We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So gross we left at 11pm!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Shore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Shore Resort
Ranked #95 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“So gross we left at 11pm!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We got what we were paying for. Got to the room and realized it was older and needed some tlc but gave it a chance. Balconies aren't private and u can look over railing into neighbor's room. Went out for dinner and came back to a hot room, a quarter sized spider hanging from the ac vent and roaches in the bathroom. The room they wanted to move us to smelled like urine. We got our money back and had to find a new hotel at 11pm on a Friday night on a budget.

We weren't expecting much for the price but bugs and no ac is a deal breaker!

Room Tip: Skip it! Pay another $20 for a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests a comfortable and pleasant experience to remember. To hear that we have failed on that aspect is indeed troubling. We wish to extend our sincerest apology for falling short in meeting your expectations. Rest assured that your voice will be heard and we will assess and evaluate our shortcomings so that we may be able to make the necessary amendments to resolve such matters. Please know that the room AC will be given its due attention so that it would be up and running in not time. Furthermore, the bugs mentioned will be checked meticulously so that such occurrence will be avoided in the future. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to improve and correct our deficiencies. We hope that we may be given the chance to give you a far better experience should you reconsider and visit us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    7
    13
    76
See reviews for
45
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked last minute and thought it would be descent enough for one night. That's what we got for thinking! Bathroom light wouldn't work, tv sound screwed up, sliding glass door won't open, the ice machines dont work, and many many more things. No towels or toilet paper in the room. I went to ask for some and I was told that they checked the room the day before and everything was there. I told her to come up there and check. She said NO! This place is a dump! Beware!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashton8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to improve and excel in the delivery of our services by bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write us a feedback, we are however sincerely sorry for falling short in meeting your expectations. We understand that your concern with the problems regarding our facilities and amenities, as well as the lack of supplies in the room have made your stay disappointing and inconvenient. We wish to let you know that we will continually seek to correct our deficiencies so that we may serve you better. We sincerely hope that we may be able to provide you a far better experience should you wish to stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Daytona Beach, which is about every 3 months. My family and I enjoy it very much. Over the years, there have been several owners, each making improvements, but I find that the new management have really done a great job and I can see the improvements they have made.

Carene Darcy, Mgt. of Hotel is very kind, professional, and will help you in any way.
If you have a complaint, I know Carene or the other staff will do there best to assist you.
Just ask.

The hotel is older, and since being a client since the 1990's, I can tell you that under the guidence of Carene, and the staff, they have really upgraded the beds, the carpets, the paint, decorations, and they are trying hard to make this a place where a family can go, have fun, and not have to take out a loan to stay there.

The pool is always clean, the rooms are clean, and smell fresh, the microwave, refrigerator, and coffee pot are great to have. the beach is at your door step, what more do you want.?

What people must realize is this: when you stay in any hotel on the beach, you are going to have people who do not respect the property, and come into the rooms with sand on their feet, dripping wet bathing suits, spill things on the carpet,and the furniture. All those things makes it hard to keep the carpets as clean as one might like, but that is the fact of staying on the Beach! You will find that at most any hotel or motel along the beach.

I have recommended the Ocean Shore Resort to many friends and they too have felt they got a great deal for the money, and will go back time after time.

GIve the new management a chance, try it again, or try it the first time.
I think you will find it as nice as I do to stay there.
With the little store they added, it makes it very convenient, and it is within a short distance to many attractions.
Pat Fry Tampa Bay Area.....

Room Tip: I like the upper level for the views. But for family with small children, I would take the lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We thank you for being our very loyal customer; it is because of guests like you that we aim to challenge ourselves in constantly improving the services we offer. It is our aim to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to make our valued guests feel that they are not just customers, they are in fact part of a family that gives this institution its strong foundation. Thank you for being such a great inspiration to drive us to succeed as we certainly consider you a part of our Ocean Shore Resort family. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The "motel" was very dirty and outdated. Yes it was $50 bucks and yea it was at a great location. But the Slavic management made it seem like we booked a motel in Bratislava. It was so smelly of mildew, and mold. The balcony doors were rusted and old. We do didn't shower of fear of catching something bad. Their lobby is remodeled and that was it. I don't understand how this stuff still operates I wonder how much they pay the inspector to let this place be open one more given day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTsparxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
We sincerely apologize if you have been put through such an upsetting experience. We are deeply sorry for we fell short in meeting your expectations. It has always been our goal to give our clients the value for their money, while giving them a comfortable and pleasant experience. Our aim is to serve you well, and for that we apologize if we clearly failed to do so. There will be an escalation of this issue, and you can be assured that we will further discuss this very important matter in order to prevent this in the future. We hope that we may be able to serve you again, and give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

very back dated only one lamp in the room, the balcony door was broken and the maintence man had to show us how to MAN HANDLE the door and I still could not open it. The TV was complete static on every channel and no wifi. The little store smells really bad and the pool only has a couple chairs, the little pool is not in use and half full of dirty water. No bugs but really needs work

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We couldn’t thank you enough for bringing this very important matter to our attention. Your insightful feedback regarding your hotel experience would greatly aid us in improving our hotel services significantly. We sincerely appreciate all the concerns you have mentioned and we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience it has caused you. Rest assured that we will work harder to address the needed repairs without delay. Thank you for the opportunity you gave to help us correct our deficiencies, we hope that we can give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Being in college I did not expect much, however this hotel made a college frat house look like a 5 star hotel. Rooms were disgusting, air conditioning didn't work, no hot water. On top of this the service was an abomination. Not once was my room cleaned, and on top of this, one of the maids at the hotel had the audacity to smoke a cigarette in the building while "working." I went to the front desk and asked for a pillow, to which the front desk clerk replied, "I will not sell you a pillow." This really confused me as I have never state in a "resort" where pillows were ever for sale. I would not recommend this hotel to any human being who has any care for their well-being. I would strongly suggest spending the extra money and staying at the neighboring holiday inn. Or if you really do need to save money I'd recommend going to the local UPS store and asking for a cardboard box to sleep in rather than the ocean shore resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytonbro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us on how our services have been during your recent stay with us. We understand that you were met with disappointing circumstances during your stay, and for that we are deeply sorry. It is indeed regrettable to know that we have not met your needs with regards to staff services, and the entire room accommodation in total. In lieu of this matter, hotel amenities and facilities as well as staff services will be assessed and evaluated thoroughly to ensure great service. We hope to give you a far better experience next time around, should you reconsider visiting our hotel again. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLUFF CITY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Place is filthy, wanted just a quick night over before traveling futher. Should have picked another place. The rate was cheap.....but regarding this place, was still too expensive. Bathrooms a mess. Rooms not clean. Just avoid this place with a 10' pole. Elavators scary, we too were told newly remodeled, not sure where.......just saw old, tattered wet pain signs.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOceanShoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Shore Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We thank you for spending your time and effort in making us aware of how our services have been during your stay with us. It is however very disheartening to know that certain issues have made your stay very uncomfortable. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had to deal with. Your feedback regarding hotel cleanliness and sanitation, as well as the issue regarding the value for your money will be closely evaluated and addressed promptly. Some of these issues may have been overlooked by us, thus your helpful feedback did not only make us aware of it, but also gave us an opportunity to correct it. We will definitely make proper amendments for us to better serve our valued guests. We hope to give you a far better experience the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#75 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shells Beach Club
Sea Shells Beach Club
#28 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfron...
#29 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boardwalk Inn and Suites
Boardwalk Inn and Suites
#54 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Shore Resort

Property: Ocean Shore Resort
Address: 1000 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ocean Shore Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Shore Resort is a 115 unit hotel located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. We are centrally located in Daytona Beach close to Shopping, restaurants, nightclubs, and the Ocean Center Convention and Sports Complex is less than one mile away. Some of the finest golf courses are only minutes away. The hotel also features an oceanfront swimming pool, kiddie pool and open air sundeck. All rooms include: coffee maker, hair dryers, remote control cable color television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ocean Shore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Shore Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing