We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home cooking away from home.”

Ally's Comfort Cafe
Ranked #4 of 252 Restaurants in Davie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home cooking away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were in Weston for a business function. After one dismal hotel brunch we started checking Trip Advisor for a local breakfast place. The reviews looked great so we decided to give it a try and we were not sorry. The special for the week was blackberry pancakes to die for. The omlettes were perfect. The service was very personal and top notch. We ended up going two mornings in a row. It is not fancy, just very well done. Thanks for giving us a great breakfast place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Today was our second visit for a late breakfast and it was even better than the first. Expect a 5 to 20 mintue wait on weekends as this seems to be a favorite of other locals as well. Located in a nondescript strip mall right off 136th and State Rd 84 the parking is plentiful and they have plenty of chairs outside while you wait. The servers are very attentive and friendly. The coffee is delicious and served in oversized mugs. The daily specials are worth your attention. Today we enjoyed Blackberry stuffed french toast and the chicken sausage fajita omelette. We added cheese to the omelette and it was amazing! The prices are comparable to other quality breakfast/lunch establishments. Not as cheap as most diners but still reasonable. The atmosphere is family friendly but best for groups of 4 or less. The decor is quirky and adds some fun. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeftLaneIsForPassing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Visiting the Weston area and happened upon this charming little place for a weekend breakfast/brunch. It serves breakfast, lunch and occasional Friday night dinners. The place was packed with locals, spilling out onto the walkway of this strip mall. The hostess takes names, the wait was a quick 15 min for a party of two. Seating is cramped but adequate if you don't mind sitting with your neighbors. Luckily, the friendly young woman next to us provided several tips regarding portion sizes and her personal faves. My husband enjoyed the full stack of made from scratch buttermilk pancakes, each the size of a dinner plate. I went with the Greek omelette with the creamiest grits ever and a toasted bagel. Needless to say, took home the leftovers to be enjoyed tomorrow. Would recommend and hope to return for lunch, menu looks great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service – Best Creamy Grits in South Florida”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It’s a small place in a strip mall adjacent to a Publix. We had 5 people and it was pretty tight. But what a nice place! The service was exceptional and the grits I had were the best ever. The homemade corn beef hash was very good too. My Mom had eggs Benedict and my sister and brother-in-law had pancakes that were enjoyable. Note they server matzah brei too, so don’t categorize them as only serving southern food such as grits. Next time I will stick to the main menu, their specials are hit and miss.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IWantTwoRetire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Come say Hi to Ally while your there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I love privately owned places. And when the owner works and cooks at the business, I like it even more.

Come to Ally's, she has a new pancake breakfast every week! So many awesome things to choose from!

Keeps me coming back! Reminds me of Snooze in Colorado! But better!

Helpful?
Thank Xcellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ally's Comfort Cafe also viewed

Davie, Broward County
 
Sunrise, Broward County
 

Been to Ally's Comfort Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing