We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough deck chairs -- dealbreaker”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2010

People who have visited this hotel before know that in order to have a chair at the pool, you must line up at eight am with a bunch of towels. You rush in when security opens the pool at eight fifteen and drape your family's towels over as many deck chairs as you can. ALL of the chairs are draped with towels by eight thirty. Those chairs are claimed by those people for the entire day. So unless someone in your party wants to be part of that early morning chair rush, stay elsewhere. The hotel is nice enough, nice pools, nice beach but how can you enjoy the pools if you have nowhere to sit?

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,256 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2010

This was our first time staying at this resort. We booked a vacation after viewing your resort on-line. My family was impressed with all the activities available daily. The variety of pools were enjoyable. We took part in movie nights by the pool, kids crafts and contests, music and dances and volleyball daily.

We would like to make a few suggestions to improve the appearance of your resort. Our children loved swimming in the big pool with the water slide. My husband and I wanted to avoid this pool as there we huge chunks of hair floating in the pool. We were disappointed that the pool was not cleaned daily. We believe that this could be avoided with the proper care. In addition, when we took our girls to use the restroom by this pool there were six toilets filled with fecal matter and paper. We can understand that people can be irresponsible but we were disappointed that staff members did not check and clean the restrooms periodically throughout the day. Lastly, we would appreciate that spills and trash be cleaned up off the pool deck occasionally. This is a large resort and we believe that constant supervision of these areas are necessary for good health and enjoyment. We felt the priority of the staff was to monitor pool chairs and not the overall cleanliness of the pool area.

We hope you will take these suggestions into consideration to make these well needed improvements. We look forward to returning next summer and are encouraging four more families to join us. We truly had a wonderful time at this resort and can see ourselves making this a habit.

Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Eddie and Kristen Antkoviak

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kantkoviak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

hotel very pretty, clean. booked hotel for 4 people and was given room with king size bed and nothing else for 4 people. Had requested room no higher than the 6th floor and was placed on 19th floor. unable to find ice machine and no way to make ice in freezer. Security told us to call front desk when asked where ice maker was, when called to front desk was told that we had to go to gas station to purchase ice and bring back. Called and asked for extra towels since having 4 people in room and only recieved 1 set.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Pool and beach were great; however the actual hotel was very run down.
Here are some highlights of our trip:
- Hotel gave another party keys to our room 2 hours after we checked in. They entered our room while I was in the shower and my kids were watching TV ~ SAFETY CONCERN!
- AIR didn't work in most rooms!!! Maintenance was called 3 different times to fix in my room, but one night the entire tower was with no air!
- Maintenance had to be called to fix a large fan above dryer which sounded like a jet taking off.
- Shower head fell off 3 times and sink worked only 75% of the time.
- No DVD player and FALSE ADVERTISEMENT with no whirlpool tub, private dining or leather furniture which was all in my room description.. After we complained they did change their website.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellydomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The carpet was unreasonably stained. We booked for five guest and towels were left for four. When I requested more I was told to launder the ones I had. It was not made clear
to guest where to dispose of the trash, so it was not uncommon to see it in the hallways.

The indoor pools had too much chlorine and so little ventalation the fumes burned my eyes. The ones outdoors were always overcrowded.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is such a wonderful place to stay. There are activities for the kids, pools (one with a slide), and a lazy river. It is steps from the beach and also Ocean Walk Village. We had a one bedroom oceanfront room which was great. It also has a kitchen with everything we could need for our stay. The room was clean and bright. This is our favorite place to stay when in Daytona Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmarshall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I was afraid to stay here after I made my reservations because I read the reviews, but after we arrived I was pleased. The room was clean and functional. Not the nicest place I have ever stayed but worked well with the kids. I had to call twice for towels and 2 days for toilet paper, even after sending someone from our room to front desk to get some-they wouldn't give it to them there. It is a nice place to stay if you take care of yourself. The staff was friendly with the exception of front desk, especially the security. Our bathroom door would lock us out alot and the dryer is very noisy, but the room worked for us. The pool was enjoyable, but yes you do have to go early to get chairs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhub7080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#23 of 74 in Daytona Beach
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: £116 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham
Wyndham Ocean Walk Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing