We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility Good - Room not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Facility Good - Room not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The lobby and pool area was great. Room was a bit dated, had poor water pressure, lacked coffee and wifi - Things you'd expect at even a lower end facility. The front desk said the "condo owners" elected not to offer the Wifi, although you can sit in the lobby and hook up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse84515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jesse84515,

Thank you for your candid feedback. Although I am glad you enjoyed the facility, I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your unit. Please understand that there are many ways to book at Ocean Walk, one of which is through an owner directly. This could explain why your unit was not equipped to our standards. To avoid this in the future, please book through www.extraholidays.com. The units offered through this program are well equipped and offer the amenities you lacked in your recent stay. We hope you will consider returning to experience Ocean Walk again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    606
    356
    263
    250
See reviews for
1,150
325
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Check in for this place was at 4pm. There were long lines at check in. Then I was told the room wasn't ready, because housekeeping was running behind. We had to wait for two hours until the room was ready. During that time, I had to stand in two more lines. One line was to get the pool passes and the parking pass, only one car could park on the property, (we had a party of eight) they said the other car had to park across the street at a parking garage, and no one knew how much it would cost. Then I had to stand in another line to wait to see how much longer it would be until my room was ready. Then we had to wait for carts to take our things upstairs and then had to wait in a long line for the elevator. When we got to the room, there weren't any towels in one bathroom or sheets for the pull out sofa bed. We called them for more towels, sheets, washcloths, and pillowcases. Three hours later they brought towels and sheets. They said they didn't have any washcloths or pillowcases on the property. The furniture was old and uncomfortable. I would NEVER stay at this place again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zxyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Zxyh,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is not acceptable that you were checked in after guaranteed check in time, nor the condition your room was in. Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered with the unit and crowds. Rest assured that I will share your comments with our Management team and we will utilize your feedback as a tool to improve our services. We hope that this isolated experience does not tarnish your confidence, and we hope that you will reconsider returning to Ocean Walk. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Derek.Shelly@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Aroma Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The reviews tell the story. There are almost as many terrible reviews as excellent ones.
It is a GREAT location, a more than OK facility and TERRIBLE staff. They will promise anything and deliver almost nothing.
What you need to understand is this is not a normal "hotel/resort". It is a timeshare, they rent out unused units. Some of these units are good, some terrible. The front desk is so used to complaints they JUST DO NOT CARE. If you really need help, you will not get it. Yes, there are some really good people at the resort, just not in management.
If you want to stay here, DO NOT RENT from the front desk. Use one of the online renters such as daytonaoceanwalk.com. (local office that will help much more than the front desk, has own cleaning staff, I believe these are privately owned units). Either way expect NOTHING from the front desk.
I do owe thanks to Oceanwalk. My husband was considering buying several weeks at Wyndham. The plan was to become a platinum member and spend most Chicago winters staying different Wyndham complexes. This trip ended that.

Room Tip: rent on line fromm someone that OWNS and cares for the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHERI60901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear CHERI60901,

Thank you for your feedback. Allow me to clarify, the Resort is a mixed use property, mostly timeshare, and wholly owned units. Some of the whole owned units are available on a nightly rental basis, much like a hotel. It seems as if this was the type of booking you chose. Regardless of booking type, our staff and Management is committed to providing world class service to everyone, and I regret that you did not receive the same level of treatment. Rest assured that we value your business. Please contact me directly so I can understand what specific issues you encountered so that I can attempt to resolve them.

Sincerely,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Derek.Shelly@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved the location of this resort as well as the 2 outdoor swimming pools, lazy river, and kids water area. We didn't use either of the 2 indoor pools. We also loved the beachfront as well as the short walking distance to many activities. We had several issues with the room but the resort took care of those issues. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorryNLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear CorryNLisa,

We are so glad you enjoyed our pools and beaches! Although I am glad the staff resolved your issues quickly, I apologize that you had to take any time from your stay to report issues in your unit. We will certainly do a better job of being proactive next time. Regardless, thank you for choosing Ocean Walk, and we hope you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We love Ocean Walk Resort! We just got back from a 9 day stay and everything was wonderful! We have been staying here for many years now and it is just amazing!! Our children and grandchildren love this resort and always look forward to our vacation! It is a beautiful place with several pools and a lazy river! It is next to the Ocean Walk shops and great eating places! Our check-in was fast and the people at the front desk were very friendly and nice. We stayed in a three bedroom and it was great! If you want a great vacation stay at Ocean Walk!

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Clara165,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for taking the time to provide positive feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and will share your encouragement with the team. We hope you allow us an opportunity to host your visit again soon.

Sunny Regards,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I have to say the views are great and staying here, everything is within walking distance... Mostly. All you'll need anyways for a family vacation with 2 small kids. The rooms are definitely outdated. Looks like they threw furniture together to match. Still... It is Wyndham and it comes with there great guest service. Not the nicest Wyndham resort I've been in but far from the best. If your looking for a decent place to stay for a few days it's nice. Anything more than 3 days it gets old real fast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Justin H,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you received good service and enjoyed your stay overall. Please rest assured our units are on a strict 5 year refurbishment schedule meaning they are refreshed and renovated on a regular basis. We hope you will consider returning in the near future.

Sincerely,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow, Alaska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I came here for my birthday and Father's Day weekend. We were in a 2 bedroom deluxe unit and it had everything we needed. It took about 30 minutes to check in when I got here on Saturday which is a little long but it is a busy time of year so I guess it was to be expected. Every day that I've been here around check in time they have popcorn in the lobby which I thought was fun for the kids.

At different times of the day they had things to do for children and adults. Today was ice cream sundaes for $3. They have a lazy river, a kiddie pool, as well as an arcade in the lower lobby. The only downfall I would have to say is that you have to sign out beach towels and then return them to the activities desk before you leave. I've stayed at many Wyndham resorts and they are normally just in your room when you arrive. It is a bit of an inconvenience.

The resort is located in the heart of Daytona so there is no need to drive anywhere. It's located right on the beach with beautiful views. I was in an ocean front unit so we woke up every morning to the beach views. It's located right across the street from a pizza place and many tourist shops as well as a 5 minute walk to the pier. As far as the beach goes, you have to get there quite early in the morning to get a good spot unless you want to rent a beach umbrella for $30.

Our children had such a fun time and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thunter1282010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear thunter1282010,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us for Father's Day weekend. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the family activities and amenities our Resort has to offer. Although there is no doubt Daytona Beach is a popular place to visit and the summer months attract a higher volume of people, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for considering a return visit, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Derek Shelly
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Ocean Walk Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing