We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fresh and yummy!”

Ronin Sushi and Bar
Ranked #20 of 375 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Exceptional Sushi Experience
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So fresh and yummy!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were in Daytona for a relaxing vacation and we were in search of fresh sushi. This place was the freshest sushi I have ever had. The special rolls were delicious, especially the one with the Kobe beef! It is a little expensive, but for the quality of fresh fish, it is really a bargain. I come from Chicago and for the same meal it would have been much more expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    36
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food slow service.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good food but slow service to say the least. Good drinks and a cool vibe...but at times you feel like nobody is there to wait on you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sushi on 4th of July”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Ronin a sushi restaurant with façade looking like a tavern. It is 4th of July and I decided to have dinner at this dingy place. I ordered a Sashimi dinner, interesting that it does not come with soup at this place. I also ordered a Salmon Roe order with quail egg and one mackerel. Plate seemed well decorated and the sushi chef appears to be a professional. Too bad that his team is not at the same level. When still finishing my dinner, I get the bill placed in front of me though I was going to make one last order of sushi. I was asked if I wanted any desert but I don't usually eat desert after raw fish. The lack of professionalism on behalf of the hostesses takes away from the luster and greatness of the master sushi chef. Lack of communication and confusion don't help when you sit at the sushi bar to eat. There has always been an interactive presence of customer-chef in most sushi bars, and some even toast with you; and if there was no reason to toast and cheer, the chefs make up one for you. Eating raw fish is even more delicate than eating raw meat; its bacteria is more detrimental if not fresh enough and feedback from the sushi chef on what you are eating is informational. Their price is decent and product was good. I asked for Uni, Sea Urchin, but don't carry it for its longest life is two to three days only.
Waitresses or hostesses must be more sensitive to customers with the same pace. I paid my bill and said thank you I enjoyed it, but the response was so poor. But really when you pay $40 for dinner, surely someone at premises must tell you please come back and so on.
Sushi bars are great competition today, and searching for a more authentic sushi bar is priority and yet to be found.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corryton, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crunchy delight- you gotta try it.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I visited on my anniversary with my husband. We had a wonderful meal. The dynamite shrimp appetizer was delicious and the crunchy delight was probably one of the best sushi rolls I've ever had. Nice place with a hip atmosphere. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorryTNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
“Best Sushi I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Last night I went to Ronin and I have to say it's the next sushi I've ever had. The wait time was a bit long but the taste and quality if the sushi compensates. Service wasn't bad either the waitresses were all very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Ggthedouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ronin Sushi and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ronin Sushi and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing