We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inadequate room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Shells Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Shells Beach Club
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hersonissos, Greece
1 review
“inadequate room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I absolutely LOVE the fourth floor suites. This particular trip we took a room on the second floor; it was awful. You would almost not know the rooms on the fourth floor and second floor were in the same building. The suites of course are like mini apartments, have new furniture, and have a modern decor. The second floor rooms are small, the ceiling had water damage, there is a loud dehumidifier, no table to sit at and eat ( there is a built in "desk" but nothing a couple can comfortably sit at and eat), and if you want to sit your bed is also your chair, couch, etc.

I asked about the size of the room and was told that the 3rd and 4th floors offer larger rooms than the 1st and second. The size was not the issue for me though, the quality of the room was. If all you plan to do is sleep and run, the room was fine, but if you want to be comfortable for more than one night stay on the 3rd or 4th floor; you simply cannot believe the difference.

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floor rooms are the only ones worth staying in. Service is great ! The staff is truly fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justmy0pini0n19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of your guest room. The 1st and 2cnd floor rooms are outfitted as efficiencies with kitchenettes and a small breakfast bar and seating. The quality of the rooms, bedding, furnishings, etc is on par with all other units at the resort, just seems like you would have preferred one of our larger condo-style units. Hope to see you again and that you have a happier stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    78
    20
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
75
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We vacation here every July for past 4 yrs. staff here is amazing rooms are always clean well maintained. Value is priceless we stay ground level pool ocean front which is perfect. I love being able to walk out of my room right there is pool then right off pool deck walk off onto ocean! Doesn't get much better than that.. That's why we keep coming back! Thank u SeaShells beach club!! Lautenschlager family keep up fabulous work u do! See u again in July for that matter every yr in July

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamieronniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We planned our vacation with a very large group including elderly and small babies. I called with many concerns prior to make certain the grounds would accommodate my elderly in-laws. Everyone was incredibly helpful, every time I called. A week prior to arrival, we were notified that there was to be maintenance in the building, and they had to move us from one of the 2 BR condos we had currently booked. They were incredibly kind, and in fact gave us an additional room to accommodate all of our family. Everything we needed was tended to in an incredibly timely manner, the rooms were immaculate, and the staff was amazing... even the maintenance crew. Even walking by they would take time to say hey, and ask how our day was going. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling the area. Cant wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I really liked the room and space that we stayed in. It faced the ocean and was wonderful. We had room 303 and 403. Nice size rooms. We had plenty of room for the whole family. We had 10 people between two rooms and still had room to move around. We didn't feel cramped like in a hotel room. We will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice, clean, friendly, and hospitable place. We had a big group (16) on a large family vacation. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to all of our various needs. We liked the homey atmosphere and would return here in a minute. If youre looking for a big resort experience, this isnt it, but we liked it better for that fact. We will be back and recommend it to all of our friends looking to go to Daytona.

Room Tip: Higher floor 1 Br condo with kitchen is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were in room 303 for a week and really enjoyed it. The 1-bedroom w/ King Size bed, nice bathroom, complete kitchen and living room w/ two flat screen TV's were more than we could ask for. The staff was exceptional all week continually going out of their way to make everyone happy. We personally did not have any problems but the few we heard about were fixed quickly. It is an older facility but well taken care of and the location is great as far enough away from the Boardwalk to escape the noise but close enough to walk too.

The beach is easily accessible right off the pool and watching the sun come up from the room was worth every penny spent all week.

My parents are going back for 3 weeks in January and we are already planning another family trip there next July.

Thanks again to the staff as you all were exceptional.

Room Tip: We did have to stay in an economy room the last night as we extended so be aware those rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We really appreciate that you recognized the efforts of our staff towards ensuring a great vacation experience for you and your family. We look forward to hosting your parents in January and to seeing you again next July. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

This place is average. The reviews we read prior seemed very good & we got a great rate from an outside co. but the only reason we booked was b-c of the recent upgrades. We had unit 405, the honeymoon suite. We saw ants right from our arrival, but they got worse over the week stay we have been here. We have dealt with it for fear they may come up & try to spray chemicals, etc. I had them crawling on me while trying to eat my dinner. Overall, it has been a descent place with everything we needed, right on beach & descent pool. It is a clean place, but I don't like ants crawling on me when I pay for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoofiesRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the ant problem. We appreciate youf comments about the cleanliness of the resort. We wish we would have had the opportunity to address the ant situation while you were there. Hope you'll give us another opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#75 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Shells Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells Beach Club

Property: Sea Shells Beach Club
Address: 1014 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Shells Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy resort located on the World's Most Famous Beach. All units equipped with either kitchenette or full kitchen. Relax in our heated pool, while watching the waves crash on the shore. Take a stroll up the beach and visit the Boardwalk and Oceanwalk shops. Great location located where all the action is, but not in all the crowds. Our staff is waiting to help make this a great vacation for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Shells Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Beach Club Hotel Daytona Beach
Sea Shells Beach Hotel
Sea Shells Beach Club Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing