We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel nice but poor guest service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“Hotel nice but poor guest service”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Second stay at Wyndam location and had same experience with poor guest service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcook2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    605
    355
    263
    250
See reviews for
1,148
325
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Pros-great beach location; Ocean front; next door to the restaurants at the Boardwalk. The pools are great, especially if traveling with children. Great splash zone for the little ones. Lazy river is also a plus. For Daytona, you probably will not find a better selection of pools/water options.

Cons-The rooms are dated and need remodeling. If you are a room person, this may not be the place. Also, we went with our family and a set of grandparents. We reserved a one bd rm king and the GPs also reserved a separate one bedrm king. We checked in at different times and both of us were given a one bedrm w two queens. We both had a little bit of a hassle actually getting the rooms w kings. Other guests said that, regardless of what you reserve, you don't get a king one bedrm unless you insist on it at check-in.

Also- in our one bedrm, we had 4 towels for 4 people and one travel bar of soap for a 6 day stay. Yes, they have washer/driver, but when 4 people are at the beach all day and no one stays in and does laundry, you need at least 6 towels. Also, one travel soap is not sufficient. I asked for extra towels and one extra bar of soap and the front management said no. I had to make a special request to a supervisor- something about my condo was owned by another company or individually owned and they would not provide additional towels or an extra bar of soap. Really? This soap request had to be elevated to the next level- not kidding.


Take home message: nice pools, but do not expect the full Wyndham experience as far as rooms or service. But, it is one of the nicer options in Daytona (we had other family obligations right outside of daytona and combined it w a beach trip, or we would have probably picked a different beach location altogether).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Slide was closed and pool deck was under renovation and they said nothing about it when we made the reservation.

Nothing really stood out about this hotel over others we stayed in.

Beach was nice but the beach rental umbrellas, chairs etc. were outrageously priced.

Parking garage to guest room access was very inconvenient.

For the price I would look at the Hilton or Plaza which is right next to this property on each side.

Staff not all that helpful.

Not a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Boden, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our 4th stay here, and cant find that much to complain about. The staff is friendly, the front desk staff is more than helpful. The place is clean, a little worn but hey, its a popular place. The elevators is a little slow yes, but...there are a lot of ppl using them at the same time.
We always rent from owners, so maybe that is why we are so pleased. The only complains I have its that some ppl go out early to book poolchairs by putting a towel on them and the leave for hours. Thats not nice!

Room Tip: Rent from owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Walk for a weekend by accident. We were booked at a neighboring resort that overbooked their facility so they transferred us next door to the Ocean Walk. We were thrilled with our room. One bedroom condo with full kitchen and living room. Even a washer and dryer that I didn't think we would use but it came in handy as I was able to wash our workout clothes after we used the workout facility. The downfall of the weekend was that it rained (record breaking amounts) the entire time we were there except for the morning we left. We never went to the beach, never used the pool, never even went on the balcony. I can only imagine how much better it would have been with sunny weather. That being said, we thought the resort was great, enjoyed some time at the bar in the main lobby. The room was wonderfully clean and neatly decorated with a beach theme for a beach resort. We did not receive housekeeping service which was not a problem for us as we were only there 3 nights. Parking was free, in an attached parking garage. If I could make one change, I would have wifi accessibility in the rooms. It was only available in the lobby bar. We would definitely consider staying here again. Next time maybe we'll see the sunshine. Thank you Ocean Walk for a very nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler,46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The most discussing place I have ever seen in my life. Got to our room, door didn't work, security opened the door and we were horrified. Entire room was full of mold. Customer service was non existent. Toby, the supposed Manager on Duty was rude and belligerent. Jasmine at the front desk was horrible. Just an over all horrible experience. Tried telling us that the mold, which covered 90% of the 2 bedroom condo was from the recent rain. Because we rented from a private owner they would give us no break on another room. Told us mold was only in that room. That is absurd. Have called the Volusia County Health Department as well as the EPA. If mold is that bad in one room it has to be in the building. I was in the room less than 10 minutes and it actually burned my throat.

Room Tip: Don't go here and subject yourself or a loved one to toxic mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda34224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaGleason, General Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We sincerely regret that the guests found the unit in the condition that it was in. However, the unit that was rented was obtained from an individual owner not affiliated with the Wyndham rental program. Due to this relationship, Wyndham does not maintain, clean or even enter the unit in question.

The additional options that were presented were units that exists in the Wyndham rental program and subject to the rates that are set for those units. It was unfortunate that the guests did not find these alternatives acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

After riding a motorcycle from PA, pulling a small trailer behind it, we pulled into the wyndham in the middle of a rain storm with strong winds to be told to move that trailer off the property immediately, NO YOU CAN'T UNLOAD IT HERE! Attached to the bike it is no longer then a car and half the size. So 2 blocks away is a parking garage that costs $20 a day for this little trailer. The other couple that drove down has their car in the parking garage. Was informed 1 car or 4 bikes, WHAT A RIP OFF.....AND NO THEY DON'T CARE IF YOU NOW HAD TO LUG YOUR LUGGAGE FROM THE PARKING GARAGE 2 BLOCKS AWAY

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
954 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#35 of 102 in Daytona Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Ocean Walk Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing