We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a Peaceful and relaxing stay”
Review of Tropical Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Manor
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For a Peaceful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the sweetest motel I have found! From it's colorful paintings on the outside, each suite door is labeled with different Florida tropical themes, to the interior of the spacious & extremely clean accommodations it's a must stay! My daughter & I shared the 1 bedroom oceanfront suite that comes complete with fully stocked kitchen. With Winn Dixie & Publix grocery stores walking distance away, made the stay even more enjoyable. Watching the beautiful sun rise from your private patio made my stay even more enjoyable! I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms to enjoy the sun & moon rise! Hearing the relaxing sound of the ocean and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad that you chose the Tropical Manor for your vacation with your daughter. We try very hard to make the Tropical Manor a special, happy place which our guests want to return to every year. We are pleased that you liked all the bright, tropical colors and cheerful paintings. And, we are glad that our housekeeping and maintenance staff did a very good job in preparing your guestroom. We are very proud of the trust you put in you choice to stay at the Tropical Manor and look forward very much to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
73
51
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta,Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Looking for "old Florida" this is it. This family run motel is super clean. My only complaint is the free wi fi really does not work
Also be careful of room choice, we were in the "sunset" room which was not very inviting, no view and small, but again very clean. What is nice is folks sitting on their porches or patios outside of their rooms. Friendly neighborhood feel, right on the beach on the family end of Daytona Beach. Very affordable, most folks are repeat customers.
We will be back, in a different room!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Tropical Manor and are very pleased that your room was super clean. We offer a large number of room types with different sizes, layouts , and views which meet the varying needs of our guests which range from solo travelers and couples to large, extended families. Summer is our peak time of the year when most of our 1,2, and 3 Bedroom Ocean View Suites are reserved several months in advance. I am sorry that we did not have one of our Ocean View Suites or Charming Garden View Cottages available when you placed your reservation. We generally have much better availability for all room types, including our more spacious Suites, starting the the second week of August. We understand how important wireless internet service is to our guests and are constantly upgrading our network to provide the best and most reliable service possible. We have an incredibly reliable and very easy to use AT&T Wi-Fi Hot Spot device which we provide to guests free of charge for use during their stay if they communicate to us that they are having difficulty accessing the internet. I am glad that you like the patios and porches at the Tropical Manor. Our guests really enjoy them. They provide a unique and homey touch and are the perfect spot for enjoying the balmy sea breezes. Please email us through our website or call our Front Desk when planning your next visit to the Tropical Manor so that we can assist you in selecting a guestroom which will best meet your needs. Full descriptions of each of our room types are also available in the Rooms section of our website. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Tropical Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We come here every May for an extended family getaway on Mother's Day weekend and we love it! The Manor is very kid-friendly, right on the beach, the pool & kiddie pool is fantastic and of course, you can't beat the beach view from the pool :)

We like to stay in the cottages with the private patios by the gazebo & we've also had beach-view one bedroom apartment that we liked a lot. Stay here once & you will keep coming back again & again, just like everyone in our family!

The staff is very welcoming & all of the rooms/apartments are very comfortable & efficient. One can't help but to relax while you are staying here! Love love love the Tropical Manor!

Room Tip: Get a cottage with a private patio--opens up to the grass & the gazebo area. Perfect for little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamos_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stays at the Tropical Manor. We are pleased that you choose to celebrate the very special holiday of Mother's Day at the Tropical Manor. We always endeavor to provide an especially welcoming, family-friendly vacation for our guests. Our Charming Garden View Cottages and spacious Oceanview One Bedroom Suites are some of our favorite rooms too, and are a comfortable and economical choice for families. We look forward to welcoming your family back to the Tropical Manior next year for another enjoyable and memorable Mother's Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our first time at Tropical Manor. (June 28-July 7). Got to say its the cleanest hotel ive ever stayed at in Daytona and we stayed at the Hilton. What impressed me was how clean the outside of the hotel was. The sidewalks and walkways and stairs Were spotless. Our room#18 was very clean with new carpet but the bed was uncomfortable and pushed up against the air conditioner and it was so loud at times i couldnt sleep. And very cold up against it. Couldnt get out of bed on that side. Overall it was cozy. I loved the pool area. The wooden deck was awesome. We hung there all the time. Happy to say when we got home we booked for ten days next year. Got room #17 which was awesome. I checked it out while i was there. Looking forward to seeing the ladies from SC that we met. See you next year thanks for making my vacation awesome

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimlawson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Tropical Manor during your trip to Daytona Beach. We and all of our staff, place a great emphasis on providing clean and comfortable guestrooms and unique and exceptionally well-maintained and landscaped public areas for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our new wooden deck by the pool which we just completed at the beginning of the summer. We are planning to update Efficiency Studio #18 in the fall with a new sitting area and bedding which will provide more space and better positioning of the bed away from the air conditioner. All of our Efficiency Studios are especially popular in the fall when we have many couples stay with us for quick, beach getaways. We have a wide variety of affordable Efficiency Studios to choose from with different layouts and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our extended family has come to Tropical Manor every summer for 32 years. Our kids grew up on this beach and now bring their spouses. The property is about 50 rooms and the owner lives on the top floor year round. She can be seen around the property daily. Many of the staff seem to have been there for 30 plus years.
Pros are the cleanliness and family friendly atmosphere. We see the same family groups every year and watch their kids grow up. There is occasional smoking and very little alcohol when we've been there, definitely not a party hotel. There is an upgrade or two every year. This year it was a handicap lift for the pool and improved wifi (we streamed netflix with no problem). Pool area is very nice and beach access is private although the beach area itself is moderately busy.
Cons are small, dated kitchens and location 2.5 miles from the boardwalk, no fitness center. Hotels next door have food (never eaten there) and IHOP is half a block away.
This is not a luxury resort/spa property, nor is it like an upscale condo. However, we have found it to be a great family vacation site. Orlando is less than 90 minutes, fishing from Sunglow pier is 10 minutes and charters from Ponce Inlet about 20 minutes (we like Rainbow Charters).St. Augustine is about an hour north. The beach is clean and very gently sloping which is ideal for kids.

Room Tip: Their website has good room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
We are thrilled to receive your lovely review of the Tropical Manor. It is extremely satisfying for us to have such loyal guests and are very proud that you choose to celebrate and vacation with your family each year at the Tropical Manor. Thank you for continuing your family tradition and including your children's spouses and grandchildren. We are glad that you appreciate the wholesome family-friendly atmosphere at the Tropical Manor. We are pleased that the Tropical Manor is located directly on the beach in Daytona Beach Shores, just 3 miles south of the Daytona Beach Boardwalk Entertainment Area. Our guests often comment that they like to be near the restaurants, shops, and attractions at the Daytona Beach Boardwalk and Ocean Walk Shoppes, but appreciate being away from the crowds and prefer the picturesque and peaceful ambiance at the Tropical Manor. We continue to strive to provide the very best wireless internet system possible and are constantly improving this service as we know it is important to our guests. We hope that you may consider our Private 2 Bedroom Apartments Across the Street from the Ocean along with other accommodations during your next visit to the Tropical Manor. We just updated these apartments at the end of May this year. These apartments have some of our very nicest kitchens. The kitchens in these apartments are spacious, bright, cheerful, and feature some brand new cabinets. We also added beautiful new tile, carpeting and very pretty beach-themed quilts to these rooms. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tropical Manor and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My family and I used to vacation here many times when I was a kid. This is my first stay here in nearly 30 years and the cleanliness and the friendliness is still as it has always been. We always had an ocean front when I was growing up. This time I had to watch the vacation budget and had a street view room. Despite that fact, the room was clean, comfortable and met my needs in terms of value. The location is excellent as there is a Winn Dixie, a gift shop and an IHOP just across the street.

Room Tip: The close location of the Winn Dixie is perfect for families or groups renting the efficiencies that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdevaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

This is now our 4th visit here and once again it did not dissapointed!! The motel is so friendly and it's spotless!! We had room 47 which is ocean front, the views are fantastic!! We have to travel 9 hours by aircraft from the uk to stay at this special place!! Thankyou tropical manor for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
#18 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shores Resort & Spa
The Shores Resort & Spa
#15 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manor

Property: Tropical Manor
Address: 2237 S Atlantic Ave, At Bonner Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, award-winning small ocean-front inn. Spacious 1,2,3 bedroom suites, delightful cottages, & very economical studios & value rooms. Lush tropical landscaping. Colorful hand-painted artwork. Romantic tropical ambiance. Large heated ocean-front pool & kiddie pool. Ocean-front guest BBQ area. Shuffleboard court. Free high-speed wireless internet in guestrooms. Great choice for families. Family owned & operated. AAA & superior small lodging approved. Special discounted weekly rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Manor Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropical Manor Daytona Beach, Florida
Tropical Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing