We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 202, Stay away!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We were expected to stay in a cute little place by the ocean during our last stay in Florida. Nothing fancy but clean. We rented the place from the owner directly. While booking on the phone the owner made it sounds like the place is well kept. But during our 3 days stay in room 202, it was a horrible experience.
1. Bath tub is extremely dirty, the drain stopper was not even on, and it is sitting on the edge of the tub. Water does not drain properly, so as you shower, you'll see dirty, yucky, blackish stuff comes back from the drain. Very disgusting.
2. No remote control in the room, the owner would not tell you until you were in the room and call her and ask where the remote is, she would tell you the previous guest accidentally took it away. TV only has few antenna channels (with poor reception).
3. The room smells like somebody has been smoking in there for a long time.
4. We did not use their towels until our last day, coming home; both my son and I get rashes on our body from using their towels.
5. There is no air condition in the hallway and the room is adjacent to the trash dumpster, so it always smells bad.
6. During booking, when asked about internet connection, the owner told us sometimes there may not be good reception. But during our stay, we tried many time, we were not able to connect to the internet even once.
Overall, the place is filthy and unhygienic,
After called the owner and reported the problems, she acts like all are new to her and showed no intention to correct the issues.
It is shocking a room in such a filthy condition is still not pulled out of the market.
Please do not rent the place for your health and your loved ones’. Please do not let those lovely pictures on their website mislead you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelfun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We appreciate your review. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

Says it's sleeps 4 however 2 of you should be little kids. My husband , myself, a 23 year old and a 14 year old. Way too cramped. Good for 2 but that's it. Great location, Nice pool. Just ok....next time I will spend the extra money and get a better hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytrailsOcala_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We rented an oceanfront studio suite on the second floor, room 202. We received a discount on our rental because at the time, they were unsure if upgrades to the balconies would be completed before our arrival. This was fine with me, because the owner told me that the construction company had agreed to not work on Thursdays or Fridays of event weeks (we went down for the Coke Zero 400), and we weren't planning on getting to the condo until about 6:30pm or later Wednesday night.
When we got there, the room reeked of cigarettes. It smelled like someone used the room as a pool hall prior to our arrival! We couldn't open the balcony door to air out the place because of the construction outside. No problem, we would go buy some Febreze or something to freshen it up a bit.
As we were unpacking, we noticed the condition of the bathtub. The floor of the tub was cracked and stained and there was a nasty brown ring around the drain. We couldn't get it clean.
There was no remote to the TV, which only had the 5 or 6 antenna channels (with poor reception).
After a mostly sleepless night (the bed was comfortable, however), we called the owner and told her we could not stay here any longer, and she moved us to room 320. This room was not ocean front, it was on the opposite side of the complex, but it was lovely. Clean, but the bathtub was also not something I would want to sit in. After we were moved, the rest of our experience at the Harbour Beach was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessic2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

My husband and I traded our Westgate time share in Orlando for the resort in Daytona. Now it may not be anywhere as fancy like the property we have in Orlando, but it was still a very nice condo and we enjoyed our stay very much.
We had a king size bed ( very compfy) with a large dresser/wall unit with colour tv.and a full bathroom with hot tub and shower right off of it.
Next to that was an entrance to the kitchen which included table and chairs, stove, micorwave, fride, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker and coffee and a kettle. A complete set of glass dishes, stainless steel cutlery, pots and pans, can opener, wine bottle opener, broom with dust pan and cooking utensils. Everything was very clean .
The living roon had a lovely sofa that opened up into a double bed if needed and it had a coffee table, lamps, desk, wall unit with a colour tv. The rooms don't have internet connection but we had no problem with a wireless.
There was a second bathroom with a glass shower which was handy when we both needed to get washed up after the beach.
The living room opened up with glass patio doors onto a balcony with an awesome view of the beach. Complete with plastic chairs and small stool/table.
All rooms face the ocean and mornings were expecially nice watching the sun come up over the ocean while enjoying breakfast or a cup of coffee.
The bathrooms were well stocked with toilet paper, kleenex, towels, face cloths, beach towels and hair dryer.
The kitchen had a supply of dishsoap, dishwsher soap and paper towels.
The only thing we had to supply was shampoo and food.
The building is old but well maintained. We had a broken vertical blind in the living room and a burnt out light. We told the desk in the evening and by the next day it was all fixed.
Overall the resort was great, the desk folk were freindly and helpful and we would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank docqette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I stayed here mid-July and found it to be satisfactory to our needs, i.e. a relaxing vacation at the beach. The hotel is not new but also not old and dingy either. We stayed here for $79 a night for an oceanfront and were pleased with what we got. The view was great, nothing better than looking out on the ocean! The pool was great, big enough for the kids AND adults to swim in. Also, when we were there the hot tub was working fine. The hotel is also located in a convenient location, close to the restaurants and shops, but not on top of all the loud action at night. We did bring our bikes, which made getting around Daytona a breeze. It did appear that the hotel was being worked on, which is a good thing, but we were not disturbed by any noise or by workers. Lastly, regarding posts about pigeons..yes they were present, but name somewhere near the water especially an ocean front that does not have them.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

My two friends and I just recently stayed at Harbour in a privately owned 6th floor condo. When driving up, it was apparent that construction was being done to some of the porches on one side of the building. Walking in, the building seemed a little outdated but seemed taken care of. The pool is definitely a plus. There's lots of chairs to lay out in and tables to eat at. The pool is not always clean of bugs though. Also, because of work on it, the hottub was only open half of the week we stayed. Our room was very nice and taken care of. The only thing we didn't like was the porch. There definitely is a pigeon problem here. Even without feeding the pigeons, they constantly are walking on the porches and there was a large pile of droppings in the corner of our porch, hidden by a plant. It was pretty disgusting. We had a problem with construction noise. Every morning at 8:00 AM, construction began. It wasn't even happening on our floor but sounded like a jackhammer was going into the floor above us. We ended up complaining about his and were told that construction will be going on 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM for a year. If I ever were to come back, it will definitely be after a year. If you are looking to go out at night, waking up at 8:00 each day isn't too much fun. Overall, our experience was good. There are several things that need to be worked on at this place, but it seems like they are moving in the right direction.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Danni415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

My husband and I booked a one bedroom villa through a Westgate owner at Harbour Beach Resort. While the exterior appearance of the resort was disappointing, the interior parts that I saw were not bad at all! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I did see on a bulletin board a memo from the Condo Owners Association to the condo owners at the resort that there was going to be an exterior rennovation of the resort, and they are in the process of voting for various rennovations. There were constantly people there doing some type of work on the resort, but it did not seem to interfere with the guests' enjoyment of the resort.

We were in room 103 and it was spacious, clean and was located on the first floor right by the pool. I did see a few pigeons, but never saw evidence of any pigeon droppings around the pool area or on any of the first floor patios. The furniture in the living room area was comfortable and clean. The bed was huge! The pool area was beautiful and clean. There was a nice hot tub and plenty of beach chairs and tables. The pool hours were from 7 a.m. to 12 p.m., which was a little frustrating when we tried to sleep in a couple of days after being up late. On the other side of the pool was the beach, which was beautiful, clean and not really very crowded.

My only complaints about the room were that the television in the bedroom did not work, the kitchen light was burnt out upon arrival and one of the slats from the vertical blinds in the bedroom kept falling, leaving a small gap, making it necessary for me to change clothes in the bathroom or the living room. These are minor complaints and would not deter me from recommending the resort or returning myself. Maintenance did fix the kitchen light but advised us that the television was broken and that new tvs were on order. Fortunately the television in the living room worked so we weren't totally without tv the entire trip and were able to keep track of the storms at sea, which never caused us one day's worth of bad weather.

There were two bathrooms - a small bathroom with a stand-up shower in the bedroom, and a bathroom off of the living room with a jacuzzi tub. I saw no mold in either bathroom and both were very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, a toaster, paper towls, microwave, stove, etc. and the refrigerator had an ice maker, which was nice. Overall, we had a great time and I can honestly say I would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelingTamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#20 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#46 of 74 in Daytona Beach
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 701 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4511 (Formerly Westgate Daytona Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £88 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Oceanfront Daytona Beach Resort The oceanfront Harbour Beach Resort in beautiful Daytona Beach, Florida, provides spacious villas and easy access to white-sand beaches, watersports, area attractions, championship golf courses and the world-famous Daytona Beach Speedway. Daytona Beach is also a short, one-hour drive to Orlando and its amazing theme parks, including Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort and SeaWorld Orlando. Vacationers have traveled to Daytona Beach for more than a century to enjoy the great year-round weather and Harbour Beach Resort is the perfect place for a resort getaway to "The World's Most Famous Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Harbour Beach Daytona
Harbour Beach Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing