We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but I do understand other reviewers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Club Resort and Spa
Reviewed 29 March 2006

I don't know what some of the other reviewers have rented, so I won't comment on that. BUT, what we rented was great. We rented from a private party, actually off _bay. Our 3 bedroom townhome was clean and well stocked. BUT...if we drove into the complex(because we were on the 1st road to the right) we could see unkept homes. But ours was nice and clean, well kept and updated. The pool and clubhouse are another subject though. The pool was very clean, though not heated at all. The spa wasn't running either. The clubhouse was closed, bar closed and didn't appear to be opening anytime soon.
We stayed 2 weeks and the price was too good to pass up. The location is so close to everything but far enough away to be quiet.
We didn't see any bugs or rodants. We did see dead plants and garbage.
All in all, if the pool was heated, we would rent again. But definetly from where I rented and not their from office.
I do have photos of our townhome if you want to see them, email me.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicki61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 227 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
119
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We rented a condo here for our Disney vacation and were led to believe that the negative comments we read here were false. Driving into the resort it was evident we should of trusted our instinct. The place looks like a rundown housing project. It's dirty and construction was going on right across the road. We were extremely disgusted and disappointed. There's was no way we were staying there especially with children. Luckily we were able to find another place quickly but will probably not get our money back. Believe all the negative comments you read here...

Stayed: February 2006
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Just returned from Island Club West. Rooms were large and clean. The kitchen was well equiped and it was easy to handle a large family. Shopping is close by, Wal-Mart just down the road. Disney is a very short ride but it is nice and quiet at the townhouse. It was quite busy there for this time of year. Cold mornings but it warmed up nice in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Big bugs inside, dirty like a building site.
Our travel agent stopped selling this places after lot of complaning from travellers.

Florida lover

Stayed: April 2003
14  Thank Bhauks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sarasota, Florida
120
Reviewed 24 August 2005

The review posted on August 15 is right on the money. We decided to stay a few days near Disney before the kids went back to school. This place looked nice on the travel sites and the price was right so we decided to give it a try. We had a miserable time. The walls are paperthin so you can hear every word and noice from the guests in the adjoining units. There were plenty of bugs and management was extremely uncooperative.

We did not find out about Trip Advisor until after our stay. I wish we had found out about the site earlier. Do yourselves a favor and read many pages of reviews before you book your stay here. It is extremely suspicious that after each negative review there are several glowing reviews. I also find it suspicious that there are over 400 reviews for this place when there are only 20-30 reviews posted for most other hotels on this site. Please pay attention to the negative reviews and believe what they have to say.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2005

The apartments inside are beautiful! However, ants upstairs in the masterbath when we arrived. The outside of the apratments really need to be cleaned up for they look so run down and dirty. The view out our sliding glass doors and windows was tall grass/with dirt piles and two old run down trailers. The grounds surrounding the apartment and resort are full of ant mounds and bugs. Since we have children that are allergic to ants I had to be on stand by with the epi-pen jr. The pool was nice but ants all around it, ants were even at the edge of the jacuzzi, the wading pool had vomit in it that hadn't been cleaned out. The two restaurants were closed (one for remodeling and the other had just been sold to another person/company). The tiki bar only open weekends during the evening and nights only. Everyone that worked at the Island Hideaway lived at the resort. Yes I'd say we got what we paid for and next time I will pay the extra $20-$30 to keep our children safe and to have a better environment for our children. We were disappointed when we got there and just saw the place, if we wouldn't have already paid (would've been charged $95 to cancel) we would have went somewhere else!! It was to be a surprise for my husband home for R&R from Iraq so he could just enjoy and have fun with the 5 kids. Well I feel I let him and the kids down with this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sharonwR308QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2005

We have traveled to Orlando a few times a year for the past 20 years. Now when our family and grandchildren come along, we stay in larger accommodations. Island Club West fit the bill. The unit we stayed in was managed by Resort Quest. It was as clean as it could be. It was decorated
in a Florida way - nice and bright. There were NO bugs. The rooms were spacious. The master bedroom and bath were quite nice. The soaps and shampoos provide were as nice as any other place. The washer and dryer were quite convenient. It wasn't perfect but what accomodations are unless you go to a five star resort, and we had minor problems at one of those on one occasion. If there were any problems, we were informed to call Resort Quest directly. The maintenance men on site had nothing to do with our accomodations. The pool was fine and large. The baby pool was perfect for little ones. The Tiki Bar was open. It was very close to everything. It's not the Ritz but for the price we were satisfied that we all had plenty of space in a decent resort. (The gym is VERY nice.)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CINMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davenport hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
#2 of 13 in Davenport
2,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Piazza Condominiums
Bella Piazza Condominiums
#5 of 13 in Davenport
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
1.5 mi away
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Maingate South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club Resort and Spa

Address: 3100 Sand Mine Rd, Davenport, FL 33897-5496 (Formerly Island Hideaway)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Davenport
Price Range: £26 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Resort and Spa is the perfect position to provide access to every bit of excitement and action Orlando has to offer. Its secluded setting offers a respite from the cares of the world. It is a country club vacation home with every comfort taken into consideration. From the secluded feeling that lets you forget your worries upon arrival on the resort property, to the spaciousness of your villa you will experience total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Club Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Hotel Davenport
Island Hotel Davenport
Island Club Resort And Spa Florida/Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing