We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums
Ranked #68 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

The rooms are small, even the PHs, But we were there for the beach, so it was suitable. Housekeeping is terrible though! they made the bed the first day only! None after that - maybe cause I made it myself the second day, the rest of the week they didnt touch it even when I left it unmade! No change of sheets only towels (which I had to ask for) and garbage removal. Even with this though, We would definitely stay again - the rates are good, the rooms are standard but right on the ocean beautiful pools (2) My biggest concern is always whether I feel safe in a hotel and I did here, so definitely will rebook - preferably not during a busy event month. I go to the beach for rest and relaxation and there were SO MANY kids this time of year. but definitely it was a great place to stay (no restaurants close - I dont know where that person said across the street!) you have to drive.

  • Liked — ocean front
  • Disliked — cleaning staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbiefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    6
    4
    18
See reviews for
25
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

spent the long weekend at the sea dip
Our room was newly remodeled and pleasant... some rooms are old with dirty carpet so make sure you ask for one with tile!
out door pool was just re-opened after remodeling and the location is very good , right on the beach 2 miles south of boardwalk.
good value for the price

  • Liked — the beach and location
  • Disliked — if i had the money i would stay at 5 star hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tcatflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2008

good hotel for price and it is clean. we stay there 2 times a year.
reasturant across the street.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — noisy refrigerator
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingbuddy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

We LOVED the Dip! We stayed 3 days and it was wonderful! We originally had the ultra deluxe suite but found it wasnt what we wanted (ie: no real good sea view) and switched rooms on the second night without any hassle to a balcony suite with a sea view. AWESOME! Everything is well lit, and yes, it is away from the hub-bub so there was no issue with party people, etc. There is an fenced outdoor pool with a shallow kiddie pool and fresh water outdoor shower on the deck plus an indoor pool with beautiful sea creature murals as well. I did not see any bugs at all as noted by other people who have commented. Both our suites were immaculate, including the beds (which appeared almost new). We found leaving the balcony doors open to the ocean beeze left our suite drenched in condensation where ever there was hard surfaces including the floor tiles in the kitchenette area (be careful!) . The airconditioning functionned extremely well when we needed it and the balcony had 2 chairs plus a tiny table for cups. The beach is accessable via locked gate which is opened by your room key only; as was the pool enclosure. Bonus: the beach gate has a tiny light by the locks for people who frequent the beach by night. FYI: elevators are extremely slow in the southside building. Beach ramp access to drive on the beach was less than 1/4 mile away and there were restaurants within walking distance. If you can handle a slightly shabby decor, try Sherry's restaurant for the all you can eat breakfast buffet across the street and about 1 block south. Alternately, go about 2 miles north to the main shops area in Daytona and look for the MAI TAI lounge/bar in the movie theatres complex building. The entire place is on the second floor and open to the ocean breezes as well as the beach Band Shell. (there were no performances when we were there) Also Bubba Gump's and Quizno's and Johnny Rocket's diner in the same complex.
Be sure to note the dates of the October annual motorcycle rally, Biketoberfest. Rooms are likely to be snapped up quick during this week. (we missed it by 2 weeks)

We loved the Dip and would choose it again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

June 26-28, 2007 --
I give our stay a 3 -or- 4. After reading some of these postings, I will have to say our visit was just fine. For starters- Just because the sign says "resort" don't roll in thinking that you're going to be staying at the Taj-Mahaul! The Sea Dip is a bit run down (afterall its been through a massive hurricane and lived to tell about it...) but from everything we saw during our 3 day stay there, it was just what we wanted. The location was about a mile and a half south of the Main St. Pier (you can see it in the distance) on A1A, so if you are traveling with children you are away from the more "party" crowd- especially at night. The people and staff were really friendly and made us feel welcomed! Of course the first place the kids wanted to look at was the pool and the beach.... both impressively clean! We were there during the middle of the last week of June 2007 and our kids had the pool pretty much all to themselves. There was no one there doing activities with the kids ...like some of the other resorts do... but that was fine with us! Very nice well kept poolside area and chairs. Access to the pool from our room was approximately 50ft. and about a 100ft. from the entrance steps to the beach. Both the pool and the beach gates are key-entries. There is a water hose when you come back up from the beach where you can stop and spray the sand off. There is also a very nice, clean outdoor grilling area with 4 large charcoal grills right next to the pool. You might want to line the grill surface with heavy tinfoil, but otherwise they were very clean. The parking area is well lit at night.

The fact that we were trying to get the most bang for our buck brought us to The Seadip and we got what we wanted. It's a quiet place with older couples or families who stay there for long periods of time. Other rooms that are privately owned and aren't being used are leased out to vacationers like us. We were out and about most of the time so we really didn't need to sink alot of money into a place to snack, sleep, and bathe. For the money you couldn't beat the value. The room was clean and neat in appearance. It looked like it had been recently remodeled. There was only a stand up shower in our room, but being that close to the beach that was fine... its better for getting the sand washed out of hair and clothes. The beds could use new mattresses, but otherwise I don't think anyone had any trouble sleeping! There were no bugs in our room other than some very small ants (very few!). Being right next to the beach there's really not much you can do about a thing like that. If that sort of thing bothers you, stop and buy a room fogger and set it off before you unload your things in your room. Since I had been to the beach several times before, I knew to bring air tight ziplock bags to keep foods in. I fixed a huge breakfast two of the days we stayed there. The appliances were old but worked just fine. The kitchenette was adequate and had everything we needed to get through our visit. Parking is excellent and easy to get into and out of from the street.

If you are planning to stay here and use the kitchen for cooking, etc... you might want to throw in some heavy tinfoil, large and small good ziplock bags for storage, and don't forget to stop at the grocery! There's a huge Publix grocery store north and south of the Seadip. It really does save money if you're not always eating "out".

A few things to mention: The Ponce Inlet Lighthouse. If you have never seen a lighthouse in person before... it is humbling. Do a search on this lighthouse for more information and exact directions. Its about 10-15 minutes from the Seadip and worth taking the time to go see it! You will pass the entrance/parking lot for the "Sunglow Pier" which has a full service resturant called "Crabby Joe's"...great food, great prices, casual attire, and a very unique dining experience! The Main St. Pier is north from the Sea Dip about a mile and a half. It's definately a must see! If you have never ran the coastline up A1A toward St. Augustine, its worth the trip! Beautiful!! St. Augustine is awesome!!

Susan
Kentucky

  • Liked — The location and the kitchenette in the room.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank table4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2006

We love the Sea Dip. My family and I have stayed there several times and will go back again and again.

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds and plenty of towels
  • Disliked — Pool was not open for 3 days due to pump repairs.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lovin'daytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2006

June,3 2006
Well where do I begin?
The rooms were outdated and moldy yes, I said moldy, with bugs stuck to the walls gnats to be exact.
They made an effort to make it right but it went from abd to worse when, returning from being gone all day we came back to find roaches in our room.
When I tried to contact someone in charge the president lied and said she wasn't in charge but ultimatly made the final decision to give us our money back for the 4 days we refused to stay, were she not the one in charge how was that authorized?
When we returned the next day to try and get our money back for the previous night (since we left at 11pm) the presidents husband began yelling at me in the lobby of the hotel in front of my 8 yr old daughter, he also was not in charge but had no problem waling behind the desk and into the office.
We left that night and never looked back my review is that this place needs some serious help with the exception of the front desk clerks Shay and Estelle other than that I would never saty here and I would tell that to anyone.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#73 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#49 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#13 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Jewels Club
Ocean Jewels Club
#10 of 21 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Beach Resort
Harbour Beach Resort
#53 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boardwalk Inn and Suites
Boardwalk Inn and Suites
#51 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums

Property: Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums
Address: 1233 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4801
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dip Beach Resort and Condominiums 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Sea Dip Beach Resort And Condominiums Hotel Daytona Beach
Sea Dip Beach Daytona
Sea Dip Beach Resort And Condominiums Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing