We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy home away from home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropic Shores Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice cozy home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I own two 1 bedroom units at tropic shores and have been coming here since I was a teenager. I love the location. The beach area is not too busy, the property is kept up very well, and they have activities daily for the kids. The rooms are large and comfortable with full kitchens and all units have ocean front balconies.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess6978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This resort hotel was great! It has been remodeled in the last few years and is very clean and well decorated. The kitchen has all the amenities to cook a family meal, in fact ours had almost the same stove as I have at home. The resort has a total of 80 1 and 2 bedroom condos that face out to a beautiful beach. There is a pool and hottub, excercise room, and activity room. The resort has daily activities and there are gas grills the guests can use and also the resort uses for barbeques for guests at a nominal fee. They offer guests use of umbrellas and chairs on the beach and computers in the hotel lobby. Staff works very hard here to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable! We loved it all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KYBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

We own a 2 bedroom timeshare week at Tropic Shores Resort. They have units for rent as well as being a timeshare. This was our first time to actually stay at the place as we usually deposit & trade it in RCI. Were able to actually stay in our unit. The resort is not huge, being 11 floors with about 8 units per floor.
The furnishings looked fine to me. The linens were nice, bedspreads colorful & clean. Carpet is only in the bedrooms, and the rest is tile. Both bedrooms have queen beds that look fairly new. I could have used a foam egg crate pad to make it a bit softer, but most people would think the beds are fine. They could fit a king size bed in the master-barely. They need to think about doing that when next the beds are replaced. We did not use the sofa bed for sleeping, so can’t make any statement about it. It was okay to sit upon. Plenty of drawer space and closet hanging space. There is even a hall closet that is fitted with hanging space in case there are 6 people in the unit. Adequate dishes, glassware & cooking pans. The front desk has items to borrow, such as a non-stick skillet. The unit had 3 flat screen TVs. Also, there is plenty of light in the unit-both from windows & light bulbs (which actually have enough wattage to read by). Ceiling fans in LR & both bedrooms. They even thought to include a laundry basket!
The bathrooms are normal size & have exhaust fans. They provided toiletries daily. By the way-daily maid service (make beds, change towels, offered to mop the floor) for free (we did leave a tip).
The 2 bedroom units have 2 balconies, one on the ocean (with solid privacy wall between you and your neighbor) and a second off the master bedroom, which is on the side of the building but still has a view of the water. Both are respectable in size. Each has 2 chairs and a small end table. The balcony could use a smallish table that is high enough for eating. I think all units have ocean front balconies. The view is over a nice sandy beach that is driven on by cars at 10mph (the cars can park there too). Most folks seemed to obey the speed limit. There are beach patrols that cruise by frequently. There didn’t seem to be any problem between pedestrians & cars.
The internet is $20 for a week of hi-speed that was excellent. Ask the desk how to sign up online. The package of boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas & bicycles (ride on the beach) was a great deal for about $25 per unit-for a week! There were several days where one could sign up for some eats cooked on site at a reasonable price.
We didn’t hear any noise from our neighbors other than the slamming of the main door. They post signs that tell you that if the balcony doors are open, it will cause the front door to slam-loudly & with great force-you have to hold the door rather than let it close on its own.
Resort laundry room has 4 washers & 4 dryers in a small room with no chair or folding table. Not sure how they can fix that problem.
We did hear traffic noise from the main street which is at the front of the building. It wasn’t bad most of the time. The exception was Saturday & Sunday of our stay. We arrived at the tail end of Bike Week (motorcycles). Those folks’ machines are noisy enough to wake the dead-and the riders stay up late.
We didn’t take part in any of the resort activities, did our own thing. Went to Kennedy Space Center for a day-well worth the price if you have any interest in manned space flight. The new Shuttle Launch experience is a blast. Also drove to the Canaveral National Seashore-which is what the seacoast of Florida must have looked like 200+ years ago.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Oma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

As far as the room goes, it was ok. Room was a 1 bedroom/1bath. It was clean. Very dated decorations/furniture. Couch and bed were both very uncomfortable. As soon as you sat in the couch you sank down and your knees were higher then your legs. Bed was very rough to sleep on and was extremely noisy.

Walls in the rooms are paper thin. You can hear everything your neighbor says or does with total clarity. You can hear folks walking on floors above you, moving their balcony furniture on floors above you, and people talking in normal voices walking down the hallways everywhere.

As far as activities, I didn't attend any of them but they had a schedule clearly posted and it looked like they had stuff to do. In regards to that as well, they had karaoke on Wednesday night in the lobby. I was on the 4th floor and it was loud enough that I could clearly hear it as if I was down stairs with them. It was supposed to be over at 10PM and at 11:15PM it was still going loud as all get out. I went downstairs and complained and they said that they were ending it within a few minutes. I went back upstairs and 30 minutes later it is still going on. My wife called back at 11:50PM and they promised it would be over at midnight. They waited till exactly midnight and the music abruptly stopped so they waited till the very last second. We were leaving Thursday morning so the lack of sleep didn't help. Then in regards to the walls being thin, the folks next to us were apparently at karaoke as a few minutes later they came to their room and started yelling & talking till about 2AM.

Overall, the resort is in a great location but if it's that loud staying there during a slow season, I can't imagine staying there during a busy time. As someone else mentioned, one of their elevators is touchy and both of them don't feel very safe.

They do have widescreen LCD TV's in the living room but regular TV's in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bishoparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We found this one week rental through Endlessvacations.com. The off-season rate was especially attractive and lured us there even though we were not planning to do a vacation. We were very pleased with all aspects of TROPIC SHORES. Our one bedroom/one bath unit was on the fifth floor and was "direct oceanfront." The property was super clean, the staff was always helpful and friendly, and the surrounding area had more than enough to do. Since we travelled off season, the area was quiet with most retired people....like us. We hope to return next year.....assuming we can get the same deal.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandylaneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We have been coming here for years and have enjoyed our stay each visit. The staff is nice. The rooms are always clean but the fold out couch beds are very uncomfortable. The kitchen in our room is always clean and great for cooking family dinners at night. The pool is okay at best. The beach is beautiful and feet away from the pool. The hotel offers free rental of boogie boards, umbrellas and bikes. The activities for the kids are okay but in comparison to other places...not very exciting! If you are looking for a good deal and are planning activities outside of the hotel then this is a good place to stay. The decor is a little dated and the elevavator must be also. ( I got "trapped" on it twice!!!) We will continue to come here to enjoy the beach but will visit other hotels to enjoy more entertainment for our kids.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Property: Tropic Shores Resort
Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6266
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Daytona Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropic Shores Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing