoking policy, the room had an odor of stale cigarette smoke.

The big plus for this site is the service. The bellman (Chris) was outstanding, making sure we had everything we needed. He put our bags on the racks provided and even offered to fill our ice bucket. Later in the day he saw us in the lobby and mentioned he noticed I was having difficulty getting around. He mentioned they had a wheel chair and offered to get it for me at that time or later if I needed a little assistance to help me get around. Very kind.

We made use of the airport shuttle the next day, also very kind and helpful. I would put this hotel at the top of my Miami/Ft. Lauderdale list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teri1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff was very friendly on my brief trip. The lobby was very nice though also under construction.

The rooms had seemingly newer bedding and TVs. The flooring was uneven with older carpet placed on top. I was placed in a handicapped room with a large bathroom/shower combination. The sink is free standing thus has no counter to place anything on and the only area to place anything was across the large bathroom in the toilet area. Making it difficult to get ready in the morning. There was not a mirror over the desk unit so it was not possible to get ready over there either. There was, however, a full length mirror beside the desk just against the corner of the room, though I had no room to pull up a chair there.

The rooms further down the corridor are free from hotel noise however receive a lot of noise from I-95.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank SirinKiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#41 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Address: 1825 Griffin Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33004-2213
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range: £52 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport And Cruise Port
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Sheraton Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sheraton
Dania Sheraton
Sheraton Ft Lauderdale Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing