We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame not much sunshine!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropic Shores Resort
Certificate of Excellence
worcestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Shame not much sunshine!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for a week at the start of February having done an exchange. The beachfront location is superb and is a real plus. Our apartment was on floor 11 - the top floor and with the balcony the view and sound of the sea, it was lovely.
The apartments are well appointed and kept very clean. We were impressed with the daily clean, replenish of filter coffee and the midweek linen change plus the equipment of the kitchen and the fact there was a safe for valuables.
The bedroom was a decent size, plenty of storage and the most comfortable of beds I have slept in for a long while.
The resort itself looks a little stark on first appearance but there is large lounge, gym, sitting room and lobby. Free computer usage is also available. A bar would be a really great addition - particularly for that first evening arrival!!
The outdoor pool is heated and there is a hot tub. The sun does disappear behind the building relatively early but you can either move out onto the beach (sun loungers and umbrellas cost about $5 per room per day but that also includes bike hire and surf boards) or adjourn to the sun terrace on the 6 th floor which being on the road side of the building catches the afternoon sun. We managed to a bit of sunbathing but the end of our week saw a cold front come in with cooler temps and rain!
Location wise there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance - Red Lobster was a good option but we ended up driving most nights into Daytona or out back across Dunlawton Ave. the main part of Daytona is about 5 miles north (we know we walked there and back!) where there is a cluster of restaurants, cinema and shops.
All in all we had a relaxing time, weather could have been better and there isn't a huge amount to do in the vicinity but the resort was very comfortable with that amazing sea view!

Room Tip: I think all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Right on the Ocean. It looks like you are on a balcony of a cruise ship. The room was also very nice. The only problems were the construction that was going on and the fire alarm in the middle of the night.
The construction was on the activity room so activities were restricted.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dfalk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I arrived thinking of having staff being very helpful. That was so untrue, I either had to ring a bell because there was no-one up-front, or wait till the staff was done talking to get any help. The rooms were so dirty when we arrived that we left even after the Manager said he would give us a free night, The bed wasn't made dishes were in the sink .Apparently the room was never cleaned before we checked-in
.Poor management and bad housekeeping I guess.
We went down the road to the Hampton Inn and was very pleased there .What a difference.
Will never stay here again.
The Hampton Inn offers free breakfast and coffee and tea all day long.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After reading how helpful the staff was, I expected more. When I arrived, 2 young people were behind the desk talking and didn't acknowledge me for a minute. After checking in, I had to ask where our room was and how to get there. I took a spill in the parking lot the second night and went in to let them know and find where the closest emergency room was and it a was "deer in the headlights" look that I got. The guy working couldn't tell me that. I asked one night if there was a restaurant within walking distance and was told "not really". I later found a great Italian place called Portofina almost directly across the street. There is NOT daily maid service. There is no maid service at all. They do change out the towels and take out your trash for you. On Wednesdays, they change the sheets in addition to towels and trash, but that is it. No tub cleaning, sink, etc. All in all, the staff was not the best. The best part was the location. We don't like to stay right in the thick of things and that made this location really good. It was close to Ponce Inlet, which has the lighthouse and the preserve and a park that are all well worth visiting. It was about an hour to the Kennedy Space Center. More on that in another review. This place is not elegant, but was very comfortable and homey. The place is a little dated, but not bad. There is one thing I must mention about the bedroom. We had a one bedroom and they have a window that looks out on the interior walkway. It wasn't really loud, but as they only have wooden blinds, it really was bright. We fashioned a window covering out of a blanket meant for the sofa bed and it was plenty dark enough to sleep with that. I have to say the people staying there were nicer than the staff and we really enjoyed meeting the fellow travelers.

Room Tip: I have heard the two bedrooms on the ends are better. All rooms face the ocean in the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

This resort was a nice surprise. While it isn't a large resort to be sure, approximately 70 rooms in all, with a mix of one and two bedrooms, ALL rooms faced the beach. They did offer a variety of activities during the week, however, we came during October, the start of their off season so the bingo and phase 10 tournaments as well as the othr activities were sparsely attended. To their credit, if there was interest, they provided the activity. We did enjoy the ice cream served every afternoon. The check-in was handled smoothly with the staff being more than helpful making the process both quick and error free. The rooms, we had a single, were small, but very well decorated and had a great view of the ocean. The kitchen was well supplied with plates, cups, flatware, etc. The bed was excellent. It was well supplied with plenty of sheets and pillows and extra blankets. The elevators were sufficient with two available. The location of the resort along Daytona Beach was well placed and easy to get to restaurants and other activities in the town. Overall an excellent resort and stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjii2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here the week of October 19-26, 2013. It is a 2013 Gold Crown Resort. The complex was extremely clean and the staff very helpful. Each morning there was a flurry of activity to clean the premises and thios continued throughout the day. It is directly on the beach and the views were breathtaking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wp327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our 2nd year to stay at Tropic Shores Resort! We absolutely love it here. Next year we will be back! The place was clean, and well taken care of. The staff goes out of their way for you! Close enough to Daytona Beach but far enough away from traffic. Stores and restaurants close by,

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach, so there is no bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Property: Tropic Shores Resort
Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6266
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Daytona Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropic Shores Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing