We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place for a precruise stay-could use some cleaning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Ok place for a precruise stay-could use some cleaning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I went here knowing that I had previously read a lot of reviews about them remodeling the hotel. So, I did not set my expectations too high. However, we have stayed at another Springhill (in NOLA) and from the looks of the pictures they had online, the rooms were exactly the same. So, at least I knew what to expect from the room. Since we had previously stayed at a Sprinhill Suite, they gave us a goodie bag with water for everyone, pretzels and oreos.


The hotel was in a decent area and not far from FLL airport. The hotel was on a main street with plenty of food and shopping within walking distance. This was an added plus since we didn't have a car.

The hotel itself was being remodeled, but I believe a majority of it was done. We did not see anyone working on it (or hear anything) while we were there. But, it was obvious because you could see that a wall needed painting by the elevators. We didn't have any issues with the elevators not working as I had read other reviews stating.

The hotel had a huge lobby and dining area with plenty of seating. There was also an area with computers (2 of them) that you could use to get online if you didn't bring your own.

The room consisted of a bathroom with a separate mirror/sink area. There was a "living room" with a small wall between it and the "bedroom". The couch pulled out into another bed for additional guest. There was another small area off to the side that had a desk for you computer, a sink, a frige and a microwave. Very nice if you were to be staying longer than 1 night.

We found the rooms clean and no issues. The hotel grounds could use some cleaning. We seen cigarettes all over the place, even beside the ashtrays...they were in the mulch, the sidewalk, the parking lots...just everywhere and we never seen anyone cleaning up.

The pool...well, this area "could" be a nice area if cleaned up and taken care of more. The pool is a nice size and had 2 lifts for the handicap. However, the pool itself wasn't very clean. It has a cute little waterfall (with lights in it at night) that flows over into the pool. In that same area, there's a shelf ledge that is not very deep, which makes it nice for little ones. There's a hot tub...which was ice cold and actually colder than the pool itself. :( It was extremely dirty. They have a pool hut where you can get pool towels while you are out there. There wasn't anyone there and it was kind of a help yourself type of thing. The patio around the pool was a nice size with plenty of tables and chairs, but the area itself was not very clean. Once again, cigarette butts everywhere along with trash. The chairs are really worn, rusted and missing parts. Like I said, this place could be really nice if they just gave it a little TLC.

Inside by the customer service, they have a mini store with drinks and snacks. Although it was not very stocked when we were there. They only had diet soda (in Mt Dew only) and other off brands. No Pepsi or Coke products at the time. The staff said they were waiting on their delivery.

The breakfast in the morning was a hot buffet with eggs, sausage and so on. They do have a waffle maker and you can make your own waffles and they were pretty good.

The staff was friendly and when my daughter left something in the room, they quickly made her a key to let her go back up and grab it (this was after we had checked out and was waiting in the lounge for our driver to the cruise port).

So final thoughts, hotel ok, location is great, service was great, remodeling is coming along, food was ok and an extra added touch to save on money. The pool and the grounds wasn't the greatest, but has a lot of good potential if they just cleaned it up. For a 1 night precruise stay, I would recommend it if you can get a good deal on it. (We got our room for less than $100).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitsugirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springhill-99, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very happy you were satisfied with your experience. I hope that the next time you're in town to take a cruise, your consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Daybel Encinas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    304
    181
    68
    29
See reviews for
338
201
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent hotel for a pre cruise stay. Location was excellent and it was very quiet in spite of being next to I 95. Price was over the top for march season. We paid approximately 210. A recent check on Expedia showed a July stay in the same hotel going for $99. Only complaint was that it is more worn than I think a hotel should be for that price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear chuck l,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. I'm very happy you enjoyed the convenience of our location. I apologize for the somewhat worn condition of the property, but if your stay was in March as I take it by reading your comment, you stayed with us just before our rooms refresh. I expect that should you choose to stay with us on your next visit, you'll be pleasantly surprised by what we've done to the hotel.

Thanks again,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here two nights pre cruise the end of May. Called for the airport shuttle and it took about 25 minutes no problem. Check in was fast and easy. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Room was ok. It was not bad but seemed a bit small and the set up was a bit strange. It was comfortable and clean. Renovations still going on but it did not bother us at all.
Breakfast was fine with an ok selection of hot and cold items. The ladies working the breakfast area do a great job. Be sure to try the warm blueberry muffins! No issues.

Decent location you can walk to shopping and eating. There are several locations nearby to do both.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENLAUBRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear RENLAUBRI,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and staff. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I sincerely hope you'll consider booking with us again the next time you're in the area.

Happy Cruising!

Sincerely,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Old building, smells of plastic and paint, relaxed staff. Plastic dishes at primitive breakfast. I had brocken room door locks twice. Unsecured parking. Just 2 washing mashines for the whole hotel and you have to use it by your own. And two times within 2 days i had somebody entered my room w/o knocking in the night...

Very suprising taking into account Marriott brand and relatively high rating of the hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank erc2005ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear erc2005ster,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that you had such a negative experience with the team and facility here and I hope your stay here will have no bearing on future decisions to stay with other Marriott hotels.

Sincerely,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice clean rooms, helpful staff and hot breakfast. It was the perfect place for our pre-cruise stay. Complimentary shuttle from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the cruise port. The hotel is with walking distance of several fast food restaurants. If you feel like walking farther there are more restaurants and a shopping center. Skip Kmart and buy your wine at the gas station. Kmart had a good selection but the slowest staff ever. Took over 1/2 hour to check out! Nice pool at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Laura W,

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel and our staff. I'm absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope you had a fantastic time on your cruise. I hope your time at our hotel only enhanced the experience for you.

Please think about us the next time you're in town and we hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this Springhill Suites between airport arrival and cruise departure. Once again we had a free shuttle from the airport...with a friendly driver. Our room/suite was on a upper floor as we requested and although the hotel was busy, it was nice and quiet. The linens were nice
enough and the bed was very comfortable. The lighting was good for reading and there was a flat screen TV.
The complimentary breakfast was tasty and the coffee was good! The location of the hotel is set back with tropical vegetation. There is a Burger King and Chipotle very nearby and a shopping center is across the street.
Even though most of the guests were also cruise passengers,
our complimentary shuttle to the ship was smooth and timely.
We would choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goneagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Goneagain,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm delighted that you decided to stay with us again and I hope you'll consider us in the future. I'm also very happy that your experience with our shuttle service was enjoyable and problem-free.

Safe Travels,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After a few days from South Beach, we stayed here for a night. We felt really relaxed here. It is close to the main highway but it is a very quiet property with great amenities. Very close to the shopping mall. Just walking distance to shops and restaurants. Spacious room with a little kitchen, great outdoor pool, wonderful staff especially those serving breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESJB1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ESJB1718,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Thanks especially for your kind words regarding our staff. I will share your review with the team. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and found it relaxing. Please consider our hotel for your next visit to the area and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dania Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
0.1 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport-Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Property: SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Address: 151 SW 18th Ct, Dania Beach, FL 33004-3102 (Formerly Springhill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, non-smoking Marriott hotel offering large spacious work space and sleeping area with pull-out sofa, microwave, refrigerator and microwave. Perfect location for a pre-cruise stay, layovers, long-term stay or a quick getaway. The hotel is convenient to all major highways, beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment. Includes scheduled transportation to/from Fort Lauderdale Airport. Complimentary transportation to Port Everglades is available upon request. Return transportation from the cruise port is also provided for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel Dania Beach
Springhill Suites Dania Beach
Dania Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing