We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Ocean Walk Resort...An Outstanding Experience!”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wyndham Ocean Walk Resort...An Outstanding Experience!”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed at the Ocean Walk Resort for 1 week during Spring Break in March. We LOVED the property! The rooms were wonderful--clean and modern, also a lot of room! The staff was very helpful and polite. They seemed genuinely interested in helping us have a great vacation experience. The front desk, concierge, and even maintanence departments all provided excellent service. What a refreshing experience! (We have had some other not so great experiences at Florida resorts and hotels.)

We found this to be the perfect location for our family. We were traveling with our kids- age 19 and 20, so the location was perfect. Enough to do, but not much wild stuff going on! Our room was very quiet- no problems whatsoever.

We definitely plan to return to Daytona Beach and definitely plan to stay at the Wyndham Ocean Walk Resort again. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer this time!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    635
    373
    268
    261
See reviews for
1,210
343
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BATTLE CREEK MICHIGAN
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

first of all it was bike week,we are bikers..we do not drink,fight or cause a ruckus,the front desk treated us like second class citizens everytime we asked for anything..the hotel is awesome for location, close to main street,convention center,eateries. Nice pool, although it is shaded by early afternoon,get sun in the a.m. inadequate parking for large events..they seemed overwhelmed and understaffed with all of the bikers,I think bike week is every year, no excuse for being understaffed..the maintenance staff was very friendly, gave us directions. Not bothered by timeshare sales, nice beachfront, next to Bubba Gump and Johnny Rockets (hamburgers!, chili cheeze fries) when we checked out they actually asked us if we had remembered to strip the bed linens and get all of the towels near the door!! it is listed as a luxury resort...nice place, not luxury only wi-fi is in the lobby

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgieske347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My family and I have stayed there twice and we love it! The rooms are very spacious and have okay furniture. The pool are great, clean, not that crowed but they are not very warm. The mini-golf is great, inside, but can get busy on rainy days and during the evening (but that's a given). The shops are great! There is a movie theater, a few restaurants (Johnny Rockets, Starbucks, and more) surf shops, and stores that your wouldn't find at home. and it is nice because you have to use your room key to get from the beach to the pool so not just anyone can use the pool. It is also just a short walk to the boardwalk.
The down side is there are never enough dishes to last two meals (you have to wash after every meal), there aren't remote's in every room but if you call down they will bring you one. The check in is slow and sometimes you have to wait.
Others than that it is a very nice great place!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspeanut1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This was our first use of our Wyndham timeshare points. We were very pleased with the service and had no problems being bothered to listen to a sales pitch. We had the option of going to an update meeting and getting $80 in coupons to Disney or places to eat, but no pressure to attend.

Due to staying midweek to midweek we had two reservations and had to change rooms. The first part of the stay was a two bedroom ocean front. We loved it. It wasn't the pretty blue decor with dark kitchen cabinets in the pictures(must be in the penthouse), but it was very nice. We especially liked there were two patio doors with a double balcony. Seemed odd that none of the windows opened so people not in the master couldn't hear the surf.

The second part of the week was less satisfying. We had a 3 bedroom/2 bath. We assumed if the 2 br was nice and large the 3 br would be more so. NOT!!! I think the square footage was the same everything was just smaller to squeeze in the extra bedroom. There was still only seating for 4 in the living room and the dining area was much smaller. The worst part was two bedrooms had windows to the hall. You had to have the blinds closed all the time so people couldn't see right in and light was a problem at night. Again no windows opened so the only way to get fresh air was through the balcony door. The deck was only a single deck rather than the double for the 2 br. Unless you absolutely have to have the extra bedroom book the 2 br.

The livingroom furniture and beds weren't particularly comfortable.

Overall though we were happy. The service was excellent. We would return, but would not get the 3 bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We came during the off season and it was great. Our two-bedroom place was HUGE with a large balcony overlooking the ocean. I'm glad we were here during the off season because it was not crowded at all. No waits for the elevator, no problem getting a chair by the pool and not a single proposition for a timeshare. Those are the three concerns that I read a lot about but they aren't issues in the off season.
We enjoyed taking our son for walks along the boardwalk and on the beach. They have an area where kids can play in the lower level which was nice.
The staff at the front desk was not very friendly, we never had anyone come by to clean our room or bring us fresh towels which I thought was weird. The screen doors on both our rooms were totally jacked up and didn't open and close properly. Those are all minor issues though. We will definitely come back again...probably when the weather is a bit warmer but still hopefully avoiding the peak season. I imagine it would be pretty crazy around here at peak time. Yesterday almost 75% of the pool chairs were filled even though it's pretty dead around here, those would go in a flash during peak season.
I also had continuous wifi in our room which was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitPrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed athe the Wyndham Ocean Walk when it was still called the Ocean Walk Resort and LOVED it! Most recently I was in Daytona with friends for spring break and found a great deal through a timeshare website - but I have stayed here under many different circumstances (ie : spring break with college friends, vacation with family and little sister, getaway with my boyfriend) and the hotel accomodated me in every aspect.

The rooms are HUGE and clean with all the amenities you could want---including a washer and dryer in the unit which was a huge plus. Full kitchen with all appliances, large bathrooms with tub and glass shower, nice balcony with ocean view.

Location is great ...there is a parking ramp if you rent a car or drive, so parking is not an issue. The Ocean Walk is connected to a complex of shops and restaurants and offers many dining choices. We really liked the Maui Nix Surf Shop with some great swim suits and gifts. Bubba Gumps Shrimp was just OK but had a fun atmosphere. There are other shops, ice cream stands, restaurants etc. in the complex and behind this area there is a bandshell. The first time we were there there was a car show in the bandshell (not really our thing)....but the second time there was some type of local band playing -- SUPER fun, dancing, singing, drinking. Great time!

We like to walk down the beach to the pier and also ate at the restaurant there once -mediocre food at best, service was not good! but the pier is fun!

The hotel has a mix of college kids, businessmen, and LOTS of families! The pool area is great with an awesome lazy river. This is definatley a family friendly resort, complete with a kids club!

  • Liked — Location, Value
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coopmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed at the Wyndham Ocean Walk for a week of R & R and were very pleased with our stay. Room 1808 is a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, roomy living area, clean, modern bathroom and a king size bed with plenty of closet and drawer space in the bedroom. Our room was very clean with minimal ware or stains and the kitchen was fairly complete for preparing and serving basic fare and also included a washer and dryer stack. The suite's main attraction was the ample ocean front balcony with plenty of space for the two chairs and small table supplied by the hotel. The facilities of the property were well kept and were all any couple or family would need for a very enjoyable stay at the beach. Three pools with a kiddee area and a lazy river and a big twisting slide will keep the kid in all of us busy for a while and the famous beach is right across the the cement "broadwalk" from the pool area. There is also a pool bar and grill as well as 3 large hot tubs and 2 indoor pools. The only drawback we noticed to this area was that the sun tucks behind the building by 1PM and the whole pool area is in the shade the rest of the day.
The hotel is adjacent to a 4 level mall/food court arrangement with a movie theater and several chain type restaurants. and across the street there is an amusement park / water park. The hotel's location is also close to other restaurants, super markets, and attractions.
The Ocean Walk has everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay and you should consider it for your beach holiday as well.

  • Liked — A complete condo that made us feel at home
  • Disliked — The pool area is in the shade by 1PM.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Ocean Walk Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing