We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Beach Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight Beach Stop”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel a couple weeks ago on a Friday night on our way to the Softball World Series in Orlando to get some beach time in prior to the games. The hotel is on the south side of Daytona Beach, and a good distance away from all the "tourist" street action on the north end. Which depending on what kind of action you are looking for has its advantages and disadvantages. Given that we were looking for a quiet overnight stay, this was a positive. We arrived earlier than the 4 PM check-in so we made it a point to drive on the beach and hang out until that time. At 4:05 we pulled into the drop-off area and proceeded in to check-in. It was a literal mad-house of people. One of the desk clerks checked my reservation and apologized because our room was not yet ready. I was pretty disappointed with this, and asked how long because we had dinner plans with friends. She stated that it shouldn't be more than an hour, and took my cellphone number to contact us when it would be ready. We hung out until 5:30 PM waiting until I finally got sick of hearing about 30 other people being told the exact same thing, and then everyone crowding up the lobby waiting to be called about their reservation. I went back to the front desk and asked what the hold up was. This time I spoke to a different clerk, and she told me that our room had been ready to go, which aggrevated me even moreso because we were never contacted. Finally, we got our room keys, however, getting our luggage to the room was no fun because people had used up all the carts while waiting for their rooms, and there was only one main elevator off of the main entrance way. The elevator was only meant for about 8 people, and not air conditioned. The parking spaces in the garage are very tight, and if you don't have a compact are risking dings to your sides. Once all that finally got cleared up and we could relax, the room was great. 2 queen beds, efficiency kitchen with full-size fridge, and large bathroom. The room was very clean, which is a big factor for us! The view of the ocean and beach off the balcony was awesome. The hotel had an activities coordinator who ran games and stuff out on the pool deck. There is ample seating around the pool, including 2 fire pits. The restaurant / bar also has outdoor seating which merges with the pool area. It is a very easy and convenient walk to the beach from the pool area, and a contractor rents beach chairs and umbrellas on this part of the beach during the day. The prices for the food and drinks at the hotel restaurant are a little high as you would expect, but it of course is for convenience. The overall price for the rooms was about what you would expect with this type of rated facility, and was not overly loud and still seemingly private given the number of people at the hotel. We will definitely return to this property in the future. The only issues, again, were with the check-in fiasco. If the management could address that better in the future, there would be no problems at all.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. However, it also means a long, miserable wait for an elevator r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150thBucktailPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your candid comment5s regarding your check in at our resort. You are correct, we are a very busy hotel and frequently at peak occupancy. That being said, we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we have addressed your concerns and suggestions with our management team.

We have three elevators and they do stay busy when we are full occupancy.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit and we appreciate your recommendation of our accommodations and amenities,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    409
    112
    19
    23
See reviews for
676
470
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband, 2 sons and I stayed at this hotel for a quick over night getaway in July. There really isn't anything negative to say about my stay as it was such a quick stay, howvere, I will bullet point quick observations of numerous areas:

* The room I had was clean, and had a side view of the beach and city with a balcony. Simple and to the point. Had the regular amenities you would expect: refrig, microwave, toiletries, coffee maker. I would recommend if you have the ability to stay in a higher room (I stayed on the 5th floor) so you can get a better view.

* The pool area was also very clean, with plenty of sitting areas and music playing in the background. They offered pool games that the kids (and kids at heart) would find fun and entertaining.

* The beach right outside the pool area is very clean and the sand powdery, so it was very easy to remove unlike that course, cling-to-you type of sand found on other beaches. They have umbrella and chair rentals that you can use all day/night -menaing you can rent them, leave for a few hours and come back and still have a guaranteed rental. They seemed to handle this process very well.

*The fitness center: Unfortunately this would be the only thing I would have to say negative about the hotel. It was terrible :(. Only a few machines and the ones they had were so rickety (if they worked) you could here the treadmill going down the hallway. The TV didn't work b/c there was no cable/satellite working so you could either look at snow or use you Ipad/Iphone/Android for entertainment. Also no free weights which is what i prefer, but they did have a weight machine.

* The arcade: I didn't personally use it but It is small and from what my sons told me, only 1 or 2 games out of their 5 or 6 actually worked so they didn't enjoy it at all.

I didn't get the chance to eat anything to comment on the food, but a bonus I did like was you get a ticket for 2 complimentary drinks upon arrival in the hotel bar as a thank you gift. The bar will tell you what drinks qualify, and there is a small fee for any upgrades to your drink selection.

Tip: If you need eye drops, small toiletries, snacks for the room etc, there is a 7-11 directly across the street that will save you a little $ from using the hotel's mini store.

Overall, for an overnight trip it was decent and I would recommend.

Room Tip: I would recommend if you have the ability to stay in a higher room (I stayed on the 5th floor) so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitadj33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We appreciate your choosing our resort for your overnight stay with your family. Thank you for your candid comments regarding our fitness center and game room. We apologize for any inconvenience you experi8enced and your concerns have been addressed with management staff,


We invite you to try us again on your next Daytona visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our go-to place when visiting children and grandchildren in Deland. This time we sprung for the king suite and it was spacious, clean and overall a terrific decision. We were in earlier than expected and ww were able to check in early thanks to the amazing young man at the front desk. Everyone on staff was friendly and so helpful. The fish sandwich was to die for at the restaurant (as was everything we had).
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying on the beach in Daytona. Great experience...we will be back!

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomy and the balcony doesn't have ac unit blowing hot air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatPack38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are so glad to be your hone in Daytona! Thank you for your loyalty and for recognizing our above and beyond team.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would like to start by recognizing the staff. DJ at the front desk was courteous and awesome when we checked out. The room was immaculate and clean. wish the sliding glass door would slide. It was very hard to open in room 509. Restaurant was spot on and the bartender was spot on. we will stay again and suggest others do the same.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel offer oceanfront and pool view from the large balcony. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1313billy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for recognizing DJ - he is indeed a great example of our above and beyond team!

We appreciate your choosing our resort for your leisure time and we look forward to welcoming you on your next Daytona visit,.

Thank you too, for your candid comment regarding the sliding balcony door in your guest room.- this has been addressed with our Chief Engineer,


Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stay often at this location; phenomenally clean rooms, beautiful view of the Ocean and Pool, the staff is extremely friendly (DJ on the front desk and Kelly in the H2O Bar and Grille were especially good). The pool area is so nice and access to the beach is very convenient. I would recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to stay "On the Beach" in Daytona

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floors, best view of the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate YOU! And we are so glad you regard us as your home in Daytona! You are correct - DJ and Kelly are great ambassadors or our above and beyond hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next Daytona visit.

Regares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed with the guest service we received from DJ at the front desk . He gave us an upgrade from being a priority club member and was very helpful with the whole check in process . The beds were so comfortable I could of just slept all day and night . My family and I will definitely be back again next time for a longer stay. Thanks again DJ for you hospitality. Keep it up .....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate your IHG Rewards membership and we certainly thank you for taking time to recognize our Above and Beyond team - particularly DJ - he is truly a great example of our hospitality and guest service.

We hope to become your home when you visit Daytona - please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyce, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

enjoyed this stay very much very happy for restaurant and bar on property. Wanda was outstanding with the people and the rest of the staff just as good, it is wounderful when you are remembered by them. will stay again and pricing was not bad at all with it being a resort area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing our Resort and for recognizing our Above and Beyond team! Wanda is a great addition to our team.

Please join us again soon - we look forward to welcoming you home again!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
4.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
576 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1615 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4903 (Formerly Inn on the Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly on the world's most famous beach. We are a full service hotel. We will have a 3 star, 3 Diamond rating. We offer a Kids Splash park, fire pits, over sized pool, jacuzzi, indoor/outdoor restaurant, room service, private balconies and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Hotel On The Beach
Inn On The Beach
On The Beach Daytona
Beach Daytona
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing