We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gatorville Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Very, very disappointed. Room was not what was advertised second bedroom was not a kings size bed instead two doubles (two adults could not sleep on) Aside from the disarray of the room. For instance: holes in the doors, wallpaper falling of the walls, a noisy dyer, washing machine did not work. Called for blanket and pillows all three days, never received pillows even after complaining at the front desk. We didn't want extra there were not provided for the pull out couch ! Outside on pool deck security always present but we still have a camera and a bag stolen in broad daylight. This probably happened because of the lack of appropriate wrist bands for the pool (they ran out for several days) So anyone could come onto the pool deck from the beach and security let them in. We were told that four bags were stolen that day and that security was not owned by the hotel they were contracted to an outside company.The pool was cloudy,sandy,salty and many times a hairball(serious) and other stuff would float by. There was little difference between the pool and the ocean.WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjhamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    606
    356
    263
    250
See reviews for
1,150
325
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

My husband and I visited Ocean Walk during mid-May and had a pleasant stay. It was our first visit here. The resort is comfortable and clean and we found several things to like about it. There is a nice bar and restaurant inside of the resort. Additionally, there is a shopping, restaurant, and move theater complex (Ocean Walk Shoppes) next door to the resort where there are several great places to eat, including Cold Stone Creamery and Johnny Rockets. You are able to get to the Ocean Walk Shoppes directly from the resort; there is a connecting hallway which we found very convenient.

We found the resort staff friendly and helpful. Halfway through our stay our room key card stopped working and the staff apologized and immediately replaced it. The staff was also very helpful in answering any questions we had. We felt very safe at the resort, too. Your room key is required to get into the parking lot and pool area (if you are coming from outside). I noticed there were always several security guards at the resort at all times, including one at the front entrance and one in the back pool area.

There is a gift store, small convenience store/grocery store, adult lounge (consisting of a pool table and a few computers), computer room, arcade, kid’s craft area, and miniature golf area in the resort. The resort is within walking distance of many eateries and gift shops and within driving distance of several pharmacies and grocery stores, including Publix, Winn-Dixie, and Walgreens. There is a gate the leads from the pool area to the ocean, which is also very convenient.

The resort appears to be kept up well. The outer appearance is very nice and looks much better than many of the other hotels in the area. The unit we stayed in was very clean and all of the furniture was comfortable. There was a washer and dryer in the unit, which was very convenient. I would suggest bringing your own laundry detergent or buying it somewhere other than the resort, though. You are given a small amount of laundry detergent initially, but even with just my husband and I, we quickly went through this. The laundry detergent sold at the resort was overpriced.

As much as we enjoyed our stay, there were a few things we were not entirely happy with. Using the internet is very difficult at the resort. The wi-fi signal is only in the lobby area and the signal was very weak, though we tried moving to several different spots in the lobby. There is a computer lab in the basement, but there were only a handful of computers and they were always occupied. The resort has an outdoor bar by the pool, but it closed very early in the evening. We were also disappointed in the activities the resort offered. The week we visited had very bad weather. There were several severe thunderstorms and an unusually large amount of rain that made outdoor activities impossible most of the week. There were a couple of days during our week-long stay that it rained nonstop from the moment we woke up in the morning to the moment we went back to bed that night. The resort staff called our room on those days with a message I assumed went to all rooms at once. The message always began by stating it was a “Liquid Sunshine Day” and the resort had planned activities to keep guest entertained. The activities were very disappointing, though! The resort showed movies on these days, but they were always movies that have been released for a very long time, such as Disney’s Monster’s, Inc. (Monsters, Inc. was actually shown on two different days during our stay, so it seems the resort has a very limited movie collection to chose from!) Bingo and karaoke were also offered on a couple of different days, but this was it as far as activities for adults went. I cannot comment on the activities offered for kids, though I think there was a daily craft offered for children. The resort does have movies for rent for viewing in your own room, but their movie collection is very outdated and I only saw VHS tapes for rent.

The resort has several outdoor and indoor pools and two outdoor hot tubs. However, there were not hot tubs accompanying the indoor pools, which I found strange (usually if there is an indoor pool there is an indoor hot tub). The two outdoor hot tubs did not seem big enough to accommodate a resort this size. On the few days it didn’t rain, we had trouble finding a time when the hot tubs were not too full for us to use.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this resort, as it looked to be one of the nicer ones at Daytona Beach. I would suggest that anyone staying has a back-up plan for what they will do if it rains several days in a row during their visit, as the resort doesn’t offer enough to keep you occupied if you can’t go outside.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

As a VIP owner of Wyndham Timeshare points, I have had mostly good things to say about different Wydham properties. Ocean Walk in Daytona Beach, Florida, is a different story. First, as a VIP owner, I am supposed to be given priority for room selection (or atleast that's what they promise at the owner update sessions). On this trip, we were put in the South Tower. To put it politely, the South Tower is run down. The cabinets are chipped and peeling, there was missing kitchen tools, no pillows or blanket for the fold out couch, and moldy looking patio furniture. The front desk was polite about the shortcomings of their facility, but offered nothing to correct the situation. The only thing they offered was to send us out to dinner to make up for it.
This fall they plan to start renovating the South Tower. Until then, I suggest you stay away, or demand to be placed in the North Tower. The sample rooms they show you during the "owner update" presentation are located there, and they look pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rastajeff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Statesville, NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

I read all of the reviews and was a little worried about what to expect, but my experience was great. Check-in is at 4:00pm - not a minute sooner - you've read it many times and it is true, so just don't get worked up about it. We (family of 6) arrived about 1 hour early, so we just walked around the resort until 4pm. The young man at the check-in desk was very cordial, and he go us pre-registered and parked, so we could just pick up the keys at 4:00 and get righ to the room.

The room (oceanfront 2br on the 10th floor) was very nice, and it did not show some of the wear and tear that many beach hotels have. It's a little wierd this day not to have internet in the room, but we adapted. The kids also thought their view of the coke machine from the 2nd bedroom was funny (our oceanfront view from the master bedroom was just fine.)

Pool chairs were tough to come by, but we had a great time out on the beach in the morning ($25 to rent 2 loungers and a big umbrella) and then hit the pools after the crowds left. The beach is clean and wide, and a nice tidal pool and sandbar appears at lowtide - perfect for the kids.

Oceanwalk next door was convenient for food (we ate at a pizza place and Bubba Gumps, and there is also a Johnny Rocket's over there.) The water park across the street was great for kids (don't remember the price.) We also saw a movie at the Oceanwalk theaters. There's a Starbuck's at Oceanwalk too.

Overall, very few if any complaints. Great room, great price, great location (no beach raffic in front of the hotel either.)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkbocl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

If you want to pay "luxury resort" prices for Motel 6 accommodations, then this is your place! If you want to check-in to a "zoo", then this is your place. The only thing the Wyndham has going for it is location. Service? Non-existent. No valet parking, no bell assistance with luggage, no room service, no in-room internet connection, no daily room cleaning. Want clean towels? Better find a maid's cart -- they tell you to wash your own. Yes they provide a stackable washer/dryer in 1-bedroom units, but who wants to do laundry on a vacation weekend? When you walk into the lobby you feel like there is absolutely no control over the place. It's like a free-for-all with a lot of "lower class" people with tons of unruly kids running around in wet bathing suits dragging their blow-up air mattresses behind them. Smelly old men with Speed-o bathing suits in the elevator. Elevators? Only 4 small ones and SLOWER THAN A SNAIL. Don't even think about trying to get on one with luggage. That's a 30-minute wait to find one that's even close to being able to accommodate you and your luggage. Oh yes, did I mention the Spa? Or rather the non-existent spa--they advertise one, but it is permanently closed.
Don't waste your money here. Instead book at the Hilton right next door. At least they can truthfully say they are a luxury resort. The Wyndham is a Section 8 housing project!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badtimedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

I was disappointed and expected the rooms and property to be much nicer. I don't know if this is a privately owned unit or not. (1627) I rented online and assumed it was a Wyndham hotel. We rented a two bedroom oceanfront unit in the north tower. I can't complain about the size, the unit was huge with pleanty of room. The two full/queen beds in the first bedroom were in horrible shape. The mattresses were sagging in the middle and were as far from luxury as you can possibly get. Unfortunately I got stuck with that room and did not sleep for two days. The pillows were also flat and the linens were heavily used and needed to be replaced. Even a matress pad would help. The king bed was also hard as a rock and way past it's peak. Seriously folks ... the beds were horrible. The kitchen and dining area was absolutely fine. The living room furniture was a bit grubby and needed cleaned. Balcony was nice and the view was awesome. Traveling with teens, finding something to do was not a problem. They enjoyed the pool and lazy river. The pools are on the verge of needing resurfacing or something .. they appear more green than blue. None the less it was fine. The tiki bar at the pool was fun ... but it closed really early ? Not sure why. We had no problems with check in or the service. They are a little stingy on parking ... only one vehicle allowed. I guess if this is a privately owned unit someone needs to tell the owner it needs some work ... if this is a Wyndham unit I'd say their standards have gone down hill. This is not a luxury property by any means but all in all we'd go back but hope for a better unit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed in rooms 1211 a/b and we had a great time. The owner we rented from was very nice and very professional. The rooms were in great condition and were well taken care of. The only small complaint was that the hotel could have more computers. Their so-called business center had 3 computers in the adult section that were not that great. Their were 4 more computers in the general area, but kids usually had the run of those.
The activities desk personnel were very helpful. We checked with them approx. 5 times for different activities/events. The a/c went off in some of the rooms and a maintenance man was in our room at 11pm making sure it was working efficiently. One other time we asked that someone check it and they were there in 15 mins. Kids seem to really enjoy themselves here and we will probably come back and rent from the same individual when we do.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Ocean Walk Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing