We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“scammed us $450 and pocketed the money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flamingo Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Daytona Beach B&B and Inns
milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“scammed us $450 and pocketed the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

awful, very rude management, small gross rooms, scammed us of $450.00 and poecketed the money, manager is constantly snooping around looking for people without wristbands, only paying customers are allowed on the property (this rule is strictly inforced, i personally witnessed 5 pr 6 people being escorted off the property) on the second day we were not ready when housekeeping came and kindly asked if she could come back later. about a minute later, the manager actually came into the room, and told us we had to leave so housekeeping could do their job. (he even kicked my friend who was still in bed) i honestly dont no how they stay in business.

  • Liked — alright pool, nothing special though
  • Disliked — management, very very rude
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler875975784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytonahotels, Owner at Flamingo Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2008
Thank you for your valuable input. We wish you all the best with your next vacation.

Merle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    38
    8
    11
    23
See reviews for
51
54
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bluff city, tn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

Im sorry to say I never got to try this motel Me and my husband both tried calling the hotel to book our vacation several times and each time the phone was answered by someone who didnt understand English and kept saying " call back do not understand englay"
We called back a few times over that week and they kept asking "can you do online cannot understand good englay"
We finally gave up and said nah better not chance this ....

I suggest maybe having someone that can understand english to do the booking.

  • Liked — dont know , the pics looked nice
  • Disliked — noone that answers in reservations can understand you ....
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildstang1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

Our entire family made it back to the Flamingo Inn this year. It was as delightful as it was last year. The weather was perfect! We were able to enjoy our stay agian because of our exceptional housekeeper, friendly staff & just an ejnoyable well rounded place to be. The rooms are always clean & clean smelling. The house keeper this year was exceptional. The private pool area was perfect for our family. We were able to keep an eye on the grandkids easily near the pool. We always felt safe & welcomed by the staff. We will certainly be back next year! All 6 of us!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jasjannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

I had read some of the reviews here and was a little reluctant to book the Inn but the pictures looked nice on their website and I thought maybe the negative reviews were from some of the wild riders or spring break crowds. Boy was I wrong. The things that most struck me odd as I arrived was the big sign that read: "We welcome families with well behaved children" and the surrounding buildings that appeared to be condemned property. (boarded up windows, etc., definately not a good area) I should have seen this as a sign of things to come but still decided to go ahead with it. I really don't want to attack the owners but I can verify what the other reviewers have said about their rudeness. The rooms were not bad but not at all as nice in person as was depicted on the website . I suppose those pictures were from the early days of the units. I did see into one near the office that was nice however. The "ocean front" room that I had booked (paying much more for as well) had only a small window facing the ocean that one could barely see the ocean from. The pool was small but clean and the grassy area near the beach was quite nice for sunning although very small. So we managed to have an OK time at the Flamingo Inn afterall. Then I received my credit card statement after getting home and found that they had charged nearly 200.00 to my card after we checked out that was in addition to the money we had paid for the rooms as contracted. When I contacted them about it of course they were rude and claimed that I was told about this charge which is not true. No offer to refund the over-charge so I am leaving it up to my credit company to deal with. My advice to anyone considering this hotel: Don't!

  • Liked — pool was small but clean
  • Disliked — the owners attitudes
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank butterflydharma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachlove, Manager at Flamingo Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2007
When you made your reservation, you received a rate for 4 adults - over 4th of July long weekend - PEPSI 400. You did mention that your son was going to arrive on Tuesday, and would be staying for 5 nights. However, you omitted to inform management that that he had a wife and children with him. You were also informed on your confirmation that you received from us, as well as posted on the bulletin board, that you were entitled to 2 parking spots. You had your vehicle plus trailer and motorcycle. Your son and his family had another vehicle. Please understand that when you acknowledged receipt of your confirmation, you knew the rules and rates. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, and wish you all the best in with your future vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

the flamingo inn was one of the nicest places we have stayed at in daytona beach.
rooms were spotless & comfortable the property is nicely kept. the owners were very
nice and made you feel welcome. this will be the first place we will call when we come
back to daytona beach next time
thanks from karen & dave room 309

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

Dear Merle, aka Bird Lady
I just wanted to say thank you for Spring Break, it was the best week ever, and the hotel is awsome....I want to come back next year and do it all over again, anyways, thank you for putting up with all the crazy people that week,.........see you next year!
Becky and the girls from 209

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2005

I highly recommend this motel. The rooms were very clean. This is the first place I have stayed at that the bed smelled clean. While this is an older motel it is well kept, quiet and feels a little like home. Great place to stay if you aren't looking for things to keep children busy.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#17 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
#36 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Inn

Property: Flamingo Inn
Address: 2011 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5025
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private,secluded, quiet, relaxing, tropical oasis on the beach, Daytona Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Daytona Beach
Flamingo Inn Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing