We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“makeover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The motel is in serious need of a makeover, it is old and run down, perfect location shame its wasted. Watch for hidden charges of parking your vehicle on the premises $3 a day what a joke.
However is was not expensive to stay compared to others. I have stayed in cheaper motels and got much much more. Make sure you price compare, before you pay. However they will match any latest specials if u ask. We had a beach side room, windows so dirty what a waste of extra premium,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonny61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear valued guest,
I thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of our reviews so that we may better serve our guests. We understand that there are many travelers that are on a budget, so we try to offer our rooms at reasonable prices. We are an older property but strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms. There is a $3. per day charge for parking at our hotel which is to be expected with most Daytona Beach side hotels. I apologize if you found your ocean front window to be dirty. We generally have our rooms inspected ensuring that they are ready to occupy. As for the location, we are in the heart of Daytona Beach, walking distance to the Ocean Walk Shoppes, the Boardwalk and pier, clubs, and Main Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    134
    132
    80
    110
See reviews for
230
141
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tavares, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed June 3-4. Used a coupon from hotel coupon book so we got an excellant rate! The hotel is old so some of the visual aspects leave a little to be desired however, the rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, no smells, no bugs, felt safe. The staff was awesome. Front desk service (John Harris) was friendly, pleasant, very helpful, and very professional. If you are looking for a resort or luxury this is not for you. If you are looking for an economical weekend or week at the beach this is your place. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dva19926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear valued guest,
We thank you for your positive review. All our staff at Conch House make it their goal to give the best quality stay possible. We understand that the majority of our guests are here on vacation and we want it to be enjoyable as well as affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Its a spring break hotel. It does need alot of updating and upgrading, but for the price its ok. Although they didnt vacuum the floor, make our bed in the 5 days we were there, they did give clean towels everyday.The water in the shower was hot and Carla at the front desk was very nice. If you want luxury this is not your place. If your a college kid on spring break, its for you!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyPuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear valued guest,

I thank you for your extended stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not get a daily room cleaning from our housekeeping department. It is customary that all of our guests receive a service unless declined. We are an older hotel with plans for renovations. Our rooms, as they are now, are clean, comfortable, and have a nice color schematic. We offer low rates that are affordable on a budget. While we certainly enjoy our spring breakers, we have a variety of guests that stay with us. Families, seniors, etc. I appreciate your kind words regarding the shower and Carla. We are complimented most often on our showers being hot and having great water pressure. Carla is wonderful. Her main goal is to see that all our guests are accommodated and happy, which is the goal of all our staff here at Conch House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

It was one of the nastiest hotels I have seen...I didnt take my shoes off because the carpet was so nasty..The ceiling was falling apart..The bathrooms were so small you had to go in sideways.They carried a mattress out to the dump while we were there but no sure why??We didn'nt see bedbugs?It needs a major overhaul or tore down..The staff was very nice and it was right on the beach...but that won't get us back there...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear valued guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you were so displeased with your stay. I agree that the carpeting is in poor condition. We take measures to clean our carpets on a regular basis. As it is old, it is very stained. The Conch house has a variety of room types. Some of the bathrooms are larger than others. We did replace quite a few mattresses, that might be why you saw an older one being taken away. We're proud to say that we have a handle on pestilence as we carry the top of the line pest control company, Orkin. We are currently looking at new carpeting and various renovations with our hotel. For a hotel right on the worlds most famous beach and in a central location, we offer clean and comfortable rooms at very reasonable prices. And the staff at Conch House is outstanding in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I went down for spring break with a bunch of guys from school. The place does not look as appealing one would hope, but it actually wasn't that bad given the circumstances. It was near a bunch of bars and strip clubs, you had to be extremely obnoxious to get on the staff's bad side, it was right on the beach, and it was very cheap which is probably the only reason you're considering it at the moment. I'd say its room conditions are worth the price and you're getting a deal when you add in the environmental perks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear valued guests,

I thank you for taking the time to review us and exclaiming that staying at our hotel is a bargain. At a very affordable rate you can get a standard court side room and for just a little more you can enjoy the ocean from your room. You're absolutely right about the location. As we are in central Daytona, we are close to a variety of attractions such as restaurants, taverns, night clubs, churches, the pier and boardwalk, the Ocean Walk Shoppes, and our local water park Daytona Lagoon. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return the next time you visit Daytona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

the lady at the front desk was very friendly, Shari, she was very helpful and seemed to care about our needs. That's really the best I can say about this hotel, it is run down and needs alot of work,but, the location is great and the staff is friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clpdusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We always strive to provide a positive experience for all of our guests. We are currently planning on many renovations to improve the condition of the hotel, so soon we will be able to provide an even better experience for your future visits. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Upon first arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly front desk receptionist, Shari, and she took very good care of us. She upgraded our room from a double to a king size bed for no extra charge, and it was still a beachfront room. However, once we got to our room everything went south. Furthermore, there was not enough parking for everyone in the hotel. The bathroom was less than par with poor water pressure. The room itself just seemed dirty, one night we even found a bug in our bed, that was already dead, which said to us that the room hadn't been cleaned in some time. Another time, we found a dead bug on the windowsill in the bathroom, and again....how do you miss a dead bug when cleaning? The appliances were also very outdated and were stained and didn't seem safe to even use. There were very little plugs in the room and the plug in the bathroom did not seem to be up to code at all...it was practically falling out of the wall. The only thing that saved the room was the fact that we had an awesome view from our room; it was beachfront with our own private balcony.

Room Tip: You really do get what you pay for.....and springbreakers are loud!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We sincerely apologize about the condition of the property and we are currently planning to renovate the entire property. We believe that the renovations that we are planning will greatly enhance the overall experience at the Conch House. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#23 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach
#48 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#82 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites
Roomba Inn & Suites
#43 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront

Property: Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Address: 700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Conch House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the heart of the action at our 100% non-smoking Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront hotel, right on the sparkling beach and blocks from great restaurants, bars, live entertainment and the games and rides of the boardwalk. Our beachfront hotel is also minutes from family-friendly fun like the water rides at Daytona Lagoon. Keep up with family, friends and business on the go with our free Wi-Fi Internet, and soak up the sun in our outdoor pool. Our comfortable rooms feature 39 inch LED flat-screen TVs, ergonomic chairs, guest-controlled heating and cooling and free local calls. Accessible rooms and free parking for one car, per room are also available at our Daytona hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conch House Hotel Daytona Beach
Conch Hotel Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing