We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lantern Pike Inn
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Glossop(Glossop)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$236
    US$208
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$95
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    US$61
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$43
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    US$63
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$143
    US$127
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Alma Lodge Hotel(Stockport)
    US$105
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$91
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (222)
    Filter reviews
    222 results
    Traveller rating
    101
    54
    30
    29
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    101
    54
    30
    29
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe pubmy partnersunday lunchpeak districtgreat foodopen firefour postershort staysteakbeautiful countrysidekinder scoutcooked breakfastpuddingstayed one nightenjoyable staywith some friendsfew weeks
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    124 - 129 of 222 reviews
    Reviewed 2 March 2014

    almost since Tom & Stella have been at the Lantern Pike about 8 years we have always come away most contented ,the ambience of the warm bar with two fireplaces going in winter ,and the locals chatting around the bar making you feel welcome ,to the food which to date we have never had a meal that we haven't said great food ,but the breakfast is a plate full if you can manage it after the evening meal the previous day . Cheers -and may you continue for many more years there.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank chris b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

    Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 March 2014

    Discovered this well located cosy inn by pure chance - decided to stop for Sunday lunch and were very pleased to have done so. We were lucky to get a table by the fire surrounded by a wonderful collection of original Coronation Street memorabilia, but most pleasing was the warmth of welcome and clear informative info willingly offered by friendly barman Jack. Lunch ticked all the boxes for quality and value and the Timothy Taylors Landlord was on good form. Planning to return and stay so we can take our time to explore this region. Thank you Jack.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank mindboggler13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

    Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, if you decide to stay you'll be very welcome. Stella

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2014

    Over the years we have been here several times. Never had a bad meal. Fish is very good. Dined here last weekend and had the torbay sole and it was a generous portion and very tasty. Little disappointed with the cheeseboard, no chutney or grapes just average cheese selection and biscuits. Prices are very reasonable. Staff waiting on are friendly but young and not very knowledgable of the menu/dishes. Local for us so only eaten here - would return again.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Thomas187069
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

    thank you for your kind words of appreciation. i take your point about the cheeseboard.Tom

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 December 2013

    This was our second stay at The Lantern Pike, and as ever Tom and Stella made us very welcome, as did the locals. Great food and excellent value for money. Breakfast is freshly cooked and sets you up for a days walk over and around Kinder. Rooms are quirky, clean and comfortable. If you want a standard Travelodge room, then stay at a Travelodge, your loss.

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Martin C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

    Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 December 2013

    We stayed here for one night on 23rd November. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, and reserved us a table to eat right in front of the open fire, just what we wanted after a long cold walk. We ate here for dinner and the food was really good, we both had the halibut and the sticky toffee pudding, amazing!

    The room was lovely, we stayed in the superior double which had a gorgeous 4 poster bed, and a beautiful view of the peaks.

    The pub itself is cosy and quirky with lots of coronation street memorabilia. It's an old building with dated interior, but that's what I enjoyed about it! I think anyone complaining about it is looking for something more mainstream maybe..

    All in all, really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend to anyone.

    Room Tip: Superior Double room, nice and romantic for couples
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Colettey123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

    Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews