We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place to stay”
Review of Lantern Pike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern Pike Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We came from London and were pretty stressed out when we arrived at the Inn. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and a re-assuring smile from Tom, who put us at ease straight away. We needed somewhere to go to get away from things for a while and this is the place to do that. We had an evening meal there on our first night and we thought the food was very good. The beer is even better. Room was fine, and breakfast was excellent. The views are something else. We do intend to go back there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tidy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. You woul db every welcome to make a return visit. Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Arrived later than planned on a Sunday evening, but were still made to feel really welcome. Had a great home cooked style meal, real pub food & great puddings. Excellent draught beer too.
The room was just as expected of pub accommodation ; reasonably priced & clean.
Breakfast deserves a mention, a real full English which would give some more up market places a run for their money. There was also a lovely beer garden with stunning views.
There are few places left of this character & lack of airs / aspirations & it should be treasured.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you, though the road isn't busy after hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. I see from your previous posts you are an experienced traveller and reviewer, its so refreshing to see customers reviewing an establishment for what it is rather than what somebody else thinks it should be - thank you. Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We called in on our way home driving over the high peak. What a lovely surprise, a traditional country pub, very pleasant welcoming staff. We sat in the little restaurant but there was the choice of sitting in the bar. There was plenty of choice in food including fish dishes, we decided to have the Sunday roast dinner. I had Norfolk Turkey and my partner chose welsh lamb. The meats where succulent, tasty and a generous position. The meal was accompanied by home made Yorkshire pudding , fresh vegetables and stuffing. The food was excellent as was the service.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation, you would b every welcome to return for another Sunday Lunch. Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This pub is located in a lovely area and is well worth paying a visit.
Unfortunately it was bad weather for our visit so didn't get to sit in the beer garden but it would of been a lovely place to sit in better weather.
The pub itself is very traditional looking inside and has a nice open fire.
We could not fault the meals we had here.
The staff was very welcoming and friendly.
The room was fine and had everything you needed.
Really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this pub, we would love to re visit in better weather.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. we look forward to you returning again when the weather is fine. Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ideal place for walkers evening meal and breakfast very good beds a bit firm .Could not leave windows open due to noise of traffic early morning.Hosts and staff very nice people.The room a bit tired but clean If you like olde world charm nice countryside places to walk then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick007Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. once again, may i remind you that we are a three star country pub not the Waldorf Astoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights shortly after our wedding, the lantern Pike Inn is a lovely country pub with plenty of character and with great views of the peaks. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the breakfast and main meals were of good quality and nice portions, the bar has plenty of choice of drinks to suit everyone and Stella and Tom were the perfect hosts that made us feel very welcome like home from home that we enjoyed every moment of our break, thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPH-Org-KAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed in the most expensive room, very poor decor, needs decorating and decent furniture. At least it was clean. Food was poor in the evening but breakfast was fine. The main bar lacks atmosphere. I would not recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the superior room with a 4-poster bed - not worth the extra payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 892Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Mr A, what a pity you felt you couldn't talk to us about your disappointment. Yes, you are quite correct about the cost of the room, it was Bank Holiday weekend and all B&Bs charge a premium at this time of year. Perhaps you wouldn't have been so vitriolic had you stayed a different time. As for the pub lacking atmosphere absolute rubbish, we had been very busy all day followed by live Bluegrass music in the evening, what do you want??? And the food poor - well I suppose everybody is entitled to an opinion. Good luck in finding somewhere you like. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Hayfield
24.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Pike Inn

Address: 45 Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield > Little Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hayfield
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Pike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn dates back to the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners extend a warm welcome to all who visit their country hostelry, good food, a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms. Ideally situated for great walking or touring. We are Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lantern Pike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Pike Hotel Little Hayfield
Lantern Pike Inn Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing