We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange room; molding cabinets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Strange room; molding cabinets”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The lobby was nice. Check in staff friendly and helpful... explained that my room could be accessed from the 4th floor of parking garage so I didn't have to come all the way back down. This was a plus! However, the set up of the room was strange. It was oceanfront suite. You walk in the back of the room from the hall to enter a bedroom. There is an ensuite bath in there. Ok, but sparse and plain. You see a hallway and go down and round a corner and down a long hallway and then you are in the kitchen. Then in front of that is another sitting room with a sofa that folds out into a small bed. (This sofa bed was broken and lopsided and wouldn't even push up against the wall evenly... a mess). The bathrooms were not very clean. A huge dead cockroach was in the hallway (i understand florida bugs, but obviously no one checked the room recently). Then the kitchen, wow, the cabinet doors were moldy. Then someone decided to PAINT OVER THE MOLD. Really? That is crazy, but I did get a photo of that and will try to get it off my camera to post it because that was unbelievable. There were a few hairs on one of the bedspreads so I opted to use the other bed only. It was a big room and had a nice view of ocean, but my sliding door opened up to a shared balcony... anyone could walk right up to my sliding door. This didn't seem safe and was actually creepy when at night you see someone walk right by and hang out for a few minutes looking over the balcony then they keep going. Kids did this alot... playing around the hotel, exploring.

My room did NOT look like the photos of the nicer rooms others have posted. So I guess I should have complained, but I arrived later in the day and only stayed one night. If you stay there, ask for a nicer room if you get the one I had.

Room Tip: check the room out before you accept it... you might want to move if it isn't nice. It seems lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocalafergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    270
    129
    79
    83
See reviews for
417
261
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Check in was so fast. Elevators were always available. Our room with balcony looked right over the Atlantic and 2 pools, which were a bit cool. Beds were very comfortable with great linens, kitchen fully supplied, 2 burner stove, although no oven, good shower water pressure and bathroom amenities. Our only complaint was that guests put towels on the pool lounges at 7:30am, and the lounges sat empty almost all day long. Luckily we had our own beach chairs and sat on the beach watching the parade of cars/trucks driving by and watching the ocean tides come and go. If you didn't have your own beach chairs, you could rent 2 lounges with an umbrella and table.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkbatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are now implementing plan to eliminate the early morning "reserving" of the pool lounge chairs. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My fiancee and I booked through expedia and was a tad apprehensive as to what we might get, especially after I called, en route to the hotel with an emergency and needed my doctor to call in a prescription. I asked the hotel representative for the physical address, and or the phone number to the Walgreens directly across the street from the hotel. She was totally unable to provide me with this info. She put me on hold, then I could hear her sarcastically asking someone if they knew the number, then she said she did not have the phone number, I asked did she have a phonebook, she did not.

However, upon arrival. To our surprise, we were pleasantly delighted. Mike checked us in and was courteous and professional. Our room was an ocean view, beautiful view. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a kitchenette with a full refrigerator stove top and microwave that was a nice extra. The male bartender was great! pools were very clean. Overall, we had a really great time, however, there were some cons.

A large group rented about 3 rooms and kept their doors opened most of the time. They had several kids running in and out the rooms. There were older kids as well playing frisbee in the hall. This group or perhaps another was very loud and noisy, late night. They were screaming and yelling. I called the front desk twice, the last call was at 1:00 am, after I was awaken out of my sleep by several people yelling where they were from. The 2nd night was 100% better. I am not sure if that was because the group(s) left or were spoken to.
If they can get a handle on some of the unruly guests and more staff this would be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

BEACH FRONT! Ocean view, multiple pools or another 80 steps puts you in the surf. Older property, but well maintained. Professional, friendly staff. The room was clean, good quality linens, well stocked bath. The room was also equipped with a clean kitchenette. But since we saved $350 to $500 over what we would have paid 6-10 blocks away, we spent it playing around the boardwalk and dining. Sometimes we drove and other times we walked toward "the evening life" until we caught a trolley. Meet several other guests who were equally pleased with the value and conveniences. A good mix of varied age groups from spring breakers to families with children.

Room Tip: Ask for beach towels at front desk and save packing your own. WiFi is free and has multiple access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had an ocean front suite. The bed room and kitchen/living area were separate. Very nice when someone wants to sleep and others are awake. The balcony overlooking the ocean is key for any Florida vacation. This private balcony was perfect. It is also easy walking distance from a nice selection of restaurants for the evening. Walgreens and a grocery store are just across Atlantic avenue, so we could stock up our fridge with drinks and snacks. We could enjoy the beach from the balcony, or go down to the pool and ocean. It was really everything I was looking for. We could really enjoy ourselves and just relax.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and noise in the room was not an issue. I really enjoyed having the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoBlackCatsInMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you... We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Can't say enof, very happy!!!!
From acomadations to the hotel, amenities to the location!!!!
Especialy parking covered or front rowe wether we are talking
about the bike's or trailer or large passenger van you need it
they have it including an indoor pool and bar!!!

Room Tip: Choose a double bed to get a lager room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUNTER11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a race package. Hotel staff were very friendly. Place was clean and beds comfortable. Large pool area. The entire resort is smoke free. Our room had full sized frig, micro wave and 2 burner stove. No oven. There is self parking which is covered. Here you can drive on the beach which is cool.Try the Black Sheep for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panzer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#20 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
2.7 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center

Property: Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Address: 2700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3005
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate comfort and luxurious ocean front accommodation where every unit has a kitchenette at the Daytona Beach Resort. Once you arrive, choose between a dip in our white sandy beach or one of four resort pools. After a morning of swimming and sunbathing, workout in our fitness center. Couples can enjoy an afternoon cocktail at our Reef Pool Bar while children catch waves and place their finishing touches on their sandcastles. Finish the perfect day with a great meal at our ocean front restaurant and head into a deep sleep while listening to the sounds of the waves. Whether you've come to our resort for the sand and the sun, or whether you've come here for an important conference or the wedding of loved ones, we're fully confident our Daytona Beach hotel will accommodate your vacation needs to the point of being unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Resort And Conference Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing