We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - Learned to deal with one elavator quickly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropic Shores Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent - Learned to deal with one elavator quickly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Tropic Shores from March 23 – April 13, 2013.
We also visited the last 2 years in March as well. We are owners of 2 one bedroom units.
This resort is older, but it is well maintained. It is directly on the beach, with all units facing the ocean. You can open your balcony door and relax on the sofa or balcony and see and hear the ocean. In the morning, the sunshine creates a golden walkway on the ocean that lights up photos. The staff is helpful and the security has been tightened this year by giving guests security codes for entrances. There were lots of fantastic amenities available. Our favorites are the daily housekeeping including making the bed, cleaning the bathroom, taking out the trash & changing out the kitchen & bathroom towels – luxury and the availability of beach chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards & bicycles. The staff was super & always accommodating. We had a wonderful time & we plan on making annual visits. Everything that is needed for a great holiday is within walking distance (restaurants, drug and grocery stores and especially the beach!). We were warned, in advance, that there would be only 1 elavator working during our stay. The 1st day @ check-in the elavator looked like it was going to be an issue as we were on the 11th floor. It was never an issue for us after we checked-in.

Jeff and Diana Kennaway

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Tropics Shores, is located in Daytona Beach Shores, mild area, lowkey beach. Your just minutes away from Daytona Beach action if you choose that. Great locations and wonderful local restaurants to choose from, responsibility priced. Beds were only queen size and a little uncomfortatble, however that is the only negative info I have.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Tropic Shores Resort is well located right on the beautiful beach of Daytona Shores. Each unit contains a well-equipped kitchen, living area, balcony overlooking the beach, and one or two bedrooms. The amenities are exceptional. We enjoyed the use of bicycles which we rode up and down the beach in the mornings. Afternoons were spent lounging on beach chairs which were provided along with beach umbrellas. Of course, they also have a nice pool and hot tub. Grills were available for our use and the staff had grill utensils for our use as well - they even lit the grill for us. Activities are provided every day, and although we didn't participate in most of them, I imagine many families especially appreciate the kid friendly activities such as t-shirt decorating. There is a grocery within walking distance and an amazing Italian pastry shop right across the street.....the tiramisu was the best I've ever had. The property is well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Your views will be more spectacular on the higher floors, but they all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlhdcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pkymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We're here now, but I'll give a super-quick list:

Pros:
1) You're on the water, and it's fantastic. The beach isn't a party scene, so it's great for kids and adults wanting to relax. A few of the neighboring lots are empty, so the beach has some room to move around.
2) Cost is awesome
3) Staff that help you out are great (other than cleaning staff) - very friendly, etc
4) Hot tub is nice
5) Rooms are what you'd expect - no surprises. Clean, everything works, etc. This is huge, as other places we've stayed have broken crap/etc, which is annoying.

Cons:
1) So many 12-15 year olds here this week that occupy the hot tub from 7pm to 11pm - bummer. I'm sure they're having a blast, just sucks if you aren't that age and want to relax in the hot tub.
2) The cleaning staff seems to hate their jobs, and they complain about it to you - pretty crazy.
3) Only one elevator until July (wtf?) - which is odd, since most new construction can get an elevator built from start to finish in a week or two. Saturday I'm assuming is going to be a nightmare.
4) Wish there was an option to get a room with a king bed instead of a full - but that's probably more of just what I want than a requirement. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom unit the last week of March. Great views, nice resort amenities for the kids, and fantastic staff. You will not go wrong with Tropic Shores Resort. They have daily house cleaning service and you are very close to the grocery store. The view of the ocean cannot be beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concordantrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a pleasantly furnished 1 bedroom ocean front unit on the tenth floor. The units have full kitchens. The sunrise in the morning is worth getting up for. It was perfect size for 2 adults and up to 2 children. Four adults would be crowded. Resort is in excellent location and is not as busy as some of the Florida resort areas.

The staff at Tropic Shores Resort is outstanding. Resort has friendly, efficient housekeeping staff that replaces towels and removes trash from unit daily. They changed all the bedding mid-week too.

The resort has several sponsored activities - something special each day.

The resort offers unlimited access to: beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, and bicycles. . We enjoyed walking the beach, and riding bikes on the beach.

We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We walked in the door without a reservation late on a Sunday evening, looking for a room. There were 4 of us and we needed a very specific layout (suite w/ separate bedroom, and wanted oceanfront). We had just walked out of a wreck of a hotel, so I asked to see the room first. Sarah, the desk agent, happily took me up to look at the room. It looked great -- very clean, all amenities in order and working well, It was a one bedroom suite with a queen bed and a sofabed. We requested a rollaway, which Sarah also brought up herself, as the rest of the staff had already left. The main bed was quite comfortable. The sofabed and rollaway were of average comfort. There was a great balcony for sitting and admiring the wonderful view.

The hotel has a wonderful pool and hot tub, and a gate opens up right onto the beach. For a small fee (~$5/day) you can rent a bicycle, umbrella, and chairs for the beach. There is an exercise center, and a game room with TV. There also appeared to be daily activities for families and guests, but we didn't take part in any.

Room Tip: After checking in you may be called by someone offering lunch or breakfast. It's a timeshare pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Property: Tropic Shores Resort
Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6266
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Daytona Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropic Shores Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing