We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I stayed here mid-July and found it to be satisfactory to our needs, i.e. a relaxing vacation at the beach. The hotel is not new but also not old and dingy either. We stayed here for $79 a night for an oceanfront and were pleased with what we got. The view was great, nothing better than looking out on the ocean! The pool was great, big enough for the kids AND adults to swim in. Also, when we were there the hot tub was working fine. The hotel is also located in a convenient location, close to the restaurants and shops, but not on top of all the loud action at night. We did bring our bikes, which made getting around Daytona a breeze. It did appear that the hotel was being worked on, which is a good thing, but we were not disturbed by any noise or by workers. Lastly, regarding posts about pigeons..yes they were present, but name somewhere near the water especially an ocean front that does not have them.

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Disliked — front looks old
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    57
    23
    15
    25
See reviews for
45
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

My two friends and I just recently stayed at Harbour in a privately owned 6th floor condo. When driving up, it was apparent that construction was being done to some of the porches on one side of the building. Walking in, the building seemed a little outdated but seemed taken care of. The pool is definitely a plus. There's lots of chairs to lay out in and tables to eat at. The pool is not always clean of bugs though. Also, because of work on it, the hottub was only open half of the week we stayed. Our room was very nice and taken care of. The only thing we didn't like was the porch. There definitely is a pigeon problem here. Even without feeding the pigeons, they constantly are walking on the porches and there was a large pile of droppings in the corner of our porch, hidden by a plant. It was pretty disgusting. We had a problem with construction noise. Every morning at 8:00 AM, construction began. It wasn't even happening on our floor but sounded like a jackhammer was going into the floor above us. We ended up complaining about his and were told that construction will be going on 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM for a year. If I ever were to come back, it will definitely be after a year. If you are looking to go out at night, waking up at 8:00 each day isn't too much fun. Overall, our experience was good. There are several things that need to be worked on at this place, but it seems like they are moving in the right direction.

  • Liked — The pool and location
  • Disliked — Construction noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Danni415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

My husband and I booked a one bedroom villa through a Westgate owner at Harbour Beach Resort. While the exterior appearance of the resort was disappointing, the interior parts that I saw were not bad at all! The staff was very friendly and helpful. I did see on a bulletin board a memo from the Condo Owners Association to the condo owners at the resort that there was going to be an exterior rennovation of the resort, and they are in the process of voting for various rennovations. There were constantly people there doing some type of work on the resort, but it did not seem to interfere with the guests' enjoyment of the resort.

We were in room 103 and it was spacious, clean and was located on the first floor right by the pool. I did see a few pigeons, but never saw evidence of any pigeon droppings around the pool area or on any of the first floor patios. The furniture in the living room area was comfortable and clean. The bed was huge! The pool area was beautiful and clean. There was a nice hot tub and plenty of beach chairs and tables. The pool hours were from 7 a.m. to 12 p.m., which was a little frustrating when we tried to sleep in a couple of days after being up late. On the other side of the pool was the beach, which was beautiful, clean and not really very crowded.

My only complaints about the room were that the television in the bedroom did not work, the kitchen light was burnt out upon arrival and one of the slats from the vertical blinds in the bedroom kept falling, leaving a small gap, making it necessary for me to change clothes in the bathroom or the living room. These are minor complaints and would not deter me from recommending the resort or returning myself. Maintenance did fix the kitchen light but advised us that the television was broken and that new tvs were on order. Fortunately the television in the living room worked so we weren't totally without tv the entire trip and were able to keep track of the storms at sea, which never caused us one day's worth of bad weather.

There were two bathrooms - a small bathroom with a stand-up shower in the bedroom, and a bathroom off of the living room with a jacuzzi tub. I saw no mold in either bathroom and both were very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, a toaster, paper towls, microwave, stove, etc. and the refrigerator had an ice maker, which was nice. Overall, we had a great time and I can honestly say I would stay at this resort again.

  • Liked — The room was nice and clean, had a beautiful pool area and was on a great stretch of beach.
  • Disliked — The vertical blinds in the bedroom could use replacing and you have to go to the hotel lobby to use the wireless internet.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2007

This Resort was a study in contradictions. It is currently undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation and will certainly be a destination in the future. However, right now you have to have a reason to stay here. It has a beautiful pool and pool area. The beach is great. The lobby area is o.k. and there is a cafe that is open only certain hours.
The place is a strange mixture of privately owned units operated by the Harbour Beach Owners Assoc'n, and other units owned by Westgate Resorts. If you can get a room on the first two, maybe three floors, you will probably have a good experience. Anything above that will be chancy. They have a pigeon problem and the units on either side of us had balconies so full of pigeon poop they made it impossible to use our balcony without feeling sick. Also, the higher balconies have not been kept up and they are not a place you want to spend any time. They outdoor hallways and walkways on the upper floors need renewal. It is not a pleasant walk to your unit. We were in a Westgate unit on the 7th floor that was just o.k. once you were inside the door and if you stayed off the balcony.
I don't know the prices of other places on the beach as we chose this because of Westgate's reputation. It was not up to it.
If you absolutely must be on Daytona Beach, this would be a decent place if you had a lower unit.

  • Liked — beach and pool
  • Disliked — pigeon problem on upper balconies
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2006

This is the worst place i have ever stayed. The night before we stayed in a Motel 6 and it was like staying in the Hilton compared to this place. The people were rude, you couldn't get any service and when you ask its like you are bothering them!! The door said that they would be locked at 7:oopm to 7:00 am, we got back to the hotel at a little after 6:00 pm and we were locked out!! no one to call had 2 small children and we had to wait for someone to come out. It was very dirt. We had a mouse eat our bread and my youngest was scared of the cockroches!! When i complained i was told this is Florida we have cockroches. In other words oh well. The sliding doors wouldn't work. We couldn't wash clothes because you needed special cards and they were out of them. The rooms were dirty and we left early.

Kim Indiana

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — service and was very very dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2006

My wife and I are owners at the Westgate in Gatlinburg, TN, and if anyone has been there they know it's great. It is VERY nice. This was my wife and I one year wedding anniversary and we wanted to go to the beach, so we exchanged our week to the Westgate in Daytona Beach. Let me tell you, this place in Daytona is a DUMP. Westgate needs to sell their space there and move out. I'm actually typing this up from the Cocunut Palm Spring resort in New Symrna Beach, just south of Daytona. I called Westgate and complained and they got Interval on the phone, and they moved me down here. The customer service Westgate and Interval provided was great, they were very responsive and willing to make it right. I'll never go back to Westgate Daytona Beach. Not only is the building rough, the whole area around it is rough. Stay away from here, stay away from Daytona all together. Trust me....

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else, don't stay at Westgate Daytona Beach.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2006

Sometimes a review can be pretty helpful to others....I hope this one is helpful , because I'll tell you... The management there is rude and really dosen't want to get up fom her chair to accomodate you. Towels were a NO NO if you needed any. "QUOTE": You'll have to wait till Wednesday...NO one gets new towels till Wednesday!" Now, that may not be rude to some people, but it was a greeting like " NOW what do you want?" in her eyes.
Construction is good. you always need improvements, but by gosh...TELL us before hand! I sat out on my patio and nearly had a broken piece of cement hit me from the roof. Ya, I know, what kinda lunk head would sit under construction workers? Well, i wasn't really near them, they were actually 5 units away. This had to be a stray one.
Housekeeping is terrible. They had their "Cleaning staff" clean our room before we checked in...... I'm just wondering if these people know how to use cleaning fluids and a mop? The floors were terrible and the walls had some kind of food stain on them near the table. I ended up cleaning the floors myself because I couldn't stand the the stickyness and leftover gunk on the floor from the previous tenant.
It's very hard to recommend this place to anyone unles you're looking for just a place to sleep at night and be out of the room all day.
Good luck, but if you stay in Daytona Beach, go down the road a ways and get into one of the 5 star places. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#38 of 73 in Daytona Beach
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#21 of 73 in Daytona Beach
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#48 of 73 in Daytona Beach
334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#20 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 701 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4511 (Formerly Westgate Daytona Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Oceanfront Daytona Beach Resort The oceanfront Harbour Beach Resort in beautiful Daytona Beach, Florida, provides spacious villas and easy access to white-sand beaches, watersports, area attractions, championship golf courses and the world-famous Daytona Beach Speedway. Daytona Beach is also a short, one-hour drive to Orlando and its amazing theme parks, including Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort and SeaWorld Orlando. Vacationers have traveled to Daytona Beach for more than a century to enjoy the great year-round weather and Harbour Beach Resort is the perfect place for a resort getaway to "The World's Most Famous Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Harbour Beach Daytona
Harbour Beach Resort Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing