We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daytona Shores's newest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Shores Hotel
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Poughkeepsie NY
1 review
“Daytona Shores's newest hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed 8 nights in room 810 (river-view with a king bed). The views were spectacular and the room was large. My wife's parents stayed 5 nights in room 610 (river-view with a king bed. This room is smaller than 810 because of a cutout to accommodate the soda and ice machines in the hallway. Consequently, the bed is placed to close to the air-conditioner/heater. Avoid room 610 if others are available. The hotel advertises free breakfast, but it only danish, orange juice & coffee. The danish and orange juice were eliminated the 2nd day of our stay with apologies from the staff and never resumed! Fortunately there are many places to eat breakfast a very short drive away among them Denny's and IHop.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Wildcat_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    156
    72
    46
    43
See reviews for
201
181
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stay at this hotel quite a lot when we come to Daytona, and I always recommend it. I love the reasonable prices for oceanfront, the pleasant decor colors, cleanliness and the willingness to work with customers to try to get them in a room with which they will be happy. The staff works with the guests to meet their needs and make the trip enjoyable, comfortable and accomodating. Any problems I've ever encountered with a room or something not working (which have been few), have always been handled quickly and properly to make my stay pleasant and enjoyable from the beginning. The view from all the oceanfront rooms is always like having the ocean in your front doorway and provides an incredible day as well as night view of the ocean. The city side views include the river and provide beautiful views also.The pool area is very convenient to the beach, just steps away, and is always kept clean. The hot tub is always working and clean as well. Towels are provided for the pool and the system to get them and return them is simple and efficient (they don't try to make you sign your life away to use towels). I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Great staff and management!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGSvrga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed fall bike ralley. The place is over priced for a place that has far from nice rooms. Rooms were clean but not in very good shape. The second day we were there someone came in our room and stole $320.00 from my wifes purse while we were in the shower. One very brave sole!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csc133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We had a great time. Service was good and value was great. Will return again next year because of the great value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebird1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b20afive
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I traveled to Daytona Beach with a friend earlier this month and we chose the Emerald Shores Hotel as our destination. Saw the pictures online and made reservations. The front desk receptionist that was working that night (Rose) greeted us by name. I guess she knew who we were because of our very late arrival time. She was very informative and really sweet. The pool is always open, so is the hot tub. Plenty of space to walk about. The pool is kind of small, but deep. There's even a water hose provided to spray off the sand when you come back from the beach. Game room appeared to be nice. We stayed on the 5th floor, our room just happened to have a view of the drive-thru/drop off roof thing, it was kind of odd to look at but didn't bother us -- could have had an oceanfront room for a little more money, but we were on a budget. Rooms are actually really large, up to date. Digital thermostat and the air conditioner even has a motion detector, so it turns the air on or off depending if there's occupants in the room. Great if you come in from the water wet and don't want to freeze your butt off, and good energy conservation. Bathroom was absolutely spotless and a fun color. Shower was powerful and very hot, although the cold setting was the hot and vice versa. Oh well, big deal. Parking lot was full to the rim, the lot seems kind of small for the amount of rooms available, though we didn't have any issue finding spots. I'm sure we were lucky and got one of the last ones. For the hotel to be so crowded, it was very quiet, even during the day. Decided it was time for Steak and Shake at 3am, Rose directed us to the nearest one. She also offered extra towels for the pool in case we needed them. We were treated like family basically. Housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the room when we were on the beach. Continental breakfast wasn't available when I walked down to the lobby at 8:30 the next morning, but who cares, there's an IHOP down the street. Along with Publix and Walgreens and anything else you need. . The beach is very nice, however watch out for cars and stumble into a wooden speed limit sign in the middle of the dark like I did. This hotel was built in 2004 and it appears to have been well cared for since. I'd come back any day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b20afive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

...the Emerald Shores feels a bit like some of the area's older, more permanent fixtures, despite the glossy exterior.

Though we found our 9th floor efficiency almost spotless (request the upper fringes if you want a quiet one folks, the pool area NEVER closes), we also encountered a long list of amenities that were curiously lacking. Our expansive room featured a private oceanfront view (breathtaking...definitely worth the extra $$$!), two queen beds, two burner cooktop, fridge and mini microwave...but no dishwasher. No dish drainer either. Having to wash and dry every cup and saucer by hand, using the already limited supply of bath towels, quickly proved a dull and tedious task. On the upside, the courteous staff did their best to accomodate us, and made sure we never in short supply of any daily necessities.

Outside proved the biggest enigma, as an endless array of cigarette butts and plastic bags repeatedly found their way into the pool and spa area, not to mention an ever thickening layer of sand along the bottom of the pool. This, coupled with a greasy, murky film atop the water left us pondering the curious lack of exterior standards...strange considering the hotel's nearly flawless interior. No restaurant, no cafe or bar, no place for grilling despite a grassy, underdeveloped area on the north side of the complex...just a small, albeit sparkling lobby where a paltry continental breakfast is offered up each morning till 9am. And we musn't forget the rather limited game room through which you must enter from the pool area so as not to drip water along the lobby floor. (?!?)

As our holiday was limited to only a quick weekend getaway, the Emerald Shores served our needs well. Next time however, given the host of options that mark the rapidly aging Daytona shoreline, we might opt for something slightly more accomodating, both outside AND in. Something more, perhaps, than merely a room with a view.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewalrus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

First, let me say that I typically stay in mulit-bedroom timeshare units that are very nice. So when I booked this "promotional" stay at this hotel I was nevertheless going to be skeptical (regardless of what the pictures on the website looked like). I was pleasantly pleased!! The hotel had an appealing lobby with nice furniture, continental breakfast needs a little help, front desk staff were very friendly, pool / hot tub area was basic, access to the beach was excellent, location to attractions, restuarants, etc was good, housekeeping ladies were very accommadating and very friendly, rooms were more spacious than your average hotel room with one of our rooms having a refrig, stove, microwave, pots/pans, dishes, etc. The other room only had a smaller refrig and microwave. Be sure to ask for a room with the extra kitchen appliances. Ask for Beachfront...the "Riverfront" or "Intracoastal" view is not good at all. Definitely want a Beachfront room. The hotel is only 9 stories high, so ask for the highest floor for best view of the ocean and coastline. We were on the 8th floor and had a good view. Parking is very limited...if you are traveling with more than one vehicle (like us) you want to protect your parking spots as best as possible. Otherwise, if the lot gets full you have to park across the street (Atlantic Ave.) and the area is bloched with lower income looking people and houses. Overall...unless I was staying at the Wyndam OceanWalk Resort (where we are timeshare owners), this is not a bad option at all if you are looking for just a clean, fairly spacious place to lay your head and is right on the beach. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabree...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Shores Hotel

Property: Emerald Shores Hotel
Address: 2613 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32127
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Shores is Daytona’s newest oceanfront hotel. The resort features 84 guest rooms including efficiencies, connecting rooms and a Penthouse suite. Start your sunny beach day with our complimentary Continental Breakfast served every morning from 7am to 9am. Bask in the sun, or step off our pool deck to sink your toes into our white sandy beach. The pool is heated seasonally. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Emerald Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Shores Daytona Beach
Hotel Emerald Shores
Emerald Shores Hotel Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing