We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll never stop going back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I'll never stop going back”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I have stayed here 8 times, and have never had a bad experience. The site is lovely, well maintained and has something for everyone. The site is spread out and there are so many pools, which means they aren't overcrowded. The staff are always pleasant and willing to help. There is a gym, small shop, photography studio, use of computers and the parks, malls and stores are all nearby. We usually drive to the nearest wal mart (about 5-10 mins away) and buy our food there. A brilliant place. We started staying here when it was first opened and it has remained as friendly and lovely since.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G5985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    592
    212
    127
    96
See reviews for
1,487
209
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at Bahama Resort twice previously so I suppose I can say we like it there! The location is great, near enough to get to most of the theme parks but not smack bang near all the crowds!

The resort is beautifully kept, pools are lovely, wildlife is a delight and the staff are friendly.

All the condos we have stayed in have been spacious, clean, well kept, tastefully furnished and the beds are what can I say ... cloud like!! Plenty of towels and cutlery, plates and pan are sufficient.

You have access to free dvd rentals which is great as you can stick one on at night when you are exhausted from your days at the theme parks however I think they need to update some of them as they were in there when we first went in 2011!

We have ate in the Tradewinds restaraunt which was really nice.

There is security on the resort so you feel really safe plus there are fixed steel barbecues available to use, we didn't use them but plenty of families did.

We love it here and when we come back I cant ever imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The accommodation is superb. Huge, clean, decently appointed. Some in our group were in units not yet remodeled, but ours was excellent. If you're looking for a "resort" atmosphere, this may not be your ideal place. There was some mediocre live entertainment, but no one watching. The pools and pools areas are nice and clean, but average sized. Sandy game area (volleyball, pingpong etc) a nice addition. Some grills available as well. Bring fishing gear if you like to fish, the lake is big (although the dock is small).

Our Sprint cell service, and texting did not work in our unit. We had to step about 10 feet away from the building to make or receive calls and texts- kind of a bummer since we were with a group and trying to coordinate but my wi-fi did work in the room. SOmeone else in our party did not have wi-fi.

We did not have a chance to go to the buffet, which was only available on the weekend (maybe a summer thing?) But the food at Tradewinds (the only restaurant) was not so great. The advantage to staying here is that you have a kitchen and can prepare your own food. Otherwise, make sure and grab something on your way home. The deli sandwiches and wraps, made to order at Publix market, were fantastic. A long line, but worth the wait.

I don't think many people come to Orlando planning to stay at the resort the whole time. For use as a home base while visiting Orlando's attractions, the Bahama Bay is a great choice-far enough out to feel like a quiet respite after a long day, but still relatively convenient to parks and sites.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is remodeled. If wi-fi and cell phone reception are important, check for service bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmerc0656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2014 for 2 weeks in a 2 bed apartment - block 32
Followed the directions from the Bahamas Bay website which were excellent
The apartment was well equipped, there was a new TV in the living area & each bedroom, the kitchen had all the mod cons & a little welcome pack of washing up liquid, dishwasher powder, coffee - which was great before we managed to go shopping.
There are a number of pools, none of which seemed busy, there is a little man made beach with beach volleyball court near to the Tradewinds restaurant & bar. There was also a tennis/basketball court on site - disappointed that we could not use the court before 9am (when it was really too hot) due to the fact that there may be noise complaints from those staying nearby, but we would only have played once or twice so was no big deal
All the staff from the security guards, to the maintenance staff, to the guys on reception & the team in the restaurant/bar were friendly & always had time to say hello as a minimum
The resort is close to Disney and between 30-45 minutes from Universal dependant on traffic, with quite a few restaurants/diners within a reasonable drive time. As the apartment are privately owned, as other reviews state, it seems to be pot luck whether you get a refurbished apartment, but going on what we experienced, we would definitely return

A must do is the Texas Road House for fab steaks (on the 192)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Skibunny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at Bahama Bay with my family for the 2nd time in July/Aug 2013. Absolutely fantastic place - clean, spacious and excellent quality (apartment and grounds). Very attentive, friendly staff. Can thoroughly recommend the Gran Bahama (3 bed) and Andros (2 bed) apartment types. Never stayed in the other two types.
OK it's a 20 minute drive out from Disney, but if you stay nearer you'll get half the space and half the quality (or pay twice as much at Disney itself). Make time to explore the grounds and see the lake (just behind the Tradewinds restaurant).
We are going back again mid August this year (2014) - can't wait!

Room Tip: Near the clubhouse is good. That's where you'll find the shop, free PC access, Mambo's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks from 19th June 2014. Our first impression of the grounds and facilities were great, but we were so tired that we didn't really take much notice of the apartment. It was adequate but very tired.There were stains on the curtains,backs of doors,the shower door had been broken and replaced with an ill fitting shower curtain and even though we had blinds the curtains were not big enough for the windows so let all the light in. The balconies were not as advertised in the brochure and as a family of 4 we had to sit on 2 separate small balconies, which was not ideal. As the apartments are individually owned it is just luck of the draw if you get a good one, maybe they should consider having the apartments all of the same standard. Also think that if you are staying for 2 weeks they should provide a cleaning service!!
Our main grip was with the customer service of the Bar Man, he did not make us feel welcome at the bar and definitely did not try to engage us in conversation but still expected you to tip him after every drink we purchased. After a long day we would mainly eat in the Tradewinds restaurant and then sit at the bar until it closed (closes at 10pm very early!!) A good Barman would engage with his customers , get to know their names and make them feel welcome in his Bar but unfortunately this was not the case.
John the waiter was completely the opposite he was so friendly and wanted to know about you and what you had done that day with a friendly smile, maybe they should promote John to training all the staff in how to provide excellent customer services.
This is not a 4 star resort more like a 3 star.
On the positives we found the location fine about 40 mins from Universal depending on Traffic and the grounds were well maintained.
We have been to orlando many times and have never experienced poor customer service as we were so used to receiving excellent customer service before this was certainly a shock. Think some training is needed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor as very noisy on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at Bahama bay back end of June, finding it is fairly easy. Staff at check-in were friendly and didn't keep us waiting, nice map to show us the way to our very well appointed , lets call it a house. Second floor corner unit and it was immaculate,
The grounds are gorgeous and the pools are superb, bit disappointed that the one nearest our unit closed at dusk or 8ish, there were other pools but after a day at the parks they were quite a walk. The unit was spacious and well equipped clean and comfortable, never got to the trade winds for a meal but did have a drink or two in it and the bar at reception. Overall a great place to base yourselves, though there isn't much entertainment on site, bars and such are a short cab ride away, would I return? Most definitely loved it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
11.9 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
10.4 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 337 in Orlando
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
1.1 mi away
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando
Caribe Cove Resort Orlando
#17 of 152 in Kissimmee
1,011 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tuscana Resort Orlando by Aston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Property: Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Address: 400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33897-8322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Davenport is the beautiful Bahama Bay Resort and Spa. Just off the beaten path, Bahama Bay is a hidden gem amongst the theme parks. Take a stroll on one of the nature trails, go for a dip in one of the four pools, soak in the hot tub or play a game of tennis, the resort has everything whether you want to relax or be active. Your room has a fully stocked kitchen and a washer and dryer, saving you money on eating out and packing a heavy suitcase, as well as plenty of living space and a screened in patio to enjoy the Florida weather. With resort wide Wi-Fi, no parking fees, free DVD rentals in the lobby and a friendly staff on-site to help you with your every need, Bahama Bay Resort & Spa is where you want to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando Hotel Davenport
Bahama Bay Hotel Orlando
Bahama Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Davenport
Bahamas Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Resort Spa
Bahama Bay Orlando Resort
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando By Wyndham Vacation Rentals Florida/Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing