We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would return if hotel updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would return if hotel updates”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel was comfortable. We did enjoy our stay. I cannot give it a 5 star because I felt it was dated. The bathroom fixtures need updating and there should be a maintenance check before you get your room. Housekeeping should report the moment something is falling apart. Every time housekeeping cleaned our room for some strange reason she would leave the shower head pointing upward and towards the far end of the shower. The result - you turn on the shower and the water immediately splashed out onto the bathroom floor. The logic of facing the shower head so the water hits the tub seems so simple. We purchased the all inclusive breakfast and there was lots of confusion around that for the entire time we were there. I love the location and our room was a Cabana Suite right on the beach. No one told us we could rent an umbrella for the outside of our suite until we left. I would have paid the extra to be able to enjoy the terrace more. Hyde park restaurant is very good food but also overpriced. I have been to comparable restaurants and it was not as costly. Overall it was a good experience. I suggest heat towel racks to be installed to reduce the need for daily towel use. I think all hotels in North America should have this. Most Europe and Indian hotels have heated towel racks. Doesn't management realize that most people ask for towels daily because there is no way for a towel to dry in an enclosed hotel room? I am sure many people do like me and throw it over a chair. Come on with the age of technology our North American hotels cannot compare to what is happening in other countries. Update guys! broken shower handles is not acceptable any longer, just like dated furniture etc. I would recommend this hotel. The staff was nice. But I did notice if you didn't tip big enough the smiles change on the staff's faces. Hotel management should pay their staff so that they don't have to depend on us to cover their salary. I don't mind tipping but it is getting outrageous. People aren't happy with 15% anymore. I feel Like you have to tip big to get that big smile and helpfulness. This doesn't just apply to this hotel. Too many service industries are depending on the consumer to cover the employee's salary through tips. Remember people we are just ordinary workers like yourself saving for a vacation. I would return if this hotel updated. My family and I are pretty laid back and didn't complain. We figure tripadvisor would do the job in smoothing out these smaller issues that are still irritating. Anyone else out there feel the 'tipping' policy is getting outrageous. There were a few times the service was not good, Hyde Park - served our steak with no sides. By the time the sides came the steak was cooling down. The breakfast staff kept forgetting to give us menus and other items. It wasn't crowded, yet we are expected to pay top $$ tip for this service. Why is society changing - are we tipping for the staff to like us? why else would we leave a tip for bad service? Walk away, if the service is bad then don't tip. Too many servers are getting away with bad behavior knowing consumers feel guilty and will still tip. I say stop rewarding bad service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ashta-deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We’re glad your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. We understand that our guests wish for more up-to-date accommodations as some of our rooms need to be renovated and so we have begun this process just recently. We appreciate your suggestions and comments and will share your review with our team. Thank you for your feedback.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    912
    576
    251
    196
See reviews for
938
781
109
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loxahatchee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the Hilton reputation, and needed a nice place on the beach while moving our son into Embry-Riddle. When arriving we were told we could valet for 21 $ a nite or park across the street for 14 $ a nite whether we used it or not. Also we would be charged 12 a night for in room wi-fi, whether we wanted it or not. Oh the price was so good until you add these charges on. We chose the parking lot across the street. OMG, was a far walk, with long traffic light, a totally sketchy parking lot un maned. A total deal breaker for us. Luggin our stuff down the street up the hill to the hotel. Decide for yourself, but this is Hilton is a loser with this parking stuff. Even motel six up the street has parking for free. Really?

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, but no where to sit and watch the sunrise, can't even really o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Although we are happy to hear you thought the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort was a very nice hotel we are disappointed to hear that other aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations. Wi-Fi is included in our daily resort fee of $12 which also includes $5 off your food and beverage purchase up to $50 or $10 off your purchase over $50, a one hour boogie board or bike rental, a 15% discount on regularly priced clothing in our Beach Emporium Shop, a 15% discount off a facial or massage service in our Spa and much more.
Thank you for your feedback we wish your son the best of luck at Embry-Riddle.



Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Overall, I rated this as excellent but thought the parking fee was ridiculous! $14 a night for self park and $21 a night for valet! This is Daytona Beach, not a large downtown metropolitan area for goodness sakes!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for rating the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort as excellent. We understand our guests’ frustration when it comes to parking although parking in any high travel destination area can get costly and we list all of our fees on our website for guests to review before booking their accommodations. Thank you for your feedback.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Long wait for Valet parking, long wait for the front desk to check in, long wait for Bellman to bring up the cart.

The hallway to the room was Dark & Hot ( we checked in at 9 pm) and not pleased with that at all. Windows in the hallway was dirty!

Went in our room, and found that the housekeeping does poor job cleaning job in the room, and maintenance neglected to change the air filter as I was wondering why my daughter and myself was getting sore throat in the morning, so we checked the air filter found the date of install was 5/17/14 and Its 8/22/14 and full of dust, and realized the room was not really cleaned well, as found dust everywhere in the room.

Went to the pool area and saw many neglected issues there as a poor maintenance issues everywhere, rusted steel plates, needed paint job, floor slippery.

Our room overlooked the pool in South tower. Awesome view of the pier and to our luck, there was fireworks on Sat night we were watching them right in our room!

Hotel mentioned that there's resort fee daily of $12 plus taxes and it enables us to receive free breakfast for kids under 10 and some other stuff.

Went to restaurant for breakfast and inquired about the free breakfast, Hostess said yes not a problem, I asked any restrictions. she said no. We decided to do breakfast buffet which was alright..


Check came, They had charged me for kids breakfast $14.95 I asked the waitress that resort fee includes free breakfast for kids, she said oh its for regular menu items not for the breakfast buffet, I mentioned the Hostess said nothing about it, said yes free kids breakfast. She said oh sorry, she will handle it and removed the charge. (poor communication by staff hmm)

Otherwise its just an average hotel No big deal except for the awesome view of the pier.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for South tower pool view room, because of fireworks every Saturday evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
While we are glad that you enjoyed the views along with the fireworks from your room here at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort we are sorry to hear that other aspects of your stay may have fallen short of your expectations. We can assure you that our housekeeping staff follows strict protocols and procedures daily to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms although we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced if your air filter may have been missed. Our daily resort fee of $12 which includes Wi-Fi also includes $5 off your food and beverage purchase up to $50 or $10 off your purchase over $50, a one hour boogie board or bike rental, a 15% discount on regularly priced clothing in our Beach Emporium Shop, a 15% discount off a facial or massage service in our Spa, one free kids menu breakfast with adult entree/buffet purchase (12 and under) and much more. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will allow us the opportunity again in the future to serve you.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel needs updating and is not worth the money. The customer service is not that great. Parking is really not great and there are no "real" balconies. You pay a lot of money for a beach front room and can't even walk out onto or sit on your balcony because it is only about an inch wide. Almost every other hotel on the beach has an actual balcony and probably cost less. We were not impressed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hearing that our hotel did not meet your expectations disappoints us this morning. We do want to state however that we do indeed have balcony rooms here at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort. All room descriptions can be reviewed online when making reservations. Both our 1 King Bed Terrace-Oceanview and our 1 King Bed 1 Bedroom Suite-Oceanfront-Terrace offer that balcony space to relax on. Our hotel has currently begun renovations as well and we hope that you will return one day to experience one of our terrace rooms in our newly updated hotel.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean room . Amazing view from our window . We upgraded to an ocean view for $15 extra but wished we has of kept our sunset view :)
Good clean hotel . Recommended . But we booked thru Expedia or $90 per night , when we were thinking if staying another night they wanted to charge $209 per night , so we decided against it

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We appreciate your review and recommendation of the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort. Thank you for your comments on our clean accommodations. The views here are amazing, we’re glad you were able enjoy them during your stay and hope you will return again in the future to experience them again.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for two nights while visiting my father. My first impression was not good. I was told upon checkin (I arrived at 3:15) that the earliest I could get room was 4 pm since i was a "prepay". I noticed Others were getting their room keys. I asked about self parking she told me it was plentiful...went to it and it was full so I had to valet. I came back at 4pm to actually check in and was told of a resort fee that was not mentioned on booking.com. In fact my reservation said I would receive free internet. The idiot, who was not the most friendly told me the free internet was included in the resort fee? What?? ...I will be protesting that fee. Resort fee is stupid (all hotels have gyms, pools. The room (which my reservation said gardenview) overlooked the roof etc). Then room was clean but the furniture was beat up.

On a positive note, the bar, restaurant, shop, and valet employees were all nice.

In short staying here via third party vendor is a "buyer beware". If you don't upgrade you are treated like a 2nd class citizen. Hotel rooms need upgrades unless I had the crappy room because i dared to get a discount rate. There are better hotels on beach to stay at.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WelltraveledITguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaytonaHilton, General Manager at Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
While we appreciate you stating that your accommodations here were clean we would like to reassure you that no guests are ever treated differently based on their booking preference. Our staff at the front desk staff must follow protocols and procedures which are the same for all guests. All of our fees are listed and described on our website. Our resort fee includes the Wi-Fi, $5 off your food and beverage purchase up to $50 or $10 off your purchase over $50, a one hour boogie board or bike rental, a 15% discount on regularly priced clothing in our Beach Emporium Shop, a 15% discount off a facial or massage service in our Spa and much more. We cannot guarantee any information provided by a third party booking site, we can only guarantee what is provided on our website and we encourage guests to review our website before making their reservations for complete information on our hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#30 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#17 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village

Property: Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village
Address: 100 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Daytona Beach Resort/Ocean Walk Village is located in the heart of the 'World's Most Famous Beach'. Our resort offers seven onsite restaurants and lounges, a full service spa, two outdoor pools, whirlpools, fitness center and 60,000 sq/ft. Of event space. You will enjoy our proximity to great local attractions and a variety of entertainment options at walking distance from our hotel. Make sure to visit the Ocean Walk Shoppes, Daytona Lagoon Waterpark, Daytona International Speedway, LPGA International or enjoy festivals at the Daytona Beach Bandshell - featuring outdoor Summer concerts and fireworks every Saturday from Memorial Day through Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village Hotel Daytona Beach
Hilton Daytona Resort
Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing