We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but lackluster hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I stayed here from a Sunday to a Friday. The hotel was booked to max capacity. Check-in took a while, but no major issues there. I asked for a frig at check-in and was told they had all been taken. Due to a medical need, we were placed on a "medical list" and received a mini-frig in the room on our second day there. The frig was old, but kept the contents reasonably cool.
Upon entering our room for the first time, we smelled a dog-like odor in our restroom. It lingered throughout the week, despite the air freshener I purchased to attempt to mask the odor. The room itself was reasonably clean. Nothing fancy, and nothing more than a normal hotel room. The view from the 10th floor was phenomenal.
On our 4th day there, we discovered tiny sugar ants all over our room. Housekeeping came up and sprayed and cleaned a little. That seemed to resolve the issue. Our next door neighbor had to move because they were so bad in his room.
The pool on the ground floor was pretty gross. We found a huge chunk of hair on the pool's edge that another Mom had to kick out of the way so the kids wouldn't come in contact with it. There were also bandaids and just general nastiness in and around that pool area. And pool towels were nearly impossible to get at this pool. The 5th floor pool was better, but pretty small. Again, pool towels were scarce, and we had to call the front desk and ask that they bring some up. However, the kids enjoyed playing the large chess game and foosball located near this pool.
The kids' zone was nice, with board games and a video game system and ping pong table. The ac was great and they had a nice flat screen tv. However, the workers there were inattentive and more interested in talking to each other and playing on their cell phones than interacting with the guests.
While the view and location were amazing, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, as I felt like we paid a lot for a below-par Hilton. (Not to mention you have to pay everyday for parking and wifi if you use either!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

While we are happy to hear you thought the location and the views here at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort were amazing we are disappointed to hear that other aspects of our hotel fell short of your expectations. Although our hotel has regular pest inspections and scheduled exterminations occasionally a situation such as this may occur. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to any sugar ants in your room and are glad the housekeeping staff responded quickly and thoroughly in removing them. Our resort fee of $12 not only includes the unlimited in-room Wi-Fi but $5 off your food and beverage purchase up to $50 or $10 off your purchase over $50, a one hour boogie board or bike rental, a 15% discount on regularly priced clothing in our Beach Emporium Shop, a 15% discount off a facial or massage service in our Spa and much more. Your comments will be reviewed with our team, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,899 - 1,905 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They were nice enough to upgrade us to a beach view room on our last night in Florida which was just awesome. We were there during spring break, but you would have never guessed because the staff was always on point. Will recommend to everyone I know!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation of the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are happy to hear that you found the rooms here very clean and comfortable and our staff very nice and helpful. We are even happier to hear that our staff upgraded you to a beach view room to make your last night here in Florida such a memorable occasion. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon for another absolutely wonderful stay.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family had a reunion at the Hilton Ocean Center Daytona Beach this past week, and we were very happy with the location, amenities, and service at this hotel. Marcus at the front desk helped us to check in. The process was fast and efficient, and he did his best to honor our request to upgrade our room at check-in. We were also able to get rooms close to each other, but not until check-in. Try to avoid checking in between 3 and 4 pm as that is when there are long lines to check in. Valet parking is expensive but there is a less expensive option to walk across the street to the self-parking lot after you drop your luggage off. Getting your car from valet seemed to be a problem. We waited over 20 minutes on the first day to get our car, so we moved our car to the lot and walked across the street each time we needed to go out. The rooms were clean and well appointed, and there are several restaurants in the hotel. We only had the buffet breakfast which was very good. You can purchase a package with breakfast included, but you can save money by going out as there are many places to have breakfast near the hotel, including a Starbucks. The ocean is a few steps across the boardwalk, so you could not ask for a better location. You can bring a small pet, for which there is an additional charge. For $30 per day you can rent two lounges and an umbrella on the beach. There is onsite bike rental which some members of our family made use of. We walked to the Ocean Center (short walk) nightly and had dinner at different restaurants each night. Check out is 11 am and the bellman came to get our luggage pretty fast. Again, do not wait until 11 am when everyone is checking out to call, as there will be a wait for a bellman. Seth was our bellman and he was awesome. He packed our many bags, food, coolers, and beach toys, waited while we got our car, and patiently loaded our car for us. Overall, I don't think we could have picked a better place for our beachy family reunion, and look forward to going back for a romantic getaway soon.

Room Tip: Cabana suites are the best (they cost a little more but are well worth it). You have your own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sunmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We are thrilled to hear that your family chose the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort for your reunion and that everyone was happy with the location, amenities and service here during your stay. With our location on The World’s Most Famous Beach and being the summer season things can tend to get a little busy at check-in and out times, we appreciate you understanding of this. It’s nice to know you found your accommodations clean and well-appointed and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet too. Our staff loves to go above and beyond for our guests, thank you for acknowledging them by name and for your great review; we look forward to your return trip for that romantic getaway soon too.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Not what I would expect from a Hilton. The cards to get out of the self park were not working, so we were told to have our card fixed at the front desk-4x it never got fixed. We are Hilton diamond members and have never had the lack of customer service before!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Danied21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

First we would like to thank you for being Hilton Diamond members and for your loyalty to the Hilton Hotels. We are disheartened to learn this morning that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your self-park cards. This is not a normal occurrence here and we are sorry that the issue was not resolved immediately. Thank you for your feedback. We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity again in the future to once again serve you and have the chance to exceed all expectations at that time.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed for two nights enjoying awesome views of the beach. This is an enormous resort attached to a large conference center and Ocean Walk Village. There are plenty of restaurants within an easy walk. I found the staff professional and very friendly. The room and lobby furniture are worn out and a total room renovation is scheduled to begin in August. Aside from the furniture, the room needs some updating, but I found the room clean and the bed comfortable. The A/C worked well. I would recommend valet parking. The self park lot is not free and almost a block away. It can be chaos near the entrance with cars at check-in. There is a small amusement park on the south side of the hotel. Despite watching out at the slingshot and coaster, I was not disturbed by the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ResortMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We’re glad to hear you found our staff here at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort to be both professional and very friendly and your room accommodations to be clean and comfortable too. Our views here of the Atlantic Ocean are amazing and it’s always nice to hear when a guest is able to appreciate and enjoy them as well. We are scheduled to begin updating and refreshing our hotel soon and hope that you will return in the near future to experience in the excitement of our newly refurbished hotel along with us.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After reading mixed reviews of the resort, I was very skeptical about staying. But too late, I had already made last minute reservations and all the poor reviews were just nonsense. The staff were very friendly and had gone above and beyond. We had a small un-meaningful event where we rented out bikes and one of them kept coming flat and late returning them. The staff went gave us credit for the rentals, even though one was included in our package and also credit us for parking and gave us an extra appetizer for free. I have to say that they didn't have to do anything for us, but their well committed customer service will not tolerate the least bad experiences in any of their properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Your review made our day! Our staff here at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort just loves to go above and beyond to give our guests the best experience possible during their stay with us. This is a perfect example and we want to thank you for your acknowledgement of them. We couldn't be happier that you made those last minute reservations with us and were able to see for yourself. Your review is greatly appreciated; we can’t wait to have you back with us too.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It is all about location! It is difficult to best that at this Hilton, but the hotel is old and worn. The service is not the best, but go across the road to the Stardust Diner or drop by the gift shop at the hotel or the sun glas hut and you will forget about whatever was not good inside. If you look a bit online, you can get a great deal. Keep in mind, rooms with sunset view is NOT on the ocean side, but overlooking the city! Happy travels :-)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank OC_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review and suggestions. The Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort with it’s can’t beat location on The World’s Most Famous Beach is scheduled for a renovation soon and we are excited about it. We have several packages and specials available on our website to help offset the cost of your stay and add extra benefits to it as well. We hope your happy travels will bring you back this way for another stay with us again soon.

Tom Manno
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#22 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 100 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £79 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort is located in the heart of the 'World's Most Famous Beach'. Our resort offers seven onsite restaurants and lounges, a full service spa, two outdoor pools, whirlpools, fitness center and 60,000 sq/ft. of event/meeting space. You will enjoy our proximity to great local attractions and a variety of entertainment options at walking distance from our hotel. Make sure to visit the Ocean Walk Shoppes, Daytona Lagoon Waterpark, Daytona International Speedway, LPGA International or enjoy festivals at the Daytona Beach Bandshell - featuring outdoor Summer concerts and fireworks every Saturday from Memorial Day through Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village Hotel Daytona Beach
Hilton Daytona Resort
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing