We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aura of suspicion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Maingate South
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Travelodge because we were exhausted and had missed all the older motels as we came down through central Florida. The manner and attitude of the desk clerk was most unfriendly. His body language said 'You are not welcome'. No mention of the pool. All information had to be extricated from him.
The allocated room was stuffy when we arrived . One of those cost cutting measures which immediately says we don't want late night arrivals. (So why have the front desk manned?)
Next impacting fact was the number of blown light bulbs. Three lights in the room did not work. We returned to reception ; where we were told they did not keep spares. If housekeeping do not check lights then surely front office needs to be prepared for such contingencies?

A redeeming factor was the bright and alert receptionist the next morning. He balanced front office and breakfast area duties pleasantly. We thank him.

Likelihood of a return - probably not until attitudes change.

Room Tip: Arrive before sunset when reception are not so spooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingkiwiOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

FlyingkiwiOamaru we are sorry that your welcome was not a pleasant one. I will remind our desk agents they are suppose to make all of our guests feel welcome when they arrive on the property and introduce them to all of the amenities. Our staff is available 24 hours a day should any room issues arise they will correct it immediately or offer you another room. Thank You for taking the time to share your visit and I hope you will give us another chance when visiting Davenport Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was previously America's Best Inn & Suites. We specifically asked for a non-smoking room because I'm highly sensitive to cigarette smoke. The first room we were brought to REAKED of smoke!!! The room was filthy too. We went back to the front desk and asked for a new room. They argued with us that the room they gave us was non-smoking and finally gave us a new room that also REAKED of smoke!!! We had a 16 hour flight delay and were now up for 24 hours so I was going to put up with the smoke smell but then inspected the room and found signs of BED BUGS!!!! We immediately packed up, had only been in the room for 3 minutes. We went to the front desk and requested our money back so we could rent a room somewhere else with higher standards. The front desk worker said we'd have to return tomorrow for a refund. We went down the street to the Holiday Inn express, that was 1000x better than this dump!!! We returned the following morning for our refund and the manager BEN TARVER REFUSED TO REFUND OUR MONEY!!! STAY CLEAR OF THIS HORRIBLY MANAGED AND DISGUSTINGLY KEPT HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Georgina V Thank you for taking the time to share your visit from December 2013 with the Trip Advisor Community. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our property was not a satisfactory one. Please note that our property is under new ownership as of June of this year. In December of 2013 however, our property maintained, as it does today, 100% smoke free rooms. Guests are allowed to smoke outside but not in the rooms. And our "pet friendly" rooms are designated rooms as to avoid issues with guests who may have allergy issues. In addition every room on the property has been totally renovated as you can read from our many reviews. We inspect and service our rooms daily and should any issues, such as bugs, arise they are taken care of immediately by our staff or contracted vendors. . I'm not quite sure what occurred in December of last year but I can assure you that our property is well maintained. Again, thank you for sharing your visit with the Trip Advisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel looks exactly like the pictures. Front desk is friendly, great customer service. I would definitely stay here again and recommend others to stay here. The bathroom could be a little bigger but otherwise it was in great shape and hot water stayed hot. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows. The pool could have been cleaner but still was able to swim. Also the game room was fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

TLykes we at Travelodge Davenport are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our new rooms with pillow-top mattresses makes for the perfect sleep. Thank you for sharing your concern about the pool. We are in the finishing touches of our property "makeover" and the pool resurfacing is next on the list. By Summer's end you will see a bright new exterior on our property to compliment the new rooms inside. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Central Florida Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights a few weeks ago. Room was clean, and recently renovated. I needed things printed several times, and Ben, the manager, very kindly printed them each time I needed it done. Breakfast was good; nothing too fancy, but fresh fruit, make-your-own waffle station, coffee, cereal, etc., which was a nice touch. Mattresses were a bit on the firm side for me, but otherwise fine. Cleanliness was excellent, and location was highly convenient to DisneyWorld, and Universal Studios.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eFAB716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

eFAB716 thanks for taking time to share your visit to Travelodge Davenport Florida with the Trip Advisor community. We are always happy to hear when a guest enjoys their stay. Our new pillow top beds may be a bit on the firm side as they are new but we will monitor that issue. Our "Bear Bites" breakfast is a great start to a day at the parks. Being located right at exit 55 of I-4, we are just 12 minutes to Disney and a few minutes more to Sea World and Universal. And Legoland is just down the road. We look forward to seeing you again at Travelodge Davenport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is located at the intersection of I-4 and U.S. Hwy 27. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The check-in and check-out processes were quick and easy. The room was neat, with updated interior decoration. Free breakfast was included with plenty of options for drinks and food. No fresh fruit, though. Although we put the sign for room cleaning outside the room every morning before we left, we could not get the room cleaned for 3 consecutive nights. The bedding sheet felt "itchy" on one of the beds. On the whole a great vacation experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybunkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina V W, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Maingate South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Ybunkwok Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at Travelodge Davenport with the Trip Advisor Community. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. One of the don sides to having an exterior property is that the "DND" signs get blown off the doors and then the housekeepers are not certain if your sign was DND or requesting service. I am happy that our desk staff could fulfill your room needs on those days that the housekeeping staff didn't attend to your room. Rest assured we are working on a solution to the signage issue. And I am also sorry you missed out on the fresh fruit at breakfast. It's usually the first to go each day. On your next visit we will be sure to set some aside just for you.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This Travelodge is located just north of Interstate Hwy. 4, along U.S. Hwy. 27 (about 7 miles from Disney World). We liked the neat, clean, and updated appearance of the lobby, grounds, pool area, and room. We liked the price (about $47.00, after tax). We liked the extensive, free breakfast, with waffle maker, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, etc. We liked the friendly and helpful staff. It is a typical, rather basic, but clean, Travelodge property. No complaints.

RJT

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Maingate South
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
#12 of 14 in Davenport
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Orlando - Maingate South
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
11.7 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Maingate South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Maingate South

Address: 44199 Highway 27, I-4, Exit 55, Davenport, FL 33897-4503 (Formerly Travelodge Davenport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Davenport
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Maingate South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
154 room exterior hotel with free FULL breakfast, game room and 24 hour guest laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn Maingate South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Davenport/Maingate s Hotel Davenport
Super Eight Davenport
Davenport Super Eight
Davenport Super 8
Quality Inn Maingate South Florida/Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing