We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Chicago Steakhouse - CLOSED

Great Chicago Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Went there about a week ago with my wife. Complimentary valet parking. Nice steak house atmosphere with live piano music.
Great steaks. My wife had the 11 ounce filet and I had the 30 ounce porterhouse, (ate the strip steak portion the next day - dog got the bone). Steaks were done as ordered. Came with a medium sized baked potato and peas. Asked for and received mushrooms added to the steak. Choice of a couple of different salads. My wife had heart of palm and I had house salad with the house balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Had escargot appetizer. All of the above very good. Only two desserts offered and so we each had one, a tart and chocolate mousse. They were fine. Wine was very reasonably priced, limited selection. We had a bottle of Cabernet which was fine. Finished with good coffee. Service was good and reasonably attentive. Bread was OK, not exceptional.
Foil wrapped butter, not appropriate for this type restaurant and I mentioned this to the waitress. This is my only complaint and, if I were them, I would upgrade the bread to something a little more special.
Total, including tax and 22% tip = $195. No real complaint as far as price for quality received.
We will definitely go back. My wife wants to try the grouper.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montradwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Excellent atmosphere, superior food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went for my birthday and was delighted. Lobster bisque was fabulous, and grilled grouper was thick, flaky and exceptional. Finished with a melt in your mouth chocolate mousse. My partner had the roasted duck and found it to be crispy and very flavorful. Our dining companions had the porterhouse steak and it was cooked to perfection. Wait staff was very attentive and wine selection ample.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Long wait, poor food selection, great steak, great music”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

See above. Waiter was awful, food was served after one hour, had to ask for bread, water, salad was never served. The dressing for the small potato was very late in it's serving. Just a terrible experience. When things go poorly, the servers must tell and explain when and why. We are a forgiving people. Very poor after the time between opening and my visit. The kinks should have been gone.
I would not expect to return because it appears to be large risk and there are reliable restaurants with proven records that fit this level of dining.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LONG Evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Last Saturday we dined with another couple at the Great Chicago Steak House. We were right on time for our 6:30 reservation. Our friends had arrived before us and were seated at the bar where they were enjoying a Bloody Mary and a recommended red wine. They had paid the bartender for their beverages.

We were seated at a table at 6:30 and proceeded to visit with our friends. After 45 minutes we managed to get the attention of our water, Tony, so that we could also order drinks. When they arrived we asked for bread. After asking a second time the bread arrived--at 7:30. The foil wrapped pats of butter delivered with the bread were very cold and not spreadable.

Tony then took our orders--two for deboned duck and two for steaks. One of our group also ordered a salad. We finished the first basket of four pieces of very nice warm bread and flagged someone down to bring us a second basket. When he brought the second basket he had to be asked to remove the empty one. It should also be noted that the table was set with inverted wine glasses and we had to ask to have them removed.

At 8:00 THREE of our entrees arrived--one duck and both steaks. (The salad never did arrive.) About 10 minutes later the second duck entrée arrived. The steaks were OUTSTANDING but the duck entrees were very poor. They were served in casseroles in some sort of broth and were not boneless.
The only sides on the menu were basked potato and peas. The potatoes were rather small. Our waiter had told us that the accompaniments for the potatoes would be brought to the table. They did not arrive and we had to request them. Butter was not among the items offered. The frozen peas seemed to be straight out of the box. Better and more varied sides would have been appreciated.

As noted above, the steaks were excellent. In addition the décor was attractive (although the Christmas tree was still up on January 18th and the doors of the rest rooms near the entrance were open and the interiors were exposed.)
The most outstanding part of the dinner was the WONDERFUL piano player/singer.

Now is was time for the checks. Although our friends had told the waiter that they had paid for their drinks at the bar, their drink charge appeared on their bill and they had to ask to have it removed.
You may notice that there is no mention of coffee or dessert. They is because none were offered by our waiter. When we asked, he told us that they had run out of desserts. He also gave us a long story about how there were many more walk-ins than they had prepped for and that was why everything was so slow.
We left at 9:00.

Will we go back? Because of the excellent steaks and the wonderful piano player we decided that we would return in six months IF the restaurant is still there. We're guessing that unless there is a major improvement in the management there is no way that the Great Chicago Steak House will succeed.

An additional note: Our friends reported that after we drove off and they were waiting for their car as waitresses came running out and asked if they had paid their bill. Someone had left without paying. Fortunately our friends had their receipt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla3357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small Menu-Ex Elks Lodge-Undercooked Steak-Not going back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Double date party of four went out Sat night at 730pm. This place used to be the Elks lodge but the owner did a nice job of remodeling. I was a little surprised that all the X-Mas stuff including a dying tree in the entrance was still up. We were also the youngest couple in the place by about 30 years. There was a piano player jamming out inside and that was a nice touch.
The servers were older and very professional. Bartender was nice but their Beer selection is lacking. The menu was extremely small which is fine since we were all there to order steak. Unfortunately, the server told us they were out of a few items already (It was 745pm on a Sat Night). No go on the crab bisque and 11oz Fillet, all the early birds must have consumed those already.
I ordered the bone in 20oz NY Strip which only comes with a baked potato and peas(no other choices sorry).
I asked for med-rare as did my entire party for their steaks and all of the steaks that came out were very rare. If this is a steak place, the chef should know how to cook a steak right? Steak tasted nice but this place has some work ahead to improve. It's nice to see a higher end establishment in Daytona to compete with Hyde Park but step it up! We all decided that we will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smitty1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Chicago Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing